We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel, well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good hotel, well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I visited Hotel Uvala the last week in October, I believe it closes on the 27th October for the season. The hotel is clean, well run and the food is very good with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. The staff are friendly and professional in work. The beds are comfortable and furnishings good. The TV has the usual CNN but no other English speaking programmes during the time we were there.
We stayed in Room 403 facing the wooded area at the back, you needed the lights on during the day but we had sun on the balcony up until 3pm ish. Quite a good choice as it happened as the rooms at the front of the hotel facing the bay don't appear to get the sun at all.
As previously mentioned on other reviews the bus stops outside the hotel and the walk to the bar area is around 5-10 minutes.
We didn't bother with the Thomson trips as they are just too expensive, instead we used the Alfa Travel Agent shop next to the Cashpoint about 50m down the road from the hotel, on the right hand side. Their trips to Mostar and Montenegro were half the price of Thomson's and were very good. I can recommend the full day 3 Island trip with dinner at the boat captains house is well worth the 200 Kuna charged by Alfa Travel even for the meal alone cooked to order by his mother.
Would I return ... yes I would, a very enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel, that way you get the sun for part of the day. The rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sedith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you were content with your stay in our hotel as well with a food selection and additional services we offer.
Dubrovnik as a destination is very interesting to visit in any time of year, therefore please do come and visit us again.
Best regards,
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    178
    59
    14
    9
See reviews for
34
264
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel two nights. My ocean front room was very clean. It was great to sit out on the balcony and also to see the ocean while laying in bed. Easy 10 minute bus ride to the old town and the staff at the front desk was very helpful. The free breakfast was average at best. The food was a bit bland and it would be nice to offer fresh orange juice.

My only complaint was that in October, the area was very quiet at night (which might be a positive for some) and there were not options for getting a drink in the late evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
A guest satisfaction is our top priority.
With friendly and helpful staff, along with a wide food selection, we will do our best to maintain a quality stay for all our guests.
Hopefully see you again in our hotel.
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days before a longer stay further up the coast. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is excellent - there's a bus every 20 mins to the old town which stops very close to the hotel and the beach is about 5 mins away on foot. The hotel offers a buffet for breakfast and dinner - both were very nice with a good range of options available. The Wellness centre offers a good range of relaxing treatments and I enjoyed a massage and facial combo at a very good price. The restaurant/bar area has a lovely view out over the bay and with the outdoor pool just there provides a very pleasant place to while away an hour or two. I'd definitely go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for all your kind words for hotel staff and for hotel overall.

We are very glad that you were satisfied with your stay and we hope to see you in hotel Uvala again.

Best regards,

Pero,
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff were friendly, however, the heated indoor swimming pool, wasn't, the sun beds were old, the bathrooms new and clean, however the bedroom décor dated. the meals of the half board were ok but nothing exceptional. No entertainment in the hotel, not even music at the very small bar. All drinks with meals had to be paid for even water. mostly guests were just passing through so only stayed a couple of nights. TV in room but not a lot in English, no entertainment around hotel except the local cinema, which was very modern and films in English with Croatian subtitles. The bus service into the Dubrovnik old town was just outside the hotel and ran to time and good value for money. Good for just a few days break but not for your main holiday.

Room Tip: The road leads to a dead end but there is still a lot of buses and delivery trucks during the day, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190811Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

the "heart and soul" of our hotel is our staff and we are very happy that you were satisfied with them.

All the suggestions and comments are truly appreciated and will help us to improve in the future.

Hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero
hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, Berkshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week in Dubrovnik, staying in this great hotel. We upgraded to the sea view, which is well worth it, as the views from the balcony are awesome. The views in the evening were magically too with all the buildings across the bay all lit up and reflecting in the sea. Our room was spacious and kept very clean by the hotel staff. Food was very good with lots of choices available for breakfast and the evening dinner buffet. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Very easy to get into Dubrovnik on the no. 4 bus which stopped right outside the hotel, going every 15 mins. Bus ride took about 10 mins, and was never overcrowded. All in all a fantastic stay at this hotel, and will defiantly get back, as Dubrovnik is a wonderful place to visit. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cazziebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

it is a pleasure to read these great comments about our staff and hotel in general.

We are glad that our food selection met your expectations.

We are very proud of your recommendation for our hotel.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at the hotel but spent a day in the Spa, highly recommend it. Lovely service and very friendly. The steam room wasn't working and apparently hadn't been for about two months. This was a shame as that was an attraction of going. It was clean and an excellent massage. We were allowed to use the pool upstairs and also they didn't mind us having a bottle of fizz poolside. Thank you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

although you haven't spend your vacation in our hotel thank you for using our spa and wellness services. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your visit and staff kindness.

Thank you again and we hope to see you sometimes in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Excellent location with lovely views from front facing rooms. Housekeeping service to rooms friendly and efficient. Breakfasts offer good choice. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Hotel pool area good for relaxing after sightseeing though not spacious and can be noisy as close to the main road. Bus service to old town from outside hotel runs on time and allows you to visit old town at night to eat and enjoy the town when quieter. Eating in the Lapad area can be a hit or a miss so choose carefully. Lovely walk along the peninsula with great views.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing and on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

thank you for all the kind words for our hotel staff and hotel in general.

We truly appreciate your opinion and we hope to see you in our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#38 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#36 of 66 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#27 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing