We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Hotel and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zagreb

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zagreb
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
u.k
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This stylish hotel was nice in every way. We stayed four nights at Hotel Zagreb. Spacious room with aircon and a safe,maid service was very good. The hotel is beautifully situated in pedestrianised street. Very close to the bus stop (for the bus to the the city centre). Also a short walk to Lapad beach.excellent friendly staff willing to answer any question about Dubrovnik. Good breakfast,with lovely coffee . Wi-fi Internet worked ok although the signal was a bit weak in our room. In the garden it was much better,for the price paid we were very pleased.

Room Tip: In the peak period try and avoid the front rooms,it can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AubandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    112
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
26
179
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hotel Zagreb is a place of character and warmth, with excellent, personal service, located in a convenient suburb of Dubrovnik. I stayed there recently with my husband (separate rooms... He is a snorer!!) and we both would love to return.

The hotel's location is very convenient. One wouldn't want to stay in the Old Town of Dubrovnik - way too crowded with we tourists! - so it is refreshing to be located in a happy, sunny area, with great amenities, and an easy bus ride into the Old city when one wants to go there. While at the Hotel Zagreb, my husband and I enjoyed excellent walks at sunrise and sunset alongside the coast. The local ice-cream bars, cafes, restaurants are on one's doorstep too, as well as the beach!

I note that others have mentioned noise as a factor at the hotel. I had no problems at all, and i was there on a friday and saturday might in mid-June, the start of the school holidays. I slept soundly with my windows open. No issue at all! There is a disco across the road, a fair distance away, and one hears the occasional burst of music, with windows open. However the windows are double-glazed and there is air-con, so any potential noise can be obliterated. Once again: no issue for us at all!

The staff are fantastic at the hotel. We especially liked talking with Mr Danka and Sinjin (sorry for spelling!). Breakfasts were divine... The best in Croatia! ... even featured cake! Plus eggs,salad, cheese, bread, fruit, divine coffee, etc etc and on a wonderful terrace in perfect gardens!

Our rooms were just right. My husband's had a small fridge (no contents, so he could chill his own wine). Showers fine, beds comfy, decoration tasteful, very clean... Loved it all!

I wholeheartedly recommend the Hotel Zagreb and really hope to go back there one day.

PS we left our luggage there on the last day and went into the city to sightsee. We were even offered the chance to have a shower on our return if we wished!

Room Tip: Listen to Mr Danka's tales of the history of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancophileJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June 2013 and our expectations were greatly exceeded. The hotel is more of a four star than three but has a very intimate feel with very friendly staff. Breakfast is excellent and dinner in the restaurant is also to be recommended. Very close to main Lapad beach and numerous restaurants. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is stunning from the outside and the gardens are beautiful. We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was ideal for the 4 nights we stayed. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was typical but not enough tables if everybody decides to go down at the same time, which happened to us on one occasion. Staff were lovely and would do anything for you. Very friendly. The hotel is a decent 50minute walk to the old town, however there is a bus stop just round the corner from the hotel and they come every 15 minutes. The old town is simply stunning! Very busy however not as expensive as I thought it would be. The hotel is situated on a street with several bars and restaurants, and is only a short stroll to the beach. The beach is small and pebbly but ideal for a short stay. The only down side to this hotel was the noise. Our room (facing the main street) was noisy due to the bar/club across the road. Our parents were woken every day by the noise of the market traders getting set up behind the hotel. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonmac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed on the top floor. The room was a decent size with a wardrobe, dresser and flat screen tv. The bathroom was small, with no space to put your clothes while showering, but it served its purpose.

The breakfast was great with a variety of foods including; pastries, bread, cold meats, eggs, sausages, cereal, yoghurt and fruit. There was also a selection of juices. Tea and coffee were made upon request.

The staff were very friendly and happy to help with information.

The bus stop to the old town is located a 1 minute walk from the hotel. There are plenty of great restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Lapad beach is also within walking distance.

The only complaint I have about this hotel was that there was a bad smell (like rotten eggs) coming from behind the headboard of the bed.

Good value if you book early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d-eilatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I thought this hotel was most impressive from the outside - the beautiful gardens and building. The rooms are just fine - basic, clean, smallish. Breakfast was sufficient, but nothing outstanding. I do like the idea of staying in Lapad, away from the center, where there are many bars and restaurants to keep you entertained, as well as a nice beach within easy walking distance. One caution though - as others have said, if your room faces front, you will hear noise from the bar across the street.

I did find however the bus into town a bit annoying - we were there in May and it was always crowded, so I cant imagine what it is like in high season. Just something to consider when you decide where to stay in Dubrovnik. Overall, however, I would recommend this hotel as a decent, well priced (for Dubrovnik, but was the most we paid for any hotel in Croatia and was our least favorite) place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank india_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Dubrovnik and we were lucky to find this hotel as it made our stay very comfortable. All the staff were helpful and courteous and made us most welcome. Our room which was quiet and comfortable, had a balcony overlooking the very neatly kept garden. Because the hotel is on a pedestrian walkway it is difficult to find at first, you have to approach it another way, after that parking our hire car was easy. Very easy to get around the town as the bus stop was only a short walk away. Walking west along the promenade to the sea we found many places to have a meal and watched the sun set. When we return we shall definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Hotel
Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perla
Hotel Perla
#30 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#14 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#24 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#35 of 65 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zagreb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zagreb

Property: Hotel Zagreb
Address: 27 Setaliste kralja Zvonimira 5, Babin Kuk, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zagreb 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Zagreb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Zagreb Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing