We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views and lovely hosts”
Review of Pension Stankovich

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubrovnik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Stankovich
Ranked #16 of 174 Dubrovnik B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views and lovely hosts”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just had a week in this apartment in a clean spacious room with a comfy bed and good bathroom and air con. We also had a little kitchenette where we prepared breakfast and then ate it on the terrace overlooking the old town and harbour. Would have liked a kettle as it took ages to heat up enough water on the hob but this is a small point. Towels changed every 2 days and rubbish emptied. Mainly saw Igor who was friendly and helpful. Zoran also ran us to the airport for 30 euros. The only thing not so good for us was the 377 steps down to the town, OK going down but tough going up. We are 65 and 60 years old and pretty fit and active and did manage them and the views were amazing plus it was lovely and quiet at night. If you don't mind the climb then well worth it and would recommend the apartments of which there are 6 I think.

Room Tip: There is an apartment which has a private terrace but we had no problems sharing as spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennyh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    39
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
107
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Have just returned from our first visit to Dubrovnik. We stayed 8 nights at Pension Stankovich and it certainly lived up to expectations. We stayed in studio 4 which is the most private.....it was spotlessly clean and the view as everyone says is amazing. We only saw Zoran when he picked us up from the airport and took us back there for our flight but were well looked after by Igor. Would definitely recommend a stay here but would advise against breaking your foot a couple of months before your holiday as I did as although the 377 are worth it for the view it does get very tiring!

Room Tip: Studio 4 is the most private in terms of the terrace and the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Really impressed with our stay here, I really recommend it. The view from the balcony is unbeatable, the rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and unexpected but useful facilities like TV, Wifi, air-con. Owners are friendly and attentive. The only negative was there are a LOT of stairs to get up to the building, which is fine if you're reasonably fit but otherwise you may struggle!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSlondon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived at Dubrovnik airport, where an older and very friendly guy picked us up and drove us to the apartment. Our first impressions of the apartment was good. It was spotlessly clean, bed was pretty good, and the view from the balcony was absolutly amazing.

Also worth mentioning that I was concerned about carrying our luggage up all the stairs I read about in other review, but I can gladly inform that it is no problem to take a taxi og drive a car almost to the entrance.

When we arrived, it was pretty late, and we they asked if we were hungry. We said yes, and they brought us some local dish with stuffed squash, free of charge. It didn't taste all that good, but a nice gesture.

I would not recommend going for the breakfast they very eagerly try to push. It was very simple, and not that good. We had a fridge and bought some bread and smoked ham I Oldtown, and this tasted alot better.

The hosts was also very helpful if we had any questions about transport, and had a phone we could use for local calls.

All in all, my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay, and would easily recommend it to friends and family. The most important part is that it was clean, we had our own private bathroom (though with a shared hallway between our room and the bathroom), and we felt safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed two nights last May. The view out of the balcony is superb. Amazing location just off the old city. Igor is amazing and does everything he can to make a pleasant stay. This is definitely a great option that I would recommend to everyone. Don't miss breakfast! Superb cheese omelette, chocolate crepes and coffee. Ask for private excusions to Montenegro.. Definitely worth doing.

Room Tip: Ask Igor if there are rooms with private balcony. That is not a must, but I assume desirable if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandorf_rgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location is its prime plus factor, but they add good service and a friendly smile to it. We had one of the studio's with terrace (and wonderful view of Dubrovnik's old town), and enjoyed every minute. Especially the views, the service and the incredible breakfast we will never forget. As a gay honeymoon couple, we were very happy with the champagne the Stankovic family had put on the table. It is a romantic spot, the city center is just 10 minutes walking and the area is quiet and residential. You need to climb some stairs, though.

Room Tip: I would recommend one of the studios on the upper part, as they are spacious and have a wonderful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuintenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I'm just a little repetitive but, YES, the view from the terrace is UNBELIEVABLE.
I arrived from Trieste with my bike and the first impact was climbing more than 200 steps to find the pension, because I don't trust on my navigator that want to drive me from the principal way (impossible). Yes, you should be in a decent shape to climb all the steps, but the view and congeniality of Igor, Zoran and their parents are the recompense. In any case, if you want, there is a taxi.
I stayed only one night in Studio 4, I think, which consists of a double bed, kitchenette and attached bathroom and terrace with a unbelievable view, not a private terrace but it seems becouse everyone was friendly and keeps to themselves.
After a plentiful dinner in the old town I arrive at the pension without breath. I found Zoran and Igor and a very nice marriage of New Jersey talking and drinking beers. Immediately Zoran and Igor came near and offered me beers and rest. I had a wonderfull night talking about everything and laughing.
This is the difference between Pension Stankovic and another anonimous pension, this is what a “traveller” look for, the possibility to meet up, to excenge experience and thinkings.
Thank Zoran, thanks Igor and thanks also to you nice marriage of New Jersey.
Carlo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeregrinoTuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#49 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Stankovich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Stankovich

Property: Pension Stankovich
Address: Matije Gupca 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Stankovich is a family run business in residential area. *The city center is just 10 minutes walking and the area is quiet and residential. *We offer to our guests four studios and two balcony bedrooms. We do not rent for large groups of tourists.*Each bedroom (A and B ) have own part of balcony. They are on second floor on same flat where we are. (Bedroom A (17 square meters) and Bedroom B (17 square meters)) has own bathroom/toilette next to the room and they do not have cooking facilities!*Studio No.1,( 19 square meters) *Studio No.2 (23 square meters)*Studio No.3 (17 square meters) *Studio No.4 ( 20 square meters) *Studio No.1, no.2 and No.3 have shared terrace only studio No.4 has own private part is the most private in terms of the terrace.*Studios are on the top floor of the house.*Each studio has own kitchenette, basically equipped and private bathroom/toilet. *All studios and Bedrooms are air conditioned . *Near the guesthouse we have three private parking places and a garage. To our guests we offer breakfast for extra charge on their requests as well transfer from/to airport also for extra charge.Wi-Fi connection is available free of charge.*you are welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Stankovich Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing