We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as we had hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not as good as we had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

We booked this hotel following previous good reviews on TA but unfortunately there were a few issues which meant we would not recommend this hotel. Now the location (being a 15 minute walk to the old city) on the beautiful coastline was fabulous and the staff were generally very pleasant and attentive. Unfortunately when we were first shown to our "superior" room it was okay, not particularly spacious, the decor was a bit bland and in need of a lick of paint. We actually ended up being moved to a spa suite as a marble tile by the side of the bath was loose and frankly dangerous and it couldn't be sorted whilst we were still there. The spa suite we were moved to was huge but the drain smell which the hotel management said had supposedly been sorted certainly had not when we were there (June 2011). This smell was also present in some of the corridors of the hotel and was very unpleasant. Guest services informed us that management was currently having a meeting regarding this problem. We had to ask for disinfectant to be put down our shower drain a number of times. The hotel then called us the next morning wanting to move us AGAIN to another room but after some protests (and as we had unpacked everything again) we stayed where we were. The hotel was far from full and so they didn't need our room. We also had issues with our bath - on two evenings we tried to turn the hot tap on and nothing happened. Also the jaccuzi bubbles in the spa bath had a mind of their own and on a couple of occasions - once we had managed to turn them off - started again about 15 mins after they had been switched off which was a bit spooky! The safe in the room also needed looking at before we were able to use it. The curtains were a nightmare to try and open as they were on a cheap rail with joins in it which prevented the curtains running well. The outside pool was nice and large but the piped music was really unnecessary, too loud and one minute was playing classical then rock! We didn't understand why the female bar staff outside were on roller skates either - it was just odd and noisy on the decking. Not suitable for a "5 star" hotel at all. All in all - if you haven't booked yet - choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    555
    230
    61
    24
See reviews for
276
915
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik is on an excellent position in one of the most beautiful towns on the Mediterranean, but it is not run the way it deserves. It is far from luxurios and does not deserve even a half of the stars attached to its name, not even for the building, let alone for the service. I wish somebody had warned us about this before we felt ripped off.

The housekeeping does not clean the rooms properly, the buffet dinner food presentation is terrible, some of the waiters are rude, the pool is shared with several dozens of domestic people and children who scream the whole day, there are not have enough sunshades on the pool deck or on any of the terraces, the housekeeping or minibar employees left our room door wide open.

Not many of the employess truly cares about the guests.

What we experienced is far from what we expected and is not worth the prices they are charging.

Rather choose some other hotel in Dubrovnik.

Emina

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveler36462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have just returned from a week at Rixos Libertas & having read mixed reviews wanted to say how lovely I thought it was.
All the staff, without exception, were very friendly & couldn't do enough to help. Smooth checking in process with plenty of staff on. Our room on the 6th floor was luxurious & calm done out in creams & whites. Flat screen TV with music channels & world news. there were other channels but I didn't have the Tv on a lot to pay attention to what they were.
Plenty of toiletries provided along with dressing gowns & slippers. Enormous balcony with 2 full sizes sun loungers provided to enjoy a beautiful view. Rows of flowers on each floor made the balcony very pretty.
We had a minor issue with the shower but someone was there to fix it within minutes.
Foodwise we only stayed B & B, the breakfast was plentiful, many different types of fruit, cereals, cheeses, cold meats,breads, juices & also an egg .sausage station. We did not want to do all inclusive as prefer to get out & about exploring but spoke to several people who were AI and they couldn't fault any of it. AI would probably help due to the price of drinks....approx £15 for 1 glass of wine & I beer!!!
We brought bottles of water in as did see signs warning no food/drink to be taken in but as they were openly on sight in our room we did not receive any hassle.
Pool area lovely, plenty of beds and none of that hideous getting up at 6am to bag a bed nonsense went on! To get a bed under an umbrella 9am-10am is fine. There are steps down into the sea which were fine for us but would prove a problem for anyone not in the best physical health.
Location was great, 10-15 mins into the Old City with lovely views along the way, the hotel did do a shuttle service and always taxis about, we didnt use these but a taxi cost approx £6 into town.
There were nice touches like cold facecloths upon returning to the hotel available by front door & a book library.
I would really recommend this hotel & wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Just returned from a week at this hotel. The previous reviews have covered most of our thoughts. We felt there was a lack of information about hotel facilities, nothing in our room to tell us about the pool, towels, bar opening times etc and as i lost the Thompson info it would have been nice to have something in the room, we quickly read the Thomson folder in reception. The decor in our room was "tired" the net curtains dirty, the carpet too , and a bath mat we got was badly stained, also bare electrical wires on the balcony. Open plan bathroom not really to my taste-I like my privacy. View from the balcony was stunning, a couple of chairs would have been great though. As B&B we felt the food was good, we had one meal in the poolside area, and felt the staff were not helpful. As we were out and about most days we only used the pool once and thought we had to pay for loungers and towels according to a sign as you enter the area! All in all we had a good holiday but this is definitely not 5*.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Doraexplorer5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Have just returned home from a 2 weeks holiday at the Rixos Hotel, it was given a 5 star rating in Thomson brochure, well I don't think anybody from Thomson have been out to this hotel, as it was definately not a 5* it is more likely a 3*, when you first enter the hotel the entrance is quite impressive our room was big and spacious, and the bathroom was great, but there was no drawers to keep your clothes in, and the tinyminute wardrobe, hence we had to keep our clothes in suitcase the whole 2 weeks, and BEWARE unless you pay for a sea view with balcony there are no other rooms with balconies only the french style one, the whole 2 weeks the steam room in the spa was broken, the indoor pool was closed for 5 days leaving it with the outdoor, where they got 3 pools from i don't know, they say beach in brochure, NO beach just a decking area, and ladders/steps to go down to the rocks to swim off, and beware the local children have FREE access to the decking area as it is built on local land, at one point we were all sun bathing and 31 school children turned up screaming, shouting and causing a lot of distress to us all! The security guards could do nothing, the food though was alright I could go on and write another page but I'll leave you to decide whether you want to pay 5* prices for a 3* hotel! I am now taking this up with Thomson!!!!

Room Tip: Sea view ( you get a balcony!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alanbayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

Hi Travelers
We've just returned from the Dubrovnik Rixos Libertas Hotel we traveled with Thomsons on a seamless package from start to finish. Our first impresion was wow then after a frendly checkin then the room was an other wow The glass walls on the bathroom was a novilty and gave us a good laugh. Then as we had a sea view we drew back the certains and we had a big wow the view was second to none.
As we were All Inclusive package we were impressed with the lunch,wine and beer. The hotel has not grasped the all inclusive concept as it has a list of drinks you can pick from, meals are at a set time and snacks are served in the lobby bar at 16:00 for an hour .
Drinks are served in the Lobby bar which has a fantastic terrace and the decking area by the pool but in the evening drinks are only served in the lobby bar as the pool bar turns into a fish resturant which you get 20% off, but if you have snacks by the pool through out the day you have to pay for them but if you eat breakfast and lunch there's no need for snacks by the pool.
The food is a buffet service with a Medeteranian theme with anti pesto bar cold cuts home made breads and four choices of hot dishes and to be fair the hot dishes could have been better. but saying that I enjoyed my meals. The sweet bar had a full range of cold sweets and fruit.
I'm not a beech person which was good as there are no beeches as we know them, there gaps in the rocks which you can swim from.
The staff were friendly and helpfull and seemed on the ball as one would put it.
To sum it all up it's a great hotel five stars I would say would be pushing it a bit but it's twenty minutes walk to the Old Town is a bonus and nothing is to much for the staff on a personal level some one in reception noticed it was my birthday on our stay and delivered a Birthday cake and Card nice touch. I would term there all inclusive package as to be fair Full Board with a Drinks Package I will return before the euro takes over!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twdkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livvy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

After a day of flying, we rented a car at Dubrovnik Airport and drove to the Rixos Hotel where we had reservations for 2 nights. When we arrived, the woman at the desk told us that the hotel was overbooked and could not accomodate us but that they had made other arrangements for us at the Hilton. This was May 2011 and our reservations for two couples had been confirmed since February. The Hilton Hotel staff told us that they got the call from the Rixos Hotel only that morning. So, we were basically kicked out and the Rixos did nothing to make amends. There was no management apology and no Hilton upgrade offer. Travelers should think twice about making reservations at the Rixos Hotel Libertas. They are unreliable! The Hilton turned out to be great...
BR

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LivvyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Hotel Libertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Hotel Libertas

Property: Rixos Hotel Libertas
Address: Liechtensteinov Put 3 | Dubrovnik Neretva County, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Hotel Libertas 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark of exceptional Croatian hospitality, the waterfront Rixos Libertas Dubrovnik has been reborn as the ultimate contemporary design hotel with luxurious facilities for discerning travelers. Home to 254 guest rooms that combine panoramic views of the Adriatic Sea with pampering facilities that indulge and inspire, it is conveniently located only 15 minutes away from Dubrovnik Old Town and 25 minutes away from the Dubrovnik International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rixos Hotel Libertas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing