We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Smodlaka
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lero(Dubrovnik)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamara Dubrovnik(Dubrovnik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Apartments Milic(Dubrovnik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villa Doda(Dubrovnik)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ivka(Dubrovnik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
22
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrixos libertas hotelfriendly hoststop floorold townterraceaccommodationapartmentsea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 30 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want to be close to Dubrovnik's hustle and bustle but be able to retreat to the calm of your private oasis, Villa Smodlaka is the prefect place for you. The old town is a quick stroll away along the coastline, a rocky beach right beneath the villa. The owners, Marija and her husband, created a delightful environment. The view is simply spectacular and we almost didn't want to leave our terrace, surrounded by beautiful gardens maintained with care, with native trees and plants. True, a large luxury hotel is nearby, but we were not bothered with loud music or guests.
We stayed in both Bougainvillea (bigger) and Oleander apartments, and both were very tastefully decorated and equipped with modern amenities. Both the traditional and authentic exterior and the charming interior decor are becoming for the environment.
Finally, the owners are warm, charming and helpful yet discrete and if you are lucky, you might even score some of Marija's treats! (Based on what we sampled, I can only regret she doesn't run a restaurant too!)
It ticked all the boxes for me and whenever we are back in Dubrovnik, we won't look any further because Villa Smodlaka truly feels like a home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuskaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have been spending part of our Summer vacations in Dubrovnik since 1967,and have been staying at Villa Smodlaka in the apartment Oleander for the past ten years.
The Oleander is a one large room apt. with a wall equipped with a complete kitchen;it is simply but confortably furnished and equipped with AC,CD-DVD-recorders,Satellite TV,wi-fi and even a small library of books in different languages.
It is situated on the ground floor and opens on to a diffuse garden rich of trees,plants,fruit,flower,herbs where is wonderful to relax or read.From its terraces you can enjoy stunning view of the Adriatic,or sunbathe,dine and, at night, look at the starry sky.
A staircase built in the rock connects the villa to a small pebble beach washed by a crystal clear sea.A 10 minutes'drive by bus or a 20 minutes' walk take you to the old city.
Nearby there are several food shops,a few restaurant and a pharmacy.
Marjia,the owner, and her husband Jovan are delightful people to talk with and always ready to offer help,advice,and suggestions when required.
We will be at Villa Smodlaka once again next year.

Room Tip: The apt. Oleander is ideal for 2 persons.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfredva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

If you want to wake up in the morning with a spectacular view of the adriatic coast... this is the place to sleep over. If you want to be closed to the beach and the warm sea, this is the perfect place for swimming and laying down. If you want to be closed to the beautiful old town of Dubrovnik, this is the place from where you`ll have a nice promenade. And not least, if you want to get a warmly receiving this is the place to come to. I know every corner of the villa so I can tell that Maria is not only a proper host but also an artist, for the manner she decorates her apartments. She and her husband will certainly do their best to have a pleasant stay in Dubrovnik!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacarescu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for a week in the bougainvillea apartment and would highly recommend both the accommodation and commend the hosts for creating such a lovely holiday environment. Marija, her husband and mother are friendly, accommodating and charming, always on hand to help without being intrusive.
The apartment is decorated by Marija's lovely, summery artworks and the fresh, personal decor really suits the location and climate. The beautiful shuttered windows look out to the sea from every room - it is a real pleasure to be brushing your teeth to such a view!
We spent many hours on the terrace overlooking the sea, lying in the deck chairs or lolling on the giant swing lounge listening to the waves. It takes 2 minutes to get to the rocky cove just below the terrace and 5 mins down stairs to a beautiful beach (the restaurant on the beach serves fantastic food) both with gorgeously clear water. It is a 15 minute walk into the old town of Dubrovnik however there are local buses if you're feeling lazy. Marija told us about the green markets in the old port (a 15 min walk - we were able to easily and inexpensively stock up for the week) and offered help should we want to take any day trips (we only managed Lokrum this time but will be venturing further afield on a return visit).
There was a negative comment about check out times and payment from a previous guest however i must clarify that we found the check-in/out times perfectly reasonable and payment options were easy to manage - having stayed at private rental apartments all over europe we found neither to be nusual or difficult. We had a wonderfully relaxing and easy going week and would certainly pass on details on staying here to friends and would most certainly return ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samanthalondon_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

A great place to stay - we enjoyed two weeks in apartment Bourgonvilla which suited our family of 2 adults and 2 children (4 and 7 years old) perfectly.

The house is situated on a cliff very peacefully on the end of a small road. You have a beautiful view from the large and furnitured terasse - nights are easily enjoyed here. The neighbour is a large hotel - however, don't worry, no it does not affect your stay in any unpleasant way.

The landlady and her mother - both very friendly and warm - live in the house, You feel very welcome and you are close to good advice on what to see and where to go.

The apartment is fully equiped.

Five minutes down the stairs you are on the local (stony) beach and 15 minutes walk from the old city (5 minutes walk from the bus that goes every 5-10 minutes to the old town - nice with tired children.).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croatiajuly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews