We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Dubrovnik”
Review of Hotel Sumratin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sumratin
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
cheltenham UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good value for Dubrovnik”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This hotel gives decent accommodation at a reasonable price. It is in the Lapad area, on the main pedestrianised route down to the Lapad beach. There is a bus stop about 100 metres away, and about a 10 minute 8-kuna bus ride to the old city gate (the buses can get very crowded). Plenty of reasonably priced bars and eating places close by.

The hotel looks a little shabby from the outside, and the rooms are a little dated, but all the boxes are ticked, friendly staff, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds, quiet at night. The buffet breakfast is provided in the cavernous dining room, and while not a gourmet's delight will not leave you hungry.

Note that some rooms have balconies. The balconies on the first floor are a decent size, with room for a table and chairs, but on the second floor where we were they are tiny and not worth having.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malky-moo-moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    46
    31
    23
See reviews for
19
60
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2009

This hotel is very basic and the rooms are in need of a major facelift. However, our room was clean and had a nice balcony. The only problem was with the television, which did not work, and it took over 24 hours to borrow one from another room (even though plenty of rooms were unoccupied). The hotel is in a great location: three minutes walk to the beach and, in the other direction, to the bus stop for the Old Town, and a few yards from a lovely pedestrian promenade full of decent bars and restaurants. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbieRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Although the hotel is basic, the reception staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Unasked, they carried cases to our room upstairs when the lift was broken (it was fixed within 2 days). When no taxi responded to a phone call, Dragon from reception drove us to the bus station in his own car. Other receptionists were likewise pleasant, polite and helpful. There was a TV in the bedroom (this has not been the case for other guests) but the choice of channels was limited.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Leprecaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

You get what you pay for in Dubrovnik but if you don't need anything more than no frills accommodation (at least it's ensuite) then this would do. nb the rooms didn't have a tv when I visited there - not sure if they do now. Lots more hotels have opened since I last visited Dubrovnik so I'd probably look further afield before staying here again.

  • Liked — low price
  • Disliked — no tv in room
  • Stayed September 2003, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in June of 2006. The room was decent and clean, though definitely no-frills, and the hotel is in a great location for the price. There are plenty of bars and restaurants outside and swimming areas a short walk away, and the bus to the Old City was a quick walk. The hotel employees were extremely helpful and nice. Our room did not have air conditioning, though the big windows helped to keep the room comfortable for the most part. The included breakfast was substantial. I'd recommend this place as a good bargain overall.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PetuniaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2005

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend, and after looking on the hotels webpage, our expectations were low. This is a budget hotel, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfasts were basic but very tasty. We were pleasently surprised that we had halfboard. The dinners were everyday croatian fare, which we appreciated, but nothing special. Towels were changed every day, bedclothes were not. The beds were a bit uncomfy, and were twinbeds pushed together. There was no aircondition, so the first day we bought a cheap fan, and I recommend doing so, because the room got hot and stuffy! The location is superb, 2 minutes to a pebbly beach or, which we preferred, rocks with steps going into the water. (Gorgeous!)There is a supermarket, and lots of cafes, restaurants and bars in the area, but still relaxed. Not a honeymoonplace, but we were pleased and had a lovely time here.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Ger127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#60 of 68 in Dubrovnik
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Micika
Villa Micika
#46 of 68 in Dubrovnik
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vis
Hotel Vis
#59 of 68 in Dubrovnik
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#53 of 68 in Dubrovnik
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Komodor
Hotel Komodor
#37 of 68 in Dubrovnik
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#48 of 68 in Dubrovnik
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sumratin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sumratin

Property: Hotel Sumratin
Address: Setalliste Kralija Zvonimira 31, Dubrovnik 2000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sumratin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sumratin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumratin Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing