We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hi all,
Rixos Libertas is a great big hotel with interesting architecture and some good views to sea and rocks.
-The rooms are interesting and clean. No bathroom doors! Thats new, rights? But toilets have doors, so it was OK.
-80% of the rooms have a sea view, witch is great.
-The breakfast was more than excelent.
-Very good atmosphere at hotel (I was there during Christmas season)
- Air conditioner was working.
- Wi fi ONLY on reception floor. BUT there is a CABLE internet in every room.
- The hotel is about 20mins away from the old city, which is a bit poor, because public transport in Dubrovnik was unreliable (no signs on bus stops, no information at all). 20 min walk to the old city can be a bad experience no matter summer or winter.
-Inside pool and spa is good.
- NEVER stay on New Years Eve in this hotel. NEVER! Very poor food and show. Yes, breakfast is fantastic,but for some reason, Gala Dinner in New Years Eve is terrible (and expensive). The show on the old city streets is very good (but away from the hotel).
- The service was Ok, but if you pay for this kind of hotels, you have to get much more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radostin_Sofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.First I want to thank you for the positive comments about the cleanliness of our hotel, breakfast and atmosphere.
Also, we are sorry that we didn't complete a positive experience at Gala Dinner in New Years Eve in line with your expectations. We've forwarded your comments and a new plan for a next New Years Eve dinner is in the process.
We hope that You will come back again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here November 18, 2012, eleven nights. Did not go for weather, beaches or the sun. I am familiar with Dubrovnik, and worked in toursim when hotel was new (built in 1970). Rixos did some good touches, but structure, architecture and design cannot be changed. Five-star rating is not justified; this, not because the staff is not" smiling enough". Croatians, by nature, are not phony; I say this highly in their favour. They run the hotel with efficiency and care.

The views, which most of the descriptions describe as great. are just a view of the sea. Other hotels in Dubrovnik and Babin Kuk will make you fall in love with the Adriatic forever.

The problem of Libertas is in noise and sound of your neighbors. Rooms.average size, nicely appointed, true, are subject to noises of guests (mostly insesitive to others) comming and going in the middle of the night, conversations on the balconies, TV's in the next rooms, slamming the doors, and walking over you in rooms above you.

Thus: rates are reasonable, food is OK, service, in most cases, satisfacory, the view and the sounds of the sea are soothing, BUT, if you are a light sleeper (and earplugs do not help), this is not a place for you. In high season, much less so. Sound-proofing is non existent. This is a steal and concrete building and everybody-else's nights are also your nights.

Room Tip: top floor; otherwise location is not a significant factor here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SedonaRafko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing with us your thoughts about hotel Libertas Rixos Dubrovnik.
Also, we want to inform You that we do have rooms that are a bit distant. You just need to request a quite room. We sincerely hope that we would have an opportunity to welcome you back to hotel Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik in the nearest future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel's biggest asset must be the views. Right from the moment when you walk in to reception you have a view of the deep blue sea through the far windows. I think almost all rooms have a direct view of the sea and I must say the view from our room with the balcony lined with flowers made it a pleasure to wake up and take in the scenery.

The hotel room was plenty large enough with a large glass-walled bathroom (presumably to enjoy the view from the bath/shower). The room was clean but a little bare and the decor was becoming a tad shabby, though nothing worth taking a photo of to post on here; just a few scuffs on the walls / small stains on the sofa cushion etc. The TV was an LCD affair but it was small and there wasn't anything worth watching in English on it, but then the weather was so perfect we never had the opportunity to wish there was anything to watch. The room was always well cleaned when we returned.

The gym is fantastic and I think all but the hardiest fanatics can have a very good workout there. There are multiple swimming options too including a large outdoor pool and then steps down to the sea. There's no beach though, just some rocks. There are plenty of sun loungers but it does become busy. There are staff on roller skates to bring drinks which is a nice touch.

Free wi-fi was only in public areas when I stayed. There also aren't quite enough lifts. Because the hotel is built into the cliffside, you need a lift for getting up to breakfast or down to the pool and you can have a bit of a wait. Still it's a holiday so there's no rush and on our level there were seats outside the lifts to relax in.

One major drawback is that guests are apparently forbidden to bring water in and bottled water is not provided free of charge in rooms. I went to a little shop nearby to buy some water since it was easily 30 degrees in June, and was stopped rather abruptly by a staff member in reception from bringing it into the hotel on "health grounds". Quite ridiculous when other hotels provide water and the fact I was stopped with sealed branded water which I cannot see presents a health hazard.

Breakfast is plentiful but the quality merely average. The buffet dinner is similar. Lots of mosquitos rather distracted us by the pool restaurant at dinner though the food there was actually very good.

It looks quite close on the map but the hotel is a good 15/20 minute walk out of the old town and it's uphill on the way back! After a day walking around the small streets of the walled town I think I might have preferred to stay a little nearer to the restaurants etc.

Overall the hotel is good value with some plus points (eg, the views, gym) and some drawbacks (distance from town, lack of drinking water...). I don't regret staying there by any means, would recommend it to a friend with the aforementioned provisos, but I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wannabejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.
We have a policy of non bringig Your own food and beverage into hotel. At the main entrance there is a sign. We apologize for any inconveniences.
We hope that You will come back again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Rixos is a good place to stay during any visit to Dubrovnik. The rooms are big and clean. Very good bathroom. Not so close of old town, it is a 20 minute walk into it, with small hill in the way. Average breakfast.

For some reason, when I stayed there, the air conditioning was not working, and the roons was hot (25-27 .C).

Wifi works only in reception, but they offer cables in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your review. Your feedback is very important to us. We changed the A/C system so those things will not happen again.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Dubrovnik in the near future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights which was plenty to see Dubrovnik town. It's a good 20 minute walk to the old town, but easily the best hotel within proximity. It's a massive hotel and pretty much 5 star all the way, but we got a good deal so took advantage of 5star treatment without the price tag! Breakfast was the best we've had in Croatia. Rooms very clean and serviced well. Because it was mid season we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves which was great however quite lifeless and lacking much atmosphere. Gym and wellness centre was welcome relief from weeks of travelling.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sideprojectwines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for writing such a wonderful comment about your experience with us. We most gladly will like to welcome you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We loved every minute in Dubrovnik and will stay again in Rixos definately. View was magnificent, breakfast was huge and delicious and we had very good service in all matters. Poolbars were not open but the poolarea and spa were really relaxing, we enjoyed all the different pools, saunas, massage and relaxing room. I left my heart in Beautiful Dubrovnik, must go back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Pirjo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind words in your review. We are happy to learn that we were able to make your stay memorable. We are looking forward to welcome you back. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was terrible experience for me. I was traveling for business in Dubrovnik. Any time I spoke serbian I needed to wait to long to have any support and waiters was unpolite with me. So service of this hotel I could rate like unprofesional and mizerable for hotel fee charged for their services. Cleaness was fine, apart with very poor bathroom toileteries which are really cheap and awful. Location is nice and view from rooms are really wonderful and that only good thing about this hotel. Spa aria smell of sewage, specially steam bath and sauna, so it was useless. Staff of spa aria was unprofesional as well. Buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner was fine with nice choice of food... so, I could not recomend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MajaPetr0vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ena Z, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Hotel Libertas, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank You for Your comment.
We apologize for any inconvenience. We will take the information you provided us with to train our staff so this doesn't happen again. We are hoping that You will give us another chance in future and choose our hotel again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,108 reviews
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,005 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $71 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing