We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Ranked #96 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hostel is in a great location right next to the old town and the beach. The manager seemed very friendly mainly because he had advertised a double room on an popular agencies site for the wrong price, so when we turned up he told us we couldnt have the double we would have to stay in a dorm for the same price. The dorm was supposed to be for 3 people but they had stuck an extra fold out bed in there to go along with the other to probably make up for his mistake. The shower flooded the bathroom everytime you used it then ceated a dirty floor. There was no lockers, no air con in the rooms just in the outside hall. I cant believe they charge 40euro to sleep on a fold out bed in a dorm room!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    22
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
23
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hostel is a little gem! Bit confused where it was at first (get off the bus at pile station and walk down the stairs and the office is to the right). But once we arrived we were very happy. Very close to the beach and old town. Get host and we stayed in a double room next to an older lady Pauline, who was very sweet and offered to help check us in or do our washing. Please note no air conditioning though, however we were happy with the fan. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the moment we arrived, Marco and Luca were the most amazing hosts! we checked in to our air-conditioned, comfortable private double room and once we had settled in and relaxed after a hot bus trip from Split, we headed back down to the office to finalize our payment and ask for some suggestions on restaurants/things to do .etc. everything Luca recommended was spot on! Especially the small cove/beach that was 30m from our door! Perfect for an afternoon swim :) We had the most fantastic time in Dubrovnik thanks to Hostel Marker and the amazing hosts who felt like family by the time we had checked out. Thank you again Marco and Luca!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have never written a review, but after staying at this hostel I felt I needed to write a good review because I was that impressed with the service. The location is amazing, and very picturesque. For the price it gave you a lot. Great location and very comfortable living. Our room was more an apartment style living, which was a plus as we had our own washing machine and kitchen. The bathrooms design is a bit faulted, and that means it constantly has wet floors, but really a very small thing compared to the excellent service you get. The staff are super friendly and always wanting to help and have a chat. I would definatly stay here again and tell my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

From the moment, the hosts Marco and Luca did everything possible to not only facilitate all our needs, but go above and beyond, and were like friends after our brief (2 night) stay. The accommodation was everything we needed - we chose the most basic room, and so it wasn't anything fancy, but had air-con, was clean and well presented. The common kitchen area even had satellite TV. Given the price, and it's INCREDIBLE location, I would highly recommend it on this basis alone. However, as I said, Luca and Marco just made the stay - so so friendly, really helpful in giving you tips about where to go/not to go, what to do etc all based on your preferences, food tastes etc. They make it so personal, and every guest will be made feel like part of the 'Hostel Marker' family!

Can't speak highly enough of the place.

P.S. If you stay there make sure to eat in Dubravka Restaurant just beside 'Hostel Marker'. We ate there on the first night (following Lucas recommendation) and had every one of our meals there for the duration of our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have just come back from Dubrovnik and spent the last 5 nights at Hostel Marker. The location is by far the best as its with a stone throw of the beach and the old town. Plus there are a few good clubs near by.

The best way to describe this hostel is basic with the best location. The facilities could do with a touch up as the showers were pretty dire, but kitchen facilities were good. The social side of this hostel is great as you can meet many people, however there is no real common room and there is a very strict curfew that is enforced by the owner Marko.

So if your looking for a party probably better to go with your new friends down the beach or fear the wrath of Marko whom came across at first a stand up bloke but quickly turned after midnight. His assistant Luka was a top fella who was really helpful and willing to do almost anything to make your stay good. Thumbs up Luka!

Overall a great hostel for location, not really worth the price as its not the cheapest but you do get a good bed and good company.

If your a solo traveller looking for a party hostel this aint it by far but your meet some of the best travellers here!

N

Room Tip: If your thinking of renting an apartment for you and your mates and you like a little tipple each ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I'm definitely satisfied with staying in Marker!It's located in center but still peacefull, Marco and Luca are amazing hosts...so if you looking for good hostel to stay in while in Dubrovnik,I recommend you look no further...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Angelina Old Town
Hostel Angelina Old Town
#3 of 490 in Dubrovnik
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Mia
Apartments Mia
#73 of 490 in Dubrovnik
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Town Hostel
Old Town Hostel
#25 of 490 in Dubrovnik
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
My Way Hostel Dubrovnik
#116 of 490 in Dubrovnik
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartments Zoro
Apartments Zoro
#46 of 490 in Dubrovnik
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Petra Marina
Hostel Petra Marina
#53 of 490 in Dubrovnik
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town

Property: Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town
Address: Svetoga Djurdja 6 | od Tabakarije 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town-50 m from the sea and 40 m from the historical main street Placa(Stradun). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Marker Dubrovnik Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Marker Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing