We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Villa Glavic is actually part of the Hotel Argentina, which itself sits on the rocks above the bay and offers fabulous views over the gorgeous little gem that is old Dubrovnik. Guests at the Villa are welcome to use the facilities of the hotel, such as the private beach, swimming pool, restaurant etc. It is a short walk (10 minutes) into the centre of old Dubrovnik.

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, our rooms were clean, traditional and well presented and we had wonderful views across the bay from the balcony of our room.

Evening bar service on the large hotel terrace is a bit hit and miss, and we didn't have a lot of luck in terms of securing pre-dinner gin and tonica, but the breakfasts are very good, and it was lovely to sit outside in the morning sun with lovely fresh pastries, fruit etc.

The old town itself is just glorious - small and perfectly formed - and can really be seen in a day. The walk around the city walls is a must, and takes around 40 minutes (but if you are infirm, beware; there are quite a lot of stairs to climb at the start of the walk).

There are loads of outside cafes and places to eat plus some stalls selling the most delicious ice cream. Pretty much all the waiting staff we met spoke fluent English and were pleasant and welcoming. Great pizzas and cocktails at Restaurant Dubravka.

We took the cable car up to the war museum, which was worth it for the view, and also informative - via old BBC newsreels - of the historic perspective of the war with Serbia. We found it hard to believe that in very recent history the rest of Europe simply sat back and watched the destruction of this bewitching little town, despite it's classification as a UNESCO world heritage site.

Having totally rebuilt the bombed out buildings, and returned the streets to their former glory, this is once again a peaceful, restful, beautiful and very special destination, and the only clues as to its recent problems are the maps strategically placed throughout the city which pinpoint the location of every shell that landed on a roof or paving slab, and which serve primarily to demonstrate the justified and palpable Croatian anger at the injustice of it.

We took a boat to the pretty little seaside town of Cavtat, which was a lovely, peaceful place to wander around, and a peaceful break from the bustle of Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front of the villa if you want sea views and a view of Dubrovnik old town.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and writing such a nice review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with our staff and facilities.
Thank you for reccomending us and we hope that you will be our guest again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 75 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Villa Glavic is, just as some other neighbouring 'villa's' part of the Grand Villa Argentina. The Glavic rooms are located just across the road from Argentina's main entrance (which is located on the 6th floor!). You have to climb some stairs in order to reach the Glavic. The rooms are well equiped, with all the usual (four or five star) amenities. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but bath room is quite spacious (at the least in our room). The hotel is just a short walk (about 10 minutes; alongside a fairly busy one-way street) from the beautiful historic center of Dubrovnik (UNESCO-site), which makes for an excellent location. The views from the breakfast area (outside) are stunning, with views over the old town, and a small island just opposite to the hotel. Quite often you will see cruise ships floating in the waters close to the hotel. All facilities of the Argentina are open to visitors of Glavic. This also applies to the pleasant swimming pool area at the sea side. To reach this, you have to use the large elevator (the small doesn't go there), and then walk through a tunnel.
I think Glavic is an excellent alternative to the Argentina: same facilities and location, but generally a bit cheaper. Also, I noticed that some rooms in the Argentina are poorly located (e.g., overlooking the breakfast area). A few critical comments: the staff (reception and restaurant) is not particularly friendly or communicative. In addition, there is a school nearby. This means that at certain times, you will hear school kids making a lot of noise outside (while waiting for the bus; the bus stop is located just in front of the Glavic, which is actually also quite convenient for the hotel guests).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DPHB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear DPHB_12,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write review about our hotel.
We are very glad to see that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed just one night but loved it. We were blown away by the view of the old (Dubrovnik) town walls and a shimmering blue Adriatic Sea.
The pool/beach area is very nice, functional and clean. What I particularly liked about it is that it was fairly crowded but quiet - everyone was on their best behavior!
The hotel service was excellent (free valet, dorman etc). Our room was small (by comparison to a standard hotel room) but nicely decorated and the bathroom was top notch/brand new. The place is not cheap but it was well worth it. The location is also convenient for a short 10-minute walk to the old town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NVP V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_ALH, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear NVP V,

Thank you for choosing Grand Villa Argentina and writing review about our hotel!
We are glad to see that you liked your stay in our hotel, room, facilites and staff.
We hope that you will stay with us againin the future!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paola V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank jgavir21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: alles, nur kein Standardzimmer
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guenther_Vienna1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvinaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVA_Dubrovnik, General Manager at Villa Glavic Dubrovnik, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#15 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#33 of 68 in Dubrovnik
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#34 of 68 in Dubrovnik
89 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
596 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Glavic Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Glavic Dubrovnik

Address: Frana Supila 14b, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $119 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Glavic Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our sea-view villa in Dubrovnik was part of the Grand Villa Argentina complex, and it is embedded with the same spirit. Historic and architecturally striking, the three-floor Villa Glavić offers complete privacy, with spectacular views over the Adriatic Sea and across to Dubrovnik Old Town. Within walking distance of the ancient city walls, its premium location in the most exclusive enclave in Dubrovnik offers complete tranquillity. Villa Glavić combines the personalised touch of a boutique property with the five-star service of a world-class hotel. With only 21 elegant rooms, guests staying here have complementary access to all of Grand Villa Argentina's facilities across the road, while being able to retreat to peaceful luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Glavic Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing