We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By Chance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rixos Hotel Libertas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“By Chance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had a villa in the village of Tresteno but felt too remote so, after three days there we decided to spend the rest of our hoilday in a hotel. Found this one 5 minutes from the old city walls. It was fab. Lovely room with private balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Staff were lovely. Plenty of loungers with bar service. Food good and perfectly placed to jump in a taxi and visit the Old City. Restaurants there were a wee bit expensive but then, we did go to the best two just outside the walls. Dubrovnik is amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violet100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    551
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
270
910
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taplow
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Rixos is a modern hotel in walking distance to the old town, rooms were a good size but we thought ours had a weird layout, bed in the middle with a settee overlooking a window with a view of the car park, drinks were very expensive, buffet breakfast was excellent and the staff were very helpful, my criticism would be that the hotel is advertised as 'beachfront' but there are only steps directly down to the sea, no beach. Overall we thought it was a good hotel but a bit pricey for food and drinks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersTaplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Not the plushest 5 star hotel I have stopped in but it is a busy seaside hotel rather than a city center hotel. However the facilities (sports and spa) are excellent, as is the choice of food for breakfast.
By booking early ( 10 months before ) we were able to get a good deal (Bed and breakfast plus sea view rooms) via Octopus
The rooms were clean but getting ready for revamp the bathrooms however were spotless..
The Staff are courteous and polite especially the breakfsat chefs who make excellent omlettes.
The hotel is on the sea in a rocky bay with steps down to the sea and is about 15 minutes walk from the old town
There was a heatwave when we visited, making walking around uncomfortable, fotrtunately we found an excellent restaurant/bar 2 minutes walk away which was ideal as the bar prices in the Rixos were biblically prohibitive

Room Tip: Book early with Octopus travel and get good discount and a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barnsley50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula mt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Very modern rooms .... all have fabulous views ... great spa facility with all manner of treatments available ... indoor and outdoor pools ... seaside food and beverage ...private balconies ....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonjohnMissoulaMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have just returned from our trip to Dubrovnik (09 september 2011) and we loved the experience. Concerning the hotel first of all I must say that I left thinking this is not a five star hotel. I was a bit disapointed seeing the cheap details and the design. Alltogether this was a nice experience and we have nothing but good memories.
Pro:
- good location 20 minutes walk or take the bus near the hotel (20 kuna) or take the car and park at the city wals (10 kuna/hour)
- has it's own beach but not on sand or peables
- very helpful staff
- 5 star food lots to choose from and very good
- wonderful view of the Adriatic from the room
Cons
- only real thing to complain about were the large group of local children making a lot of noise, bathing in the pool and splashing everyone; the staff didn't do anything about this problem although it was bothering everyone
- the bathroom is made with glass windows and you can see everything that is hapening inside; this is not really a con it depinds if you have a problem with that; for us it was an interesting design ideea but we would like to stick with dors and thick wals
The conclusion is that if we come back we will take this hotel into consideration but also search for others

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1DIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

That was my third visit to Dubrovnik, such a lovely town and surroundings, Croatia is one of my favorite holiday destination.

This was my second time at Rixos Hotel and both i had great time and i was happy with my choice, especially this time! My first visit was a bit off season and constant rain ruined my holiday, therefore not much to say about first stay.

This time me and my wife had only 3 nights, luckily Dubrovnik welcomed us with bright sunshine and marvelous weather, which was couple of weeks ago.

What makes RIXOS Hotel is a great choice? Hotel means room, where actually you stay and Rixos has great rooms, nice view, flowers in balcony, refreshing bright room even the bathroom thanks to glass separator, rooms are clean and housekeepers are nice. Room has good storage area (we stayed in a regular room) with a safety box, clean and comfortable bed and good quality of bits and pieces... Nice and very Refreshing Room.

If the Food is second most important!? It was really one of my best breakfast i've ever had in a five star, extraordinary variety of pastries, bread, meat products, fruits and everything, start a day with great view from restaurant with good food in front of you is priceless.

We had dinners out but i know hotel had a great a la carte restaurant with international cuisine.

Dubrovnik doesn't have many great sandy beaches, same for Rixos Hotel but they have a nice sea front, no need to mention the water, refreshing Adriatic sea is in front of you while you are sun bathing in a well shaded, wide pool area. Easy and quick lunch opportunity by the pool area if you are in the premises during the day.

Transportation to the Town Centre is easy, quick access by taxi cab in 5 minutes, around 50Kuna, coming back from the Town is bit more because of a one way street. Great location, not right in the town but only five minutes drive or 15min. walking distance.

I am sure some people might get interested, Rixos has the only Casino in Dubrovnik area, there is a decent casino downstairs with live games.

Overall Rixos is NOT a classic boring 5 star hotel, it's fresh, bright, young at heart feeling kind of 5 star hotel with great service, it is definitely NOT expensive, great value for the money, friendly and helpful Staff. Well managed Spa and a Casino definitely make a difference. Not much needed but i had to leave hotel to buy some creams and needs, strangely there isn't a drug store in premises! That's probably the only problem with the hotel.

Rixos Hotel is a cool and fresh place to stay and enjoy Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muratipek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

-The location was good. The view from the hotel was fantastic.
-The staff at the hotel were nice and very friendly.
-Our room was very clean and large enough. It was also well furnished.
-The breakfast was excellent.

We want to go there again and stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yaprakipek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#14 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing