We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great manger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Ranked #152 of 503 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here in may 2013, had a private room with shared bathroom.
We loved it here, it is perfect location, just outside old town walls. About 1 minute walk from bus stop and the main entrance into old town. Close to beaches and markets etc. Marko the manager is a superstar, so friendly and helpful,made you feel very welcomed into Dubrovnik, part of the family. He gave us a map and really good tips on the city. Our room was perfect, clean, spacious, had nice big towels and hot showers. He even gave us a discount on our accommodation because we didn't have correct change. We would recommend Marco and his apartments to anyone traveling to Dubrovnik:) loved it

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Can't imagine a better hostel experience. Right as soon as you get in, the dude working the front desk will immediately become your new best friend, give you a full rundown of exactly what you should do during your weekend in Dubrovnik.The people do make a difference. The facilities were basic but nice, they don't charge to rent a towel, sheets..., and there are bus station,city center,swiming spots,bars close by. Good staff, good location(not with a fake smile) - solid hostel.
Everyone just made me feel very welcome in Dubrovnic.

Room Tip: Room 6 top floor with old city and ocean view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haward0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here with a mate for 3 days in June 2012 and found it a great value option. Marko's son Lucas was absolutely brilliant, giving us pointers on a map on places to eat, drink and avoid as Dubrovnik has a few of these places.

I especially wish I'd followed his advice on places to avoid, as one place in an area he'd said to avoid stung me and a mate for £7 a pint each! Luckily we'd had only one each with our lunch. I can't remember the name of the place but it was very near the bus stops at the entrance to old town, in fact more or less in line with the apartments.

Lesson: always check the drinks prices, especially if they aren't listed and food prices seem reasonable (as a lure).

But back to the apartment. We had a top floor twin room, and shared kitchen and shared bathroom. It was spacious and comfortable enough,had air con and was a stones throw from old town. In terms of value it was damn good, maybe the only thing that could improve it would be a mini-safe. The apartments were obviously lockable and self contained though so possibly I'm being picky. Would definitely recommend as a good value option in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimboJonesMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

On arrival at the hostel we were able to check in 3 hours early, which meant we could shower and freshen up ready for the day. We were then told that as it was low season our 4 bed dorm was upgraded to 2 twin rooms for no extra cost. Bonus!
Marco, the owner, was really friendly and helpful. He gave us a map of the area and promptly gave us a 20min talk of where to go and where to avoid. He really did make sure we had the best possible stay.
The lady who did all the cleaning was a machine, everyday she'd be around making sure the place was spotless.

Overall, for the cost, this hostel is great. The location is just outside the old town which meant it was a bit quieter, with a little beach/cove round the corner that wasn't overrun by tourists. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights. Absolutely excellent location, very near Pile Gate. Service was very good and shared thoughts on eating spots, shopping etc - gave us a map. Private bathroom was across hall from room. Room was very basic but met our needs. Very safe and secure. Economic stay in expensive Duprovnik. Would stay here again as reasonablty economic choice in Dubrovnik. Our room had no issues with noise - looked at another building, could see Fort from window. Another couple we talked to, mentioned some noise - but they faced another direction. Room took a couple minutes to find, but we got there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canuck2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Staff was incredible.
We felt very welcomed since the day one, we came early(hours before check in time), even thou we entered the room in a hour.
They explained us about recommended activities,places and restaurants in the city with great patience.
They also helped us quickly with medical problems that occur during the trip.
The room was basic but clean and satisfying, most people in the hostel were very nice.
Can't praise enough location, very close to the old city, great view of the sea, the city and a fortress.
We miss you very much, come to Israel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this hostel as a group for a brief stay in Dubrovnik. We decided to end our trip here (flying out of Dubrovnik) and were SHOCKED when we arrived after a long day of traveling, with our suitcases, and were told that our room was no longer available because they were doing construction - "sorry, but we have found you something just a twenty minute bus ride away so don't worry."

Note: the old town of Dubrovnik is about a 5 minute walk from start to finish, so "only 20 minutes away" is as absurd as it sounds. We arrived in the mid-afternoon, and had received NO notification earlier in the day that we could expect any problems - despite having provided cell phone and email contact information. As such, we were unable to spend the earlier part of our day attempting to rectify the situation so that everything was settled by the time we arrived in Dubrovnik.

In short, the management here is horrifying. Marco, the hostel's proprietor, is predisposed to aggression and personal attacks and was incapable of answering our questions about what the "alternative" accommodations we would be provided with might cost, whether there were sleeping spaces for all in our group, and where on the map these "alternative" accommodations would be.

We were expecting to conclude a fantastic trip in Croatia here and were in high spirits upon arrival. We stayed in similarly-priced accommodations throughout the country - and had phenomenal experiences and phenomenal service. Hostel Marker was the single worst (neigh, ONLY BAD) thing about our trip - and was the inspiration for creating a TripAdvisor account.

"Reserve" at your own risk.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AMJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkoDubrovnik, Manager at Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

You are the part of the group stayed with Us at 18.08.2011 and only reason why You writing a bed review is that You requested ´ŃOT TO PAY THE AMOUNT FOR THE STAY OR YOU WILL WRITE A BED REVIEW´.

Our comment for all this is that we are very sorry and sad if the people have a power and possibility to write everything even they apologize to Us and tell Us that they will change the attitude about the behavior of communication,special with Our staff.
We don't have anything agains that if You write a real story,but if You write story which is not true we are very sad and even the Trip Advisor.com have to be a authentic and critical website where the traveler leave a real story.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#4 of 503 in Dubrovnik
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Amnesia
Hostel Amnesia
#186 of 503 in Dubrovnik
9 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#50 of 503 in Dubrovnik
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
#171 of 503 in Dubrovnik
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartments Ivana
Apartments Ivana
#116 of 503 in Dubrovnik
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#52 of 503 in Dubrovnik
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town

Address: Svetoga Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 503 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $35 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town-50 m from the sea and 40 m from the historical main street Placa(Stradun). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Marker Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing