We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't hold reservations...”
Review of Rooms Ivo

Rooms Ivo
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooms Ivo
Ranked #278 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Doesn't hold reservations...”
Reviewed July 21, 2007

No recommended...

We recently stayed here for two non-consecutive nights. The location was just outside the city walls to old Dubrovnik. Ivo picked us us from the airport for about the same rate as a taxi would charge.

If you email/call Ivo months/weeks/etc. in advance he doesn't actually hold a room for you. The first night we were staying there we called him the day before and asked him to pick us up from the airport. I got the impression that this was the only reason there was a room waiting for us. (Note: We had reconfirmed our reservations more than once via email). We told him we would be back in two days as originally reserved (we went to the island of Mljet - it's lovely - you should go and stay at Soline6/Eco-Apartments [--]) and he said to call him again to re-re-reconfirm (yes, this would be the 3rd possibly 4th confirmation). We told him we wouldn't be able to call but to please hold the room for us - he insisted we call anyway. Then when we did call he didn't answer.

Anyway he had agreed to pick us up from the ferry dock and thankfully he did. However once he picked us up he told us he didn't have any rooms available and that we would be staying at his aunt's place nearby. The other place was nearby so we didn't really mind so we went to the new location. Then his aunt wasn't home - and he didn't have the key... nso we sat and waited - backpacks and all. But then she happend to show up and gave him the key. He opened the room and a young british woman screamed with surprise inside. Yup - the room had already been rented out to someone else. We sat in the kitchen and we heard him ask when she had checked in and when she was leaving. She told him she had checked in two nights ago and had agreed to stay for 3 nights... he then came to us and said that she was overstaying her original reservation because "everybody always stays longer" but not to worry (she obviously was NOT over-staying!). So we sat around as he made phone calls around town and finally took us to a third location run by this older woman who obviously had her own rooms for rent and after we got our room we could hear them arguing (we think) probably about how much money they would each get. Anyway this woman was very sweet but didn't really speak English.

So in conclusion everything was okay in the end - but Ivo definitely does not honor reservations. In addition I think when people reserve for "3 nights" I think he's confused and might think that means 3 days/2 nights... I can't really figure it out because the whole time we were staying with him he kept talkign about how everyone loves him and always stays extra long so he doesn't have rooms available,,,

I wish I had someplace else in Dubrovnik to refer people to because if I went back I definitely would NOT stay here! Also if you have strong feelings about personal hygiene then he may not be the man for you...

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank KgFromSb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Ivo and his wife met us at the bus station, and made us feel very welcome. We were given the room without the balcony and ensuite bathroom at first, which wasn't a big problem but we had booked months in advance for the room with an ensuite bathroom and balcony. Ivo was very apologetic and we got the room we'd originally booked the next day.

You are basically staying in this family’s house so it's a bit strange at first, but we got used to the sounds of the kids and the dog around the house. The room was clean and for the price we can't complain. Towards the end of our stay we did think it was a little bit rude but he wanted to show someone round our room while we were still in it! We saw the funny side though.

One thing we weren't so sure about was the tour we did with Ivo. We asked Ivo if he could take us on a tour but we were too late to book so he kindly offered to take us to Split (as he happened to be going there that day with his family). We spent 4 hours in Split and on the way back he said he'd charge us £80 (800 kuna) rather than £140 (1400 kuna) which is what he'd normally charge since he was already going there - we thought it was a bit steep but maybe we're just cheapskates!

All in all we had a fantastic time in Dubrovnik, the location is ideal and the hosts were very friendly; I just don’t think this kind of accommodation would appeal to everyone – if you need your privacy, peace and quiet I wouldn’t choose to stay here but if you’re looking for a cheap place to stay that’s close to everything, this is where you should stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcoo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

My sister and I stay with Ivo, his wife Vesna and his family in May and had a fantastic time. Ivo is one of the most positive people we've ever met and he really made our time in Dubrovnik a special experience. We stayed in the balcony room with the ensuite bathroom which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. The location of Ivo's rooms is perfect - just a few minutes and you're inside the walls of Dubrovnik.

We did two tours with Ivo, one to Kotor and one to the island of Korcula both of which I recommend. The beauty of going on a tour with Ivo is that you can stop wherever you want and he knows all of the best places to go. And you get to eat a home-cooked meal by Vesna (the Julia Roberts of Croatia) which is delicious.

Dubrovnik is an beautiful place, and you'll enjoy your trip even more if you stay with Mr Ivo and family - and you'll have plenty of laughs.

  • Liked — the host, Ivo and his family and the location
  • Disliked — we loved everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide_sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We met Ivo at the bus station in Dubronik, and he offered us an apartment within the walls, with A/C, for about $80US/night. He gave us a ride into the city, and the apartment was perfect. 1 bedroom with bath, and a small kitchen and living room area. It also had a small balcony. It was exceptionally clean, the bed was comfortable, the kitchen looked new, and it was right above Konoba Marco Polo, a recommended restaurant just off of the main square. We stayed in June, which isn't high season, but I would expect to pay much for for such a nice place - over $100 at least. Definitely a good choice!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a/c in bedroom only
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We stayed with Ivo in early May. He was very responsive when booking and offered to collect us from the airport for €20. We would recommend taking this offer if you have awkward suitcases to carry, or have a natural suspicion of taxi-drivers worldwide. Ivo was already waiting for us at the airport and texted us so that we knew he was there. You couldn’t really miss anyone at Dubrovnik airport anyway.

His house is in an excellent location and some of the rooms have a view directly across towards the old town, 2 minutes walk to the nearest gate. Our room had a balcony with lots of geraniums and herbs. The room was not new as Ivo himself admitted, but was clean and large. Ivo was an excellent host and did not just tell us what we needed to know, but also made us feel welcome in his home. We will definitely stay with Ivo again when we return to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank znm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

We stayed with Ivo and his family in his excellent good value for money rooms (literally) a stones throw from the historic city walls.

This is a not a place for those who wish to be pampered by the five star hotel experience but then neither is it a five star price. This is a good value for money experience in a very convenient location with a most considerate and knowledgeable host. You actually share his home with his family but never feel like you are intruding.

Ivo also arranged for us to visit Mostar, and Kotor, Budva, and Bar in Montenegro. These were excellent and informative day-trips and should strongly be considered by anyone who is staying in Dubrovnik for more than a few days.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

My wife and I spent Christmas holiday in Dubrovnik with Ivo and his family. The room was very nice and comfortable and was located right across the street from the old town city walls. We had limited time in Dubrovnik, and we wanted to make several day trips to nearby areas such as Kotor, Sarejavo, and Mosta. We were unable to organize suitable trips with local travel agencies, but Mr. Ivo was able to accomodate our needs, and we saw everything that we wanted to see. Mr. Ivo was a fantastic tour guide. In addition, we had several wonderful meals prepared by Ivo's wife Vestna. Overall, our trip was excellent in large part due to our wonderful accomodations.

-Josh and Tutti

  • Liked — friendly family, nice room, very honest
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank bogusdickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
0.1 mi away
Old Town Sunset Apartments
Old Town Sunset Apartments
#287 of 490 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Apartments Olaf
#257 of 490 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Studios Loncarica
#173 of 490 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Gloria
Villa Gloria
#23 of 174 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments Sara & Nora
Apartments Sara & Nora
#157 of 490 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms Ivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms Ivo

Property: Rooms Ivo
Address: Hvarska 46, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 490 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rooms Ivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing