We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful Hotel - The Best Hotel We Stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ariston Hotel to your Saves list
Ariston Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel - The Best Hotel We Stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After driving for 10 hours we arrived at Hotel Ariston and to our pleasant surprise we were upgraded to a suite in the Royal Palace with a wonderful view of the sea, two bathrooms, king size bed, a wet bar big balcony and a sitting room. When the friendly staff realized we were from Canada we were introduced to the hotel manage who happens to be from Toronto. From then on we were treated like royalty. The hotel has been renovated to Canadian standards including marble floors among too many things to mention. It was beautiful, clean, spacious with lots of closet room. One of the bathrooms had two sinks and a large bathtub with a shower. That is a 5 star hotel. We loved every minute we spent there but were only able to stay for three days. Our next trip will be for a week or more! It also has a indoor pool, exercise room, Turkish bath as well as a wellness centre. What A GREAT HOTEL. We will never stay anywhere else. The hotel also supplied umbrellas for our trip to old town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykatherine1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    182
    44
    9
    1
See reviews for
91
229
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork (Ireland)
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Myself, my wife and our 2.5 year old stayed in hotel ariston in early June 2013. On arrival, we were upgraded to a suite in the royal palace, one of the hotels within the importante complex. Our small lad had caught the vomiting bug the day before we travelled and was making a slow job of recovery. The hotel called a doctor that came to the hotel. He had great english and was a lovely with the little patient. Thankfully, he made a quick recover thereafter. The hotel has many pluses. 3 pools, although outdoor ones are cool enough in early June. Breakfast has plenty of choice. The beach bar has spectacular views. Path along the cliff to their hotels and restaurants makes for a lovely evening stroll. Bus service to old town or bus station is regular and only a short walk from hotel entrance. On the minus side.....wi-fi was non existant outside hotel lobby...they need to invest in a more powerful router. the lady that made my white russain put in way too much ice. Thats how petty my complaints are!!!!. Dubrovnik old town makes for spectacular scenery. The walk along the city walls will live long in the memory. We will be back again .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely hotel. I chose the hotel after reading the many positive reviews and for its location right on the coast. The hotel is exactly as shown in photographs. We stayed in a deluxe room with sea view and balcony (1202) on the second floor and the sea view was wonderful. Just off shore there is a small group of rocky islands which add interest to the view and there were loads of small boats and huge cruise ships coming and going. The room was large, air conditioned, spotlessly clean and had a big bathroom. There were tea and coffee making things and we just asked at reception every couple of days for milk which was no problem. All the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. One day our loo paper hadn't been restocked but after a quick call to reception a staff member was at our door within 5 minutes with new supplies. The bed was comfortable and the room nicely furnished. Also we slept well as it was lovely and quiet at night.

The hotel is part of the Importanne resort so there were 3 hotels sharing the facilities. Breakfast was served in one of the restaurants but because the hours were 0630 to 1030 it never felt over crowded. The restaurant has a wonderful terrace so you can eat breakfast whilst admiring the sea view. The food selection was good - cereals, fruit, hot food, toast, pastries etc. Some previous reviewers said that the hot breakfast was not so good but we found it to be ok. We also discovered that we could order freshly made omelettes or poached/fried eggs so it was not a problem. Coffee was obtained from machines but tasted fine and there were loads of tea bags available as well as sparkling wine and fruit juice. Great way to start the day. We stayed on a B&B basis which was fine as there are plenty of places to eat locally. There is a public footpath which runs through the resort so the walk into nearby Lapad is very easy (10-15 minutes) and as the path is along the coast the view is lovely. The resort also has two a la carte restaurants and a buffet style restaurant.

The beach bar was a cool oasis when the heat became too much - the staff were friendly and the food and drinks were good too. The resort has three pools - two salt water pools down near the sea and a small fresh water pool in the garden area. There was also an area of sea for swimming marked by floats and ladders for access. The sea was crystal clear and marginally warmer than the pool water! There were plenty of sun beds and parasols but unfortunately there was still a bit of a problem with people reserving sun beds. However the lifeguards were pretty good and would remove the towels if the people didn't show up within a reasonable time. In fact the lifeguards were excellent as they were only too happy to help out with moving parasols and locating extra sun beds if needed. During the last couple of days of our stay it became a bit windy so the lifeguards kept a close eye on the parasols. Everywhere throughout the hotel, in the gardens and by the pool and beach area was very clean and well kept.

The hotel is about 4 or 5 Kms away from the old town but this wasn't a problem as the No 6 bus runs from right near the hotel to the bus terminal near the Pile gate. The journey into town takes about 15-20 minutes and the buses run frequently. Tickets can be bought from the tour desk in the hotel, the ticket kiosk at the Pile gate terminus or from the driver. The old town is beautiful but due to the number of cruise ships which visit it can become very crowded. It was great to come back to the quieter area of the hotel after a day in the old town. We bought a 1 day Dubrovnik card for 139 Kuna from the tour desk in the hotel which included return bus journeys. It worked out to be good value as the cost to walk on the walls was 90 Kuna per person and entry to the Maritime Museum and the Rectors Palace were each 70 Kuna per person to visit - these were all included in the Dubrovnik card as well as some other museums.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday and the excellent weather certainly added to the experience. Dubrovnik is a wonderful place and we will definitely return and will stay again at the Ariston Hotel.

Room Tip: Having a room with a sea view far outweighs a garden view and a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor will pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just back today from hotel ariston. I cannot fault anything about the hotel. It was spotlessly clean with the most ideal location in the area. The views of the sea are breathtaking. Staff all very friendly & helpful. Pools were all lovely, although very cold at first. Access to the sea from poolside & more than enough sun loungers and space for sun bathing. I would defiantly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxed holiday, maybe not the most ideal place for kids. Dubrovnik was also stunning with lovely restaurants & bars, would highly recommend Gill's Bistro, food & wine were delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbierafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Like the last reviewer, we stayed in room 1224. It was spacious, well furnished, immaculately clean with a great view of the sea. The towels were changed every day and we enjoyed having the bathrobes and slippers.
We stayed on a B and B basis as we like to eat out at different places. The breakfast was fine, if a little same-y, and there was enough choice to keep us both happy. A separate menu appeared on the tables about half way through the week with a good selection of dishes to order. We both tried the smoked salmon omelette and it was so good, we had it the next day as well.
There were a couple of small niggles which prevented me from rating this hotel as 'excellent'. The hotel provided a kettle and cups in the room but no tea, coffee or milk. Reception sent some up to us very quickly on request but we had to keep asking on subsequent days. We got tea and coffee but never any milk so had to buy our own from the mini market. On a couple of days, fresh towels were provided but the used ones not taken away.
Whatever, these are small issues in the scheme of things and, if we ever return to Dubrovnik, I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view room. The views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had initially booked to stay at the Neptun Hotel taking up the option for a sea view room but on arrival were given a fab room (1307) in the neighbouring Ariston Hotel, which together with the Royal Palm and Royal Princess form part of the Importanne Resort.
The Ariston and Neptun share the same reception area, dining room/restaurant, bars, pools and beach so it's probably a matter of choice and view which one you plump for but the sea view is better than the car park.
The room was spacious and well equipped with a nice balcony area and the bathroom was clean and all in working order although the shower was a bit lively and the bath was the deepest I've seen. Maid service was daily and very thorough with clean towels etc.
The pool/beach area is quite tight and I can imagine it would be chockablock in the summer but the diving platforms and steps out of the sea make it worth a spin in the Adriatic if you don't fancy one of the fresh water pools.
We took the half board option and overall the food was very good. Breakfast offered the usual array of hot and cold buffet, fresh meat and bread, fresh fruit, cereals etc and its all help your self. Dinner had the staples - meat, chicken, fish, veg in different guises each night but generally very fresh and appetising and better than some of the limited local eateries (first time eating out I've been charged for condiments!)
Drinks are more expensive in the hotel than outside 30 kuna a pint and 36 kuna for a 150ml glass of wine. If you want a cheaper night out either jump on the bus to the Old City or take the scenic walk to Lapad which tales about 15 minutes. The bus costs 15 kuna each way and you can buy tickets for the bus and the 1, 3 or 7 day Dubrovnik card at the hotel reception.
Lovely place overall and I would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra you may have to pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daftlad1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently visited this hotel for a girlie trip. There were six of us and we book 3 x twin rooms. On arrival we were upgraded to suites which were fabulous! Staff were great nothing too much trouble.
The bus goes from just outside hotel to harbour and old town.
Went slightly out of season so some of bars weren't open but hotel arranged for taxis to take to the harbour area in the evening where we went to various restuarants and bars!!
Would recommend hotel.

ONly downfall was that the breakfast tended to be cold!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevie120161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
Neptun Hotel Dubrovnik
#12 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#5 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#11 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariston Hotel

Property: Ariston Hotel
Address: Kardinala Stepinca 31, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ariston Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ariston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing