We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
LONDON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here when visiting Dubrovnik. Very good value for money. 315 HRK a night for 2 sharing. Breakfast included and free parking. Only a 5 minute bus ride on number 6 to Old Town from stop a bottom of road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnogreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    132
    96
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
116
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Hotel Ivka with a tour group for new year's. We got there around midnight and were quickly allocated our rooms, despite the large group. The staff were extremely helpful. Even the busboys were very well groomed and extremely polite. It was obvious that all the staff are proud of their jobs. Breakfast could have been a bit more extensive, but was still enough. Maybe it was due to the season. It's a short distance from the old town, but easy to get to. Around 5 minutes by taxi and 15 minutes by bus. Loved Dubrovnik as well, so we're planning on going back and staying at Ivka again during a summer holiday.

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have balconies. Whole hotel is non-smoking, so a room with a balcony is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddevronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The relatively new Hotel Ivka is a modern 3 star plus hotel situated on the peninsula of Lapad. It is located midway between the old town & the new harbour, within a fifteen minutes walk of the Ferry Port. As it is positioned on a hill some rooms have views. We were assigned such a room and enjoyed the vistas of the hills and valleys from the windows and the small balcony.
Our room was large, bright, light and well furnished. It was a good standard with comfortable bedding and ample storage space. The bathroom was spacious, clean, well equipped and attractive.
Breakfast was adequate without being special and the fixed dinner menu provided reasonable quality food. It also featured an a la carte menu option.
Overall, this is a good standard tourist hotel, staffed by caring and helpful professionals. We are happy to recommend it to travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel was clean and the room we had was very large. We were given the room one the 1st floor which had a balcony overlooking the road. The buffet breakfast was quite good with plenty to eat and drink. We like the location as it was a short walk to the nearby beach (pebble) and Lapad strip with bars etc. It is also close to a bus stop that takes you straight into The Old Town.

A good tip is the roof top restaurant just over the main cross road on the way to the beach. Good food and reasonable prices (especially compared to the Old Town).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lechou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the Ivka 11/1/ through 11/8, 2012, while my husband was in the Dubrovnik hospital--we had to leave our cruise ship, and our tour director chose the Ivka for me because I could walk to the hospital in 15 minutes (and back in 10--downhill). My room was pleasant; my balcony had a lovely view toward the hills. The included breakfast was good--eggs well prepared, flaky croissants, fresh fruit and many choices. The staff was helpful and courteous. There was a laptop for guests to use, so I could keep up with my e-mail (for a small charge). The dining room serves dinner when there are enough guests, but two nights it was closed. I was disappointed, so the woman tending bar made nice sandwiches for me both evenings. I appreciated her kindness. The room was rather sparsely furnished--no clock radio, no ice bucket, no coffeemaker. I did have a flatscreen TV that got CNN and CNBC in English. However, some other rooms had older TVs. The #6 and #4 bus routes to and from Old Town are nearby, and it is an easy walk to the harbor. There is no swimming pool or fitness center--the Ivka is what it is, an unpretentious, pleasant, reasonably priced hotel, and I was glad to be there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Ivka in October. To be honest, I was just trying to use up some air miles (Avios) and the Ivka came out as a good deal, so we gambled on it. Luckily, we were not disappointed.
The hotel is located on the Lapad peninsula a few miles from the old town, we did walk into the old town once, but really by accident, and it took us about 40 mins. The bus is much more convenient and stops 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
It's a fairly modern hotel, with a small lift and a perfectly reasonable, if not spectacular, restaurant and a small bar area.
We were given a room at the side of the hotel, on the first floor. It was spotlessly clean, spacious and had a nice bathroom with a good sized shower. The room was perfectly adequate for our needs, quite plain and simple, but had a good size wardrobe, a few drawers, smallish TV and a little balcony with a table and chairs which was nice (Although the view was of a wall and some trees, but hey ho). It was also air conditioned, which came in very handy.
The staff were all efficient and courteous and were always helpful with any queries we had. We also found that the hotel exchange rate (GBP - Kuna) was as good as anywhere else we managed to find in Dubrovnik, so that was also a nice convenience.
We ate in the restaurant only once, apart from breakfast, and the food was simple but very well cooked, I had beef stroganoff and I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Breakfast is OK but nothing special, again like everything else here, it was very reasonable and well cooked, but nothing to get excited about. Buffet of fried/scrambled eggs, fried ham and chipolatas, frankfurters, plenty of fresh bread, cereals, yoghurt, fruit and juices. The usual sort of fayre. Enough to give a decent choice and as much as you want to eat. The coffee machine also provided surprisingly pleasant coffee.
The only real criticism I would have is the beds, they ain't great. We had mistakenly booked ourselves into a twin, but the reception guy pointed this out at check in and cheerfully changed us to a double, but that only consisted of two twin beds shoved together. Now I know that is quite a common occurrence in many hotels, the issue here is that the style of beds they use are like wooden boxes where the mattress sits entirely inside the box with the mattress top level with the top edge of the box, so when placed together you have, effectively, a wooden bar running right through the centre of the bed and you cannot lie on it. So really we ended up with just two singles next to each other. We wondered if it was just our room, but we had a look in a few empty rooms when the cleaners had them opened up, and they were all the same as ours.
Apart from the beds though, we did enjoy our stay here. The staff were always pleasant and polite and I would happily recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a simple, unassuming hotel.... but you'll need to be able to do without a proper double bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picklefactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here last week , hotel fine rooms were large and clean [ we even had a small balcony ]
Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice... eggs,bacon,sausages and various rolls,pastries, tea,coffee etc....this set us up for day as we had two trips booked the four days we were all there.
Bus stop just up the road [ turn left and past the kozum mini market ] bus num 6 which takes you to the pile gate getting to the hotel bus num 4. bus tickets are cheaper if you get from the kiosos 12 kn instead of 15 kn on the bus.[ which at the bus stop which ive mentioned you would have to get on the bus.... another tip outside hotel turn right and follow the road down only bout 5 mins to the harbour and you can get tickets frm newsagent stand the bus num 6 stops frm round the corner. 15 min walk to the beach in lapad... turn left frm hotel walk up the road then turn right and walk down your pass a small shopping centre [ tommy supermarket is in there which is cheap and all the locals use it ]pass shopping centre and then on the left is the road down to the beach lined with bars/restaurants

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelboy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#31 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#39 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#22 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#51 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Property: Hotel Ivka
Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing