We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

We have just returned from Croatia and spent four days at the Hotel Uvala and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We can definately recommend it. We had a sea view room, which was spacious with a comfortable balcony. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Great staff and cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank housewife29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    181
    61
    15
    9
See reviews for
35
269
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

We've just come back from Dubrovnik where we did enjoyed our one-week stay at the Uvala Hotel in the Lapad Bay. Perfect time to visit as the weather was warm 26-28C but not too hot. In general the staff was very nice. The hotel is well located in the Lapad area, close to numerous restaurants. The bus service that goes to the Old Town runs smooth as clockwork. I would recommend that you book a room with a seaview as they are much bigger, have a bath and the view on the Bay is far better than the Hill view. We had to pay an extra £80 per room per week for the privilege but it is definitely worthwhile. Although the hotel was comfortable and very clean we thought it was quite over-rated to be in a 4-star category which might explain why this was good value for money.

The breakfast buffet was good but I would not really recommend to have dinner at the restaurant. Good food restaurants are quite difficult to find in Dubrovnik so expect to eat some fairly basic food while you are there. Restaurants that I would recommend are Fellini (Italian food in Lapad), Cafe Agora for light lunches on the Lapad Promenade and Proto inside the City Walls.

The reception will book excursions for you if you wish to. I would recommend the excursion to Montenegro, the visit of Kotor is definitely worth it and if you like great scenaries, altitude and narrow hill roads you should go for it, it's great. Remember to pack some sandwiches with you though!

  • Liked — The hotel views, swimming pools and hotel cleaniness
  • Disliked — A bit too minimalist
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ValerieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

We travelled with our 2 year old son to Dubrovnik and stayed at the Hotel Uvala. This isnt a large hotel and is very welcoming & the cleanest hotel Ive ever stayed in. At first we were given a hill view room and found it small and dark. The cots are large and this didnt leave much room for our little boy to play while we were in the room.The bathrm is very small with just a toilet,sink & shower but after speaking to reception (Mario - was fantastic) we were given a much larger room with sea view. It was lovely and spacious & had a spa bath, balcony & minibar (fridge was handy to use with a young child).They did this with no extra charge or quibbling. The maid was superb. Obviously helped being at the start of the season and not fully booked when we arrived.The hotel soon filled up during the week though.We were disappointed that the outdoor pool was not filled up & the air con had not been switched on.They explained that this was down to the recent spout of bad weather theyd had.It was very hot during our stay & the air con soon got put on.The pool was being prepared for use as our hotel came to and end.It didnt matter at all though because the indoor pool was great.It was lovely & warm & rarely used as the hotel is small & guests were always out & about in enjoying the sights & the good weather.Made it perfect for our little boy who loves swimming. We couldnt get him out! The food was lovely - something for everyone including children, the staff fantastic (especially with our little boy - they really looked after him).My husband had a Swedish Massage in the Wellness Centre & really enjoyed it.Book in advance though cos they get booked up.The pebble beach a couple of minutes walk away was lovely & the water very clean & crystal clear.There is a little park that our son played football in, and a small plaground along the pedestrianised promenade.There was also a childrens place next to the playground with outdoor bouncy castle slide, trampolines & ball pit for 10Kuna for 7minutes. Didnt use it but good to see there was stuff for kids.Bus service into town very efficient & conveniently located right outside - 8kuna per ticket (about 80p).We intended to hire a car but didnt need to as there was enough to see & do either walking or using buses.The local ferry to Lopad was worth the trip.Only 35Kuna (bout £3.50) return each. Takes 50minutes & is well worth the trip if you want a sandy beach & change of scenery.You get the ferry for Gruz the local port - walkable from the hotel and takes about 25 mins.There is also a handy supermarket nearby that you could buy just about anything in. It did alot of familar makes. For those travelling with children it sold a good selection of nappies etc. Pampers were nearly twice the price though but worth knowing incase you dont take enough supplies. The downside to the holiday was that it was a little difficult to get about sometimes with a buggy.You have to lift it onto buses as there are only steps up, this was difficult as I am also nearly 6mths pregnant. The area is hilly in places & some paths are not best for pushing a buggy along but we managed. The hotel didnt seem to be designed with children or disabled in mind but we managed. For example, although they have lifts there were still always steps to go up or down. Very frustrating but again we managed. It wouldnt put me off going again though. Overall a superb holiday. Would recommend this hotel & the Lapad area of Dubrovnik. It has it all.

  • Liked — The views & location but be sure to book a sea view room to avoid disappointment
  • Disliked — Difficulty getting around with a buggy & outdoor pool not is use when we visited
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RoeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

Having just returned from a three night stay at the Uvala I would highly recommend it. From the moment we arrived we were treated to a really warm welcome and felt very valued. The location is superb. We had a room with balcony overlooking the most amazing view. Staff were wonderful and attended to every need. Reception excellent with staff who could not do enough for us. The Wellness centre with the indoor heated pool overlooking the sea was perfect for our needs. The large terrace leading from the dining room was the perfect setting for mid morning coffee. This hotel is kept impeccably clean. I cannot understand the few negative comments by disgruntled guests on this site and can only put them down to pedantic thinking. It certainly was not our experience. The bus service right outside the door to the Old Town was always on time and regular. Lots of lovely restaurants close by. Here's two guests that will certainly return. A four star hotel like this at such great rates was indeed a terrific find. My advice is to ignore the grumpy reviews and go with the positive ones. We did and struck lucky.
Brid & Yvonne Dublin

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No tea/coffee making facilities but this was minor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank dublinbrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2007

While I was planning my trip for this coming summer, hotel Uvala came to my mind and I decided to contact them again and try to set something up for my vacation. I definitely decided to go back to Dubrovnik and my hotel choice will be hotel Uvala again.
I felt very good there, the staff was very friendly, especially waiters in the restaurants, food was great and I was pleasantly surprised that they had macrobiotics food in their menu, not a lot of hotels do. The staff at the reception desk was very helpful with all the information we needed as far as getting around the city, choice of the restaurants, etc. What I also liked is that the hotel was very close to the old city of Dubrovnik (only 15 min bus ride) and the bus station was just outside of the hotel as well as the taxi service. I also visited the wellness center with my boyfriend and my other two friends and we really had a great time. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank janeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#26 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#35 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing