We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful views imaginable”
Review of Sipa Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sipa Apartments
Ranked #80 of 496 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most beautiful views imaginable”
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (in October) at the Sipa Apartments. We were collected at Dubrovnik airport by our hosts and on arrival at our apartment we were welcomed with cold drinks and refreshments. The apartment, we stayed in apartment D, was comfortable, clean and spacious. But the star was the very large balcony with the most fantastic views. We enjoyed the 180 degrees sea views, also overlooking the island of Lokrum (be sure to visit this) the old town, and watching the boats come in. The balcony has all day sunshine (facing east-west) and is comfortably furnished, including a sun umbrella.

The apartment's owners, Bozo and Marija, are extremely helpful and charming and did everything possible to make our make our stay enjoyable. The steps, mentioned by most reviewers, can be a drag sometimes, but can be easily managed even by those who are not so young anymore (like us). We have no hesitation in recommending the Sipa Apartments to anyone

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Carole and I stayed in apartment C and feel Killiefan's 2007 review (see below) is spot-on. Lovely, charming owner and wife, with whom we shared some drinks upon our arrival and on one evening in our apartment - shame we forgot to put the vodka in the fridge beforehand, though!

The steps down to the old town can be exhausting (i.e. when travelling back to Sipa) but can be avoided by walking up and around (i.e. turn right when leaving the apartment complex) and we were both a lot fitter at the end of the week!

The nearby mini-market is very handy and the bars and restaurants in Dubrovnik generally offer good value but beware Gils Restaurant (near the Ploce Gates) where we had dinner on the terrace on our second night - for £170!!! We had great salads and pizzas in the restaurant by the old harbour and the Sky Bar down a side-street off the Stradun

Dubrovnik is one of the cleanest cities we have ever been to - no litter anywhere - and the locals are friendly and most of them speak excellent English.

Tips: (1) Croatia is very hot in July and August so go earlier or later if you can't bear 35C or more at times! (2) Make sure you visit the churches, cathedral etc. (3) Don't miss Cavtat or the nearby island of Lokrum - you can travel to and from both by boat from the old harbour (4) the water in the Onofrio fountains is safe to drink and very refreshing - you can use it to top up your water bottles!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteC-CaroleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Fantastic apartment. With in walking distance of the old town.

Everything you needed. Very nice hosts.
Would definatley return again.

Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

From initial booking through to our departure the owners were lovely to deal with and made a point of making sure they knew everyone’s name and that there was always a car parking space available for us…Bozo (?sorry if the spelling is wrong) and his wife are friendly and helpful people. The apartment (A) was spacious, immaculate and the balcony afforded us beautiful views of the islands and of the old town. As mentioned there are many steps between the apartment and the beach and old town…..but that is the case nearly everywhere in Dubrovnik…..and you need to go up that many steps to get those fantastic views!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in these apartments and will be back again!!!

  • Liked — Fantastic views, spacious living area, helpful owners
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We just returned from spending 4 nights in Apartment A of Sipa Apartments. It was just what we expected: a nice 2 BR 2bath apartment, within walking distance from the old city, near a small grocery store. The decor is nothing fancy, but the owners were very nice and helpful and the apartment contained all sorts of useful things, including drying racks for clothes, beach umbrellas (which we didn't use due to the cold weather), a washing machine etc. We didn't mind the walk to the old city at all, and went there usually twice a day; once in the morning to site see, and once later in the evening to eat. The view from the balcony is wonderful, and the cost was great, especially compared to what hotels in and around the city are charging. It was just right for our family of 4.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank w0rldtrv1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Sipa Apartments in June 2007. We had no complaints at all. Very clean and the rooms looked exactly like the pictures on their website. Owner was very friendly. The view from the balcony was incredible. Compared to the price of nearby hotels in Dubrovnik, we felt Sipa was a great deal. It is a little bit of walk to the city, but nothing too bad. There is a store within walking distance of Sipa if you need any groceries while visiting. We highly recommend Sipa!!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank fkmich99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We stayed in apartment C, which is the smallest of the 3 apartments. It still had a large bedroom and a living dining area that was more than adequate. The terrace outside is about 10 metres long and is about 1.5 metres wide, with access to the gardens at the front and side. Our views of the old town were somewhat blocked by the olive tree and other apartments, but we had a perfect view of Lokram and all the boats, big and small, which sailed past every moment of everyday.

On arrival, we were met by Bozo, the Technical Director, he is a character. He was a Civil Engineer and was in charge of rebuilding the city and surroundings after both the earthquake of 1979 and the war of 1991-1995. He edited a highly technical book about the renovation of the city. His son, Stijepo, is the Commercial Director and you will probably deal with him when you are booking.

Dubrovnik is glorious, it was 25 years since we had visited and we were also there shortly after the 1979 earthquake and I was surprised when Bozo showed me the damage it had caused. The walk from the apartments is exhilarating, the old city is in view all the way; the hills of Lapad and Babin Kuk are also clearly visible. The ominous presence of Mount Srd, looms over the city. The cable car, we had ridden to the mountain top in 1982, is no longer operational. It is had to come to terms with the fact that within a decade of our previous visit, the citizens if Dubrovnik were being shelled from there.

To get to the city you go down steps or you walk along the road and then you go down steps. No matter, it gives you an appetite. We usually went down the first set of steps; there are only about 160 of them. They bring you out across from Grand Villa Argentina. There are further steps down to the Excelsior, but there are over 190 of them. In evenings, we continued down the hill taking the sweeping, more gently sloping steps, which brought us out just along from Ploce gates.

Walking through the gates takes you into scenes of wonder and beauty, totally at odds with its recent past. The walls soar above you as you wind down past the old port and into the Stradun with its lofty Bell Tower. As you look along the Stradun, towards Pile gates, Sponza Palace is on your right. It is imperative that you visit the Memorial Room for the Dubrovnik Defenders. This was one of the most humbling experiences of my life; it is heartrending to think that such atrocities can be carried out in modern day Europe.

Enjoy Dubrovnik, we certainly did. We loved the pride of the Croats; their city is immaculate and they are genuinely happy to help you. Jump on the local buses; we visited Babin Kuk, but it was shut and our old hotel, from 1979, in Lapad, is sadly no longer there. Talk to the locals; they all speak English, but the odd hvala and dobro jutro goes down a treat.

We tried many excellent restaurants at night, our favourites were Hotel Orhan and Café Rosarj

We had glorious weather while were there, we walked the walls, drank and ate in the bars and restaurants, sailed around Lokram and sat in Buza bar, but our highlight was often sitting in our secluded terrace with a pivo and a kruskovac, in late afternoon, watching the world drift by peacefully.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Killiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
#40 of 68 in Dubrovnik
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#34 of 68 in Dubrovnik
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#33 of 68 in Dubrovnik
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rooms Raic
Rooms Raic
#12 of 496 in Dubrovnik
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartments Novak Dubrovnik
Apartments Novak Dubrovnik
#102 of 496 in Dubrovnik
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Apartments
Sea View Apartments
#170 of 496 in Dubrovnik
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipa Apartments

Property: Sipa Apartments
Address: Petra Kreshimira IV 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 496 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sipa apartments offer five four-star apartments in a spacious new building surrounded by garden of Mediterranean sub-tropic vegetation and located right above Hotel Argentina and Villa Sheherezade. Each apartment has a large terrace with a priceless view, its own parking space and is seismically protected. Apartments are located in a peaceful area within 10 minutes walking distance from the Old Town of Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sipa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing