We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week half board”
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A week half board”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel was recommended by the travel agent and it was perfect. The view from our balcony over Lapad Bay with the mountains as backdrop was awesome. The food in the hotel was so good we did not even think of eating out for a change. It was buffet breakfast and dinner but the choices were amazing - something to suit all tastes, meat dishes, fish dishes, vegetarian dishes plus wonderful salads, breads and fruit. The staff in the hotel were excellent as well. Very friendly and helpful. All in all a memorable holiday plus of course the old city of Dubrovnik was only 15 minutes away by bus and the bus stop was right outside the hotel and the buses ran every 15 minutes from 6 in the morning till 2 the following morning. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: All rooms have Air con so ask for one wit a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very happy that you chose hotel Uvala for your vacation in beautiful city of Dubrovnik.

Guest satisfaction is the most important thing for us. Your great and positive comments about hotel, food choices, and especially hotel staff make us very proud.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    187
    68
    16
    9
See reviews for
37
279
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My sister and I arrived an early hot Sunday morning from Medjugorje and were ready to relax after our pilgrimage!
It is clear that the Hotel Staff prioritise the comfort and safety of its guests. Each member of Staff was extremely attentive. The ladies in the restaurant were particularly efficient and helpful. The Manager should be especially proud of the Staff. The rooms are lovely, meticulously clean, spacious and cool with great sea views. The food is excellent and both evening meal and breakfast are akin to a feast, as much as you might want to make of it.
This is a lovely hotel, busy yet pleasantly quiet when you just want those days to relax.
Very much recommended!
Thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

your opinion is very important to us and very proud of these great comments about our hotel staff.

Thank you and we hope that you will return to our hotel.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRID
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel enjoys a modern interior design with free wifi in the reception area and free internet (unfortunately only with cable) in the room. The swimming pool (15m long, 7m wide) lies in the sun and offers a partial view of the sea. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Mario, the receptionist quickly arranged reservations at the best clubs, recommended bars and restaurants, as well as other hot tips. Bus tickets (about 12 Kuna) can be bought at the reception. Taxi to the airport costs about 230 kuna.
The breakfast buffet is extensive, with fruits, cereals, rolls, puff pastry, scrambled eggs, sausages, hams & cheese etc. Freshly squeezed orange juice must be ordered separately. A la carte food is delicious. I recommend the octopus salad, Pag cheese (in Croatian, Paški sir, a specialty), the red seafood risotto, spaghetti with seafood or a fresh fish.
The gravel beach is across the street (you just go through the Hotel Vis). Sandy beaches are scarce in Dubrovnik city, but the water is crystal clear. The Lapad Bay is good for swimming and if you want to enjoy the sunset on the beach you can go to the other side of the bay. At the beach you can rent pedal boats, jet skis,etc. There is also a large floating water castle for children to climb. Approx. 10-minute walk from the hotel is the dive center Blue Planet (http://www.blueplanet-diving.com/de/) and a bar with a great view of the sunset (Hotel Dubrovnik Palace). Bus ride into the center takes 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms with views of Lapad Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadridMarco_polo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we are very glad to see that you were satisfied with your stay in hotel Uvala. It is a great pleasure that you enjoyed in our food and meal selection.

Thank you for your recommendations to your friends and family.

We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGS LYNN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Small hotel with great staff who really made you feel welcome. We stayed in room 415 on the top floor and the views were fantastic.
The room décor was a bit old but it was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The air con was also a god send and didn't switch off as soon as you left the room, which meant the room was beautifully cool on your return.
Breakfast was buffet and very good with lots of choice and good coffee. Dinner was also buffet and was OK but not great. After a week we were struggling to find something we wanted to eat that wasnt fried or some sort of stew. The wine and drinks in the hotel were also a bit pricey.
There are lots of restaurants close by so B&B would have been a better option than 1/2 board.
The swimming pool was a good size and was never crowded and the staff in the spa were happy to lend you towels at no cost.
Very good location with the bus stopping right outside to take you to Old town, be warned it gets very busy and you may have to stand for the 15min journey.
All in all a good hotel with fantastic staff.

Room Tip: get a sea view room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacnstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

We are very proud of all the positive comments you made about hotel staff.

We hope that you will return to our hotel again and will will make sure to be enjoyable one.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned home from Dubrovnik. We stayed at this hotel and had a super time. We only had breakfast which was very good so cannot comment on evening meal. The bus stopped right outside the hotel and was only a fifteen minute journey into the old city. You can also buy a day ticket at hotels or kiosks and this is valid for 24hours. Thank you Tripadvisor reviewers who told us to get a sea view. This is a must and well worth the money. Our room was on the fourth floor so we has a super view. Lovely pool. Staff were very good and helpful. Only problem was the wasps! Take a trip to Elaphiti Islands with Katarina cruise. You can book through the hotel. We had lunch at the captain's house! Super day! Croatia is a lovely country! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Fourth floor with a sea view! Balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

we wish you safe trip home and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed during your stay in hotel Uvala.

Next time when you come and visit we reccomend a wide verity od dinner specialites well known for our hotel.

Thank you for all the kind words for hotel staff and for Dubrovnik, Croatia as "IT" vacation destination.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated quite far from the old city (which is of course what one should visit when in Dubrovnik) but there is a bus stop just outside the hotel which takes you to there where bus #4 stops every 15 minutes or so (tickets are conveniently sold in the hotel).

The hotel is quite nice, not bad considering for Croatia I assume. We got a room with balcony and sea view on the 2nd floor which was spacious. Old TV with few channels (but who cares frankly when in holiday in a place like this). Not the newest hotel I've seen, but not bad.
The hotel in general felt and smelt clean, and the service was generally good. Breakfast was not bad either.

The pool is a good option, and was not at all crowded (even though hotel was fully booked). Finally the big advantage this hotel has is the proximity to Lapad Beach, literally 3 min walk.

Price seemed fair during high season - would certainly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ilbaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Mrs./Mr.,

your opinion is very important to us and thank you for taking your time and writing this review.

We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with overall stay in hotel Uvala and we will continue to be even better in the future.

Best regards,

Pero, hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a solidly good hotel. Good rooms, very chilly air con which has been fantastic in the baking heat. Sea view room with cute balcony. Mini bar fridge to chill your wine. Pricey mini bar though.

Easy transfer from airport. 35kn from airport to old town on shuttle bus which is timed to leave airport 30 mins after plane lands. Takes 30 mins to old town then change on to number 4 bus, 15kn and a 15 min journey to hotel.

Hotel staff, mixed, some on reception are brilliantly helpful, staff on bar a bit miserable and don't like serving drinks which is ...Erm...odd.

Overall good hotel and good location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingergirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel Uvala, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Madam / Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We do care about your opinion upon which we could eliminate all shortcomings and work on service improvement. The goal is better guest’s satisfaction.
Hopefully see you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Pero Bes, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#40 of 67 in Dubrovnik
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#26 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 67 in Dubrovnik
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 67 in Dubrovnik
2,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 67 in Dubrovnik
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing