We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ivka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ivka
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Urbana, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour for 3 days and were not impressed with our first room. On our second stay we got a better room on the third floor. The service seemed to be better the second time around as well. My biggest issues with the hotel are the warm rooms (AC does not work that well) and the old Tito style of the hotel. Basically it needs an upgrade, but it is acceptable. It is also quite far from the walled city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, you will be much happier. The back rooms have no appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaspraydc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    132
    96
    19
    7
See reviews for
48
116
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I spent four nights in this hotel during the high tourist season. I can safely recommend it, since there are very few faults I found with it. The hotel does everything correctly, from the furniture of its spacious rooms, to the helpful service. The cleaning ladies even let me use thier clothes iron, along with the ironing board, free of charge, even though there is a laundry price list in every room. The breakfast is nice and varied: there are the usual eggs, cereals, spreads and bread, but there are also a few surprises like fresh fruit, cakes, salmon and anchovies included in the self-service buffet.

I have only a few very minor complaints: the double room bed actually consists of two joined single beds, which makes the middle hard and uncomfortable. Also, there are instructions for a room safe on the desk, but I couldn't find a safe anywhere in the room. And the hotel's biggest disadvantage -- it's right in the middle of the peninsula, and thus far enough both from the Old City and any beach (and the nearest beach isn't a very good one). If you don't have a car or don't want to brave the congested city roads, you'll have to rely either on the slow public transport or overpriced taxis. If you don't care about any of that, you'll have a great time at Hotel Ivka!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Hotel Ivka is on the great place near the port in Dubrovnik and Lapad peninsula. Distance the old town and 20 mins walking Lapad peninsula less then 10 min. Breakfast at the hotel was a very nice. As we stayed 6 days we spend some time in Lapad and Old Town.
Lapad beach is 10 minutes walking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Hotel Ivka is near the port in Dubrovnik, about 30 mins walk (definitely 30 and not 15 mins walk, and we did not dawdle!) into the old town and 20 mins from the Lapad peninsula. There are buses from the port into the old town for about 12 kuna.
The location of the hotel suited us, and we found the hotel clean and comfortable. Our rooms at the front had balconies.
Breakfast at the hotel was a very comprehensive buffet style with cereals, yoghurts, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, fruit salad, hot buffet (scrambled egg, fried eggs, bacon, sausages, etc). There were also pastries and cakes, as well as all the normal stuff like rolls, butter, fruit juices, tea, coffee, etc. A substantial breakfast that no-one could complain about.
The hotel also provides dinner, but we didn't try this. They do a good hot cocoa very reasonably in the evenings, but check the bar closing times.
Up an alleyway near the hotel (turn right at the front of the hotel, and its just a little way along), where there is a massive amount of steps to climb, at the top is the Restaurant Belvedere. It looks nothing from the back, and OK from the front, but it was the best and most reasonable restaurant we came across. Had we had more time, we would have gone back.
The Lapad Peninsula is definitely one to try. Easily walkable from the Hotel Ivka. (Turn left from the hotel, and right at the traffic lights on the main junction a walk along the road. Down to the bottom of that road, and turn left into the pedestrian precinct there). Along the pedestrian precinct are loads of cafes and restaurants. Keep on going and walk along the coast path, shaded quite a bit with trees. You can climb down to the rocks by way of steps occasionally. If you keep on and on going, eventually you will come to a cafe with wonderful views and outside seating amongst the trees. Not a lot beyond that, but a lovely walk, with great photo opportunities.
Going into the old town by bus is easy, or you can walk, but try taking the route that goes near the sea. Check out the maps. Eventually you will come across the grand Hotel Rixos Libertas, who were quite happy to let us go in for a welcome coffee on their balcony with amazing views (everywhere has amazing views in Dubrovnik!)
In the old town, there are masses of restaurants to try, but a good one is that just outside the city walls. Also a must is the cable car to the viewpoints over Dubrovnik. Whilst there, do walk down the track, beyond the 'altar' at the end of the outdoor restaurant, to see more great views.
Also take a boat trip round the island... well worth the money for 50 mins. Many more things to do in Dubrovnik, a great place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank maran-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stumbled across this Hotel while driving around Dubrovnik and as a "walk in" we got a room for 70 Euros a night for two nights. The room had a verandah but no view. The verandah was handy for drying clothes. Rooms with a view seem much more expensive so you can save a lot by not having a view. You will get plenty of spectacular views outside the Hotel!
The room was clean and comfortable and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was quite good and included in our rate.
A public bus runs from just up the road to Old Town. It was very crowded both ways but interesting to mix with the locals.
There seems to be a lot of bus tours that use this Hotel.
We would definitely stay here again as a base in Dubrovnik.
Restaurant "Otto" is about a fifteen minute walk from here and is well worth a visit. We ate here both nights and both nights were most enjoyable and the food and service superb.

Room Tip: A room without a view is more than adequate and much cheaper. You will get plenty of views in Dubrov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TestBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

As a young couple we were surrounded by the 60+ crowd. I think the hotel was a stop for quite a lot of tours so they were coming in and going out steadily. The view is beautiful and you can walk to the beach in about 10 mins. The walk itself was great as you pass through restaurants and coffee shops. The staff were nice bringing us buckets of ice all the time as there was no fridge in the room!!! otherwise nice and clean.

Room Tip: Chose a room beachside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mericauchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I find it hard to find fault with this hotel. Clean, good breakfast buffet and attentive staff.
It is about a 15min walk to the old city but bus services are available a short distance away.

Would return to this hotel again and will recommend to friends in the future.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel has a nice view and is worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoelR-GalwayIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#39 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#31 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zagreb
Hotel Zagreb
#22 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivka

Property: Hotel Ivka
Address: Od Svetog Mihajla 21, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivka 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ivka ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ivka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivka Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing