We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariston Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was great. there were about 4 pools and it was so much fun. some of the pools were heated and the indoor pool especially was great. the breakfast was free and had lots of choices and the food was excellent. the hotel resort was connected to the ocean which was fun. the bar and food was a little pricy though, and our room was excellent and very clean and nice with anything you would need, overall a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    220
    57
    11
    2
See reviews for
113
288
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's the only hotel we stayed in in Croatia so I have nothing local to compare it with. The hotel complex is in a lovely location on the water with a stunning view especially from the restaurant terrace. It is far from anything though. Having some kind of transport is a plus as the old town is not a walking distance! I have found Croatians in general a charming people still not spoilt by mass tourism. So the staff were all very helpful but the service is not great by any international standards, maybe a lot of them were students on summer jobs as some told us? Not sure. But towels would be missing after rooms cleaned, bath gel not refilled in 3 days, food not replenished quickly, if at all, at the crowded breakfast buffet, that kind of small thing that makes a hotel stay really pleasant. But the whole experience is so nice that it doesn't really upset you, and if you complain, it's quickly sorted out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmetraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I will say that the hotel, it's location, the rooms and facilities are all top notch, five star quality. The 'beach' is just a few rocks with some steps down into the sea but the water is crystal clear and beautiful. This is a family holiday hotel and as such has all you would expect complete with noisy kids etc round the pool/beach but this didn't really bother us. The staff are all helpful and friendly although on checking in we weren't told much besides our room number and that was it! One major annoyance was no drinking water is provided in the room except for in the minibar (which is obviously chargeable and not cheap). They also refused to serve us tap water in the hotel restaurants as its against their policy. Surely for the price - and the fact that it's five star - a bottle or two of water should be left in the room everyday? Also they provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room but no milk? And when we forgot to leave the house keeping lady a tip she didn't replenish the tea or coffee at all. Also she tried putting on our minibar chit that we'd had more items than we actually had. We confronted her and she said she wrote a 4 by mistake instead of a 1........
All in all its a very nice hotel in a beautiful location but it's also a huge tourist trap that lacks character and the personal touch. Recommended (provided the above doesn't put you off).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in July 2013. We had a sea view room on the 2nd floor so great views out to sea and lovely to see some of the yachts visiting the City. The room was comfortable, the bathroom well equipped. We did believe that we would get tea / coffee making facilities in the room (and know others on the floor did have) but when we queried it we were told this was not the case. A good base for travelling around the area; we took the bus into town a few times (at 12 KN each way) and also took a boat from the nearby Dubrovnik Hotel around the Elephantine islands. Do walk down to Lapad from the hotel - a lovely easy coastal walk and some good eateries down here. The Zoe restaurant at the hotel was disappointing (and expensive) but it was our first night. The buffet service in the evening was good value (we had this just one night). Breakfast varied - the eggs to order were great. I had fresh fruit and omelette every day. My husband loved the Apfel Strudel for breakfast. We had cocktails in the bar a couple of evenings which was pleasant. Overall would recommend the hotel and if I come back to Dubrovnik would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms didn't look very appealing as there isn't much garden! Would recommend a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahTurner285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel has everything and more, large clean rooms ours had a sea view balcony which I would recommend, the view from our room was breath taking. Staff all speak English and could not do enough for you. There was something for everyone at breakfast, again eating breakfast with the most stunning of views. Swimming in the sea is a must, however the sea was cold! Very nice after lounging on the sun beds catching the sun.

There were four of us, we all really enjoyed our stay. We would def go back looking forward to it all ready.

Just a word of warning if you hire the jet skies take notice of the speed limits in and around the harbours you will be fined by the police for exceeding these.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I spend a night in hotel Ariston while on a business trip to Dubrovnik. Hotel was comfortable, clean and well airconditioned. Bathroom was big. Having tasty and fullfilling breakfast on terrace by the sea was a perfect start to a busy day.
Although I'm a sandy beach lover, the rocky sunbathing area was fabulous.
Only minus to Ariston was a tricky terrace door. It took quite a while to figure out how to open it. There is a lovely local restaurant called Komin just a few hundred meters away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EveTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

After driving for 10 hours we arrived at Hotel Ariston and to our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a suite in the Royal Palace with a wonderful view of the sea, two bathrooms, king size bed, a wet bar big balcony and a sitting room. When the friendly staff realized we were from Canada we were introduced to the hotel manage who happens to be from Toronto. From then on we were treated like royalty. The hotel has been renovated to Canadian standards including marble floors among too many things to mention. It was beautiful, clean, spacious with lots of closet room. One of the bathrooms had two sinks and a large bathtub with a shower. That is a 5 star hotel. We loved every minute we spent there but were only able to stay for three days. Our next trip will be for a week or more! It also has a indoor pool, exercise room, Turkish bath as well as a wellness centre. What A GREAT HOTEL. We will never stay anywhere else. The hotel also supplied umbrellas for our trip to old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykatherine1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Property: Ariston Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above the Adriatic Sea, Hotel Ariston 5* features 115 newly renovated rooms and a wide range of facilities which will spark the enthusiasm of any visitor, whether a holidaymaker or a business traveller. Minutes from the world-famous UNESCO site - Dubrovnik Old Town, enjoy the hotel's quiet and natural surroundings, expansive sea views and wake up to the sounds of waves. Charming, elegant and comfortable rooms will be your oasis to relax and unwind, in addition to multiple outdoor pools, a wellness zone and three restaurants with outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing