We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marco the Great Makes This Hostel Go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Ranked #96 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Marco the Great Makes This Hostel Go”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Marco is the heart and soul of Hostel Marker...he seems to handle just about everything himself, including having in-depth personal chats with every guest who shows up! He's a fascinating guy and, more importantly, he runs a great hostel. Hostel Marker is made up of three buildings located right in the shadow the fort, perched at the gate to Dubrovnik's Old City. The prices are quite moderate for high season in Croatia and Marco will do just about anything to ensure your stay is a happy one, including doing laundry for a fair price until four in the morning. The only downsides are the shared bathrooms are quite competitive and not every member of the backpacking set is considerate. There are shared kitchens which is a plus, but no televisions and, despite claims to the contrary, no WIFI except at a single stand-up terminal in no. 19. All in all, the combination of outstanding location, knowledgeable and friendly hostelkeeper and clean but simple rooms makes this an enjoyable experience for a budget traveller. If you like your middle class creature comforts you want to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
23
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Very close to the old town, 5 minutes away in a quite area a few doors down from a beach fronted restaurant. As others have mentioned Marko is a fantastic host taking us on a 20 minute walk around the old town, pointing out some of the main sites and very useful tips on good places to eat and drink.
The rooms are simple and clean, for the price I thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoYouSpeakEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Our hol in dubrovnik was brill.Marko was so friendly and showed us everything about the city. Organised our taxi home and discount with it! Organised the Elafti Island trip for us also.5 min walk from centre, ideal location, free internet,free towels,air conditioning,supply of hair dryer,shower gel,shampoo,toothpaste,very clean and comfortable. from girls in Ireland

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We absolutely loved staying at Hostel Marker! The location could not have been better and our room was large and very clean, as was the shared bathroom. Marko was so helpful and accommodating that he made us feel as though we were staying in a guest room at a friend's house rather than a hostel. Wish we could have stayed longer but will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Hostel Marker is spread out over a few buildings & is located right next to Pile Bay. The bay itself is amazing to stroll past, and you really feel like you are in the heart of things. We booked a private room with private shower, but we actually got more of a studio apartment as there was even a kitchen & little dining area. We booked a taxi (32 Euros one way for 2 persons) through the hostel as we didn't want to have to worry about public transport & having to find the place. When we arrived at the main square (where all the bus stops to Lapad etc. can be found, which is also at the Pile Gate entrance to Old Town), the owner of the Hostel, Marko, was waiting for us to show us the way. Right from the start he was such a great host, showing us the way to our room & carrying our bags. He took the time to get us settled into the place, and pointed out all of the best restaurants for our budget.

It really was a fantastic location, right next to the heart of the Old Town, but it still maintained the charm of a little village rather than a major hotel area. I had such an amazing time in the city overall that I am already planning to return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojopin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Arrived at Pile gate late pm.,and Marko appeared at our sides to show us the short way. Location very picturesque and romantic, during our stay there we saw 2 wedding parties. The apartments at no. 19 were just a few short few steps away from the bay. We found them to be very clean and adequate, just what we wanted for our 5 day trip. Marko and his niece Ivana were very friendly & helpful, and our group would have no hesitation in recommending this hostel and its central but quiet location. The only negative comment I would make is that the towels supplied were very old and very tired!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peregrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2009

We had a such a good time in Dubrovnik.
Great hostel!! really well located in the city! The staff is amazing and really helpful!!! .
The Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Highly recomended.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — We stayed there only 4 days-too short
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wiksjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 490 in Dubrovnik
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#73 of 490 in Dubrovnik
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#25 of 490 in Dubrovnik
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
#116 of 490 in Dubrovnik
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Zoro
Apartments Zoro
#46 of 490 in Dubrovnik
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Petra Marina
Hostel Petra Marina
#53 of 490 in Dubrovnik
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town

Property: Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Address: Svetoga Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town-50 m from the sea and 40 m from the historical main street Placa(Stradun). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marker Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing