We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uvala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Uvala
Ranked #27 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from our weeks stay at the Uvala. Everything exceeded our expectations and nothing was too much trouble for the Staff from Reception, Restaurant, Bar and last but not least the Chambermaid service.The variation and quality of the food was superb and the menu changed every evening. We visited a few of the Hotels in the area including the 5* hotels and we were glad we had chosen the Uvala. We will certainly be returning again.
To conclude, if anyone who had similar experience to us and has cause to complain, they must be used to standards in Buck. House.

Room Tip: We had a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    167
    55
    11
    7
See reviews for
31
242
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english. Beautiful view from the room. The beach (pebbles or concrete) was about two minutes walk away. We managed to get to the beach most days and laid on the concrete. Concrete beach might sound bad, but with a beach towel, it was comfortable enough and at least it meant you didn't get sand everywhere! The bay is beautiful and feels very safe to swim in and the water is so clear.

The immediate area in Lapad has plenty of bar/cafes. There is a Tomy supermarket about 5-10 mins walk. Lapad has a relaxing feel and is absolutely nothing like Blackpool like suggested on a previous review!

The bus service (no 4) was so convenient to get to the Old Town. As everyone else says, buy your bus tickets at the hotel desk, 24 kunas for a return trip (think it's 30 on the bus), bus stop is right outside and they run every 20 minutes. You simply put your ticket in the machine when you get on. Luckily the hotel is at the start of the bus route, as only after a few stops down the route, most of the seats were taken and the bus was rammed. It was also a bit of a scrum to get on the bus coming back out of Old Town to Lapad.

The only negative was the food. Breakfast was good, but the evening meal was just OK. There is plenty of choice and nothing wrong with the food (i.e. it is all cooked correctly). I think it is just a different taste in food. We always found something to eat and I wouldn't let it put you off booking this hotel unless you're really fussy with food. If you have eaten in hotels in Spain I would say it is similar.

We ventured into the freezing outdoor pool on our last day before realising that there was a warm indoor pool just around the corner that we could use! We had thought that the indoor pool was part of the spa complex.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prawny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just returned after a wonderful week in Dubrovnik,and the Uvala satisfied all our needs as a hotel.Though I would agree that the Uvala does not merit being classed as 4-star,for example it lacks a proper lounge,we personally could not fault our stay here.We usually use 3-star hotels in Croatia,most of these have been very good,but decided to upgrade to a 4-star.Booking with Thomson,we paid only a small supplement for a sea-view and paid only £60 more than we did for a 3-star in Dubrovnik in May this year.We were lucky enough to get a room on the top floor,giving us a simply stunning view over Uvala Lapad and up the Kolocepski Kanal to the islands and mountains.Though the room decor could do with brightening up,everything was very clean,towels changed daily.Room was spacious,as was bathroom and balcony,beds comfortable.Any noise from traffic did not disturb our sleep.I appreciated the bonus of shaving-mirror and safe(free of charge) for valuables.Quality of food was very good,though choice was not as great as in some larger Croatian hotels(to be expected in a hotel of only 51 rooms).The Uvalas small size actually gave it a more friendly and intimate feel!I actually liked the hotels exterior,which I believe is local limestone and not concrete!We could not fault the staff,always helpful,friendly and courteous.I must give thanks particularly to waitresses Marina and Paula,and Mario on reception.As for location,so easy to get around by local buses,the number 4 very close to the hotel and the 6 about 15 minutes away going to Dubrovnik old town.As the hotel faces north,there was no direct sunshine reaching our room,but to enjoy the sun,just go to the beaches on either side of the bay,Uvala Lapad,so close to the hotel.Did not use the pool,as the sea is much warmer.This was our 4th visit to Dubrovnik-we keep returning as there is so much to do and see here!Did not use Thomsons own trips as its so much cheaper using a local operator-most of the fish picnics available are very good value.Yes,though I agree that the Uvala may be limited compared with a true,large 4 -star,this did not in any way impair our enjoyment of a wonderful holiday.In my opinion,Croatia has an unbeatable combination of beautiful scenery,lovely old towns,history and culture,lovely beaches(though most are of pebbles rather than sand),and beautifully-clean and clear seas.As the weather was excellent,the lack of a lounge or gardens was not a handicap to us,we were usually out early and back late.

Room Tip: If with Thomson,pay the small supplement of £42 each for a sea-view.Rooms on top floor have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Really great place to stay, well priced and good value for money. Very modern style Hotel which maybe won't suite everyone's taste. Rooms were clean and tidy. Meals were well presented with breakfast being amazing. Good location with bus stop virtually 10 meters from the Hotel entance, no 4 takes you all the way to the Old City. Superb pools, one hot and one cold with a jacuzzi as well. Massage facilities available if required. Beach for swimming is just few steps down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NutsGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel was in a good location.
We requested a seaview room but were given one at the back of the hotel.
Staff were very pleasant.
The breakfast and evening buffet were poor.
The hotel was very clean but a bit tired.
Over all I wouldn't class this as a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Specify the room you want as the back rooms have no veiw at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Beautiful hotel near the beach. Bus and taxi is right in front of it. Staff is great and very pleasant. Spa and wellness centers are beyond imagination. Breakfast is also nice and you get quite a dinner in your room if u get hungry in the middle of the night. Love it :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teuta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Its all very concrete and steel , clean and functional, no garden or character as such. Staff good, room ok shower not bath. It's a close bus ride to Dubrovnik (no 4) and close ish access to the sea with a limited shingle beach as it were.
(We booked thru Newmarket holidays So you know it's a budget holiday, we always say never again but invariably do as they go from a local airport!)
the buffet style dinner was surprisingly good, breakfast ok pity there is only one tea/ coffee machine for the whole hotel at breakfast. No coffee or tea in room either pity. Wi Fi free in reception area
Really it's a decent 3 1/2 star hotel 4 star is pushing it. Would not wish to return particularly as there are no defining qualities but it's perfectly ok for a week

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marauder65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#35 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Park
Grand Hotel Park
#25 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#33 of 65 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#55 of 65 in Dubrovnik
3.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uvala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uvala

Property: Hotel Uvala
Address: Masarykov Put 6, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#19 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#29 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uvala 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern 4 star hotel is located in Lapad Bay, a quiet area dominated by the clear blue sea and shady green pine forrests, only a short bus ride from the Old town. A spirit of well-being is present throughout the Uvala hotel – from the beautifully designed, non-smoking air-conditoned rooms with balconies overlooking the Petka Hill or Lapad Bay and the excellent spa facilities to the various selection of menues offered at the Mantala restaurant. Enjoy your complimentary breakfast at the summer terrace with magnificent views of the whole bay and the Elafiti archipelago. The Rozolin Bar is an inviting place to sip a coctail in the afternoon or enjoy your coffe in the morning. Uvala's Wellness centre offers complimentary use of both indoor and outdoor swimming pool and fitness centre as well as discounts on all other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Uvala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uvala Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Uvala Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing