We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location--Location--Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location--Location--Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The reason I love the Hilton experience is that you expect and get a standard service throughout its hotels worldwide. For the most part this works out but now and then there is a glitch. One such glitch was this hotel. I am a diamond member and used my points (quite a few I might add) to book a few nights at this hotel. I hoped for an upgrade but I know that it depends on space available. Well, turns out that I was out of luck. The problem is that I was told (by a really nice and friendly desk clerk) that we were not upgraded because we were staying on points. Not only that but we could only take breakfast in the lounge and not the main breakfast area. Seems that if you are on points in this hotel your diamond state diminishes. Later, when we spoke to the manager he contradicted his front desk by saying that the only reason we were not upgraded was due to space available. [We did wonder at which point the space became unavailable as we booked quite a while in advance.] Our breakfast choice was restored as a kind of concession]. Just as well because despite the managers claim that in many way the lounge breakfast was the better of the two it in fact was one of the more limited that we have experienced. The main breakfast was in fact very good (full marks there). We were also party to conflicting rules in the lounge later. We were seeking a top up of our drinks and waited behind some people whose glasses were being filled. There glasses filled, we were told that we were too late for a refill. The reason why the others got a rink and not us was because they turned up late!! One rule for one and not another. Very minor but annoying. One curious thing was that English-speaking newspapers in the lounge were all photocopied (sometimes up to 50 pages worth).
The room we had was quite large but with a view of the driveway and a darkish room. Not up to what one expects of a 5 star hotel, even if not in an upgraded room. If it wasn't for the location, just outside the old city, it would not have been particularly worth staying. But, as they say, location is everything. If you can stay out late and enjoy yourself the room is less important but if it is cold and rainy then the room can come into its own. We were fortunately not tested.

Room Tip: Looking at the hotel front on make sure you don't get a room at the back on on the left side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor,

We are saddened to read your review in the view that, your stay with us was not to your desired expectation. We have taken your feedback very positively to see, how we could improve on the areas mentioned. Please be assured that, we will definitely work towards the areas that needs attention so that, we could live up to the expectations of our guests.

We express our gratitude for the review and recommending us to other travelers. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,022
    594
    125
    30
    17
See reviews for
493
1,469
151
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I am not sure what rating to give this hotel because there are many pros but I think that the way policies are being implemented outweighs them. Let me start with the good points:
As others have mentioned, the location cannot be beat. If you want to be in the centre of Dubrovnik, this is definitely the place to be. The staff are friendly and attentive, the operations manager is an asset to the hotel and the lounge has a nice terrace overlooking the old town and the water.
However....our experience was certainly less than 5* and we were left feeling like 2nd class citizens because we redeemed points to stay here.
On check-in we were advised that b/c we are Diamond members, we would be allowed lounge access, including continental breakfast but b/c we were on points, we were not entitled the option of having breakfast in the restaurant. When questioned further, we were told that had we not been on a reward stay, we would have been allowed into the restaurant. Then we were told that we had been assigned 'the best standard room' the hotel had but again, b/c we had not made the booking directly with the hotel (i.e. rewards stay again), they couldn't upgrade us. When I questioned both of these decisions, I was told first that this was Hilton policy at all hotels (the night before we had stayed in a different Hilton, on points, and had received breakfast and an upgrade, as we have done previously), then I was told that the upgraded rooms were all booked but we would be put on a waiting list. Eventually, after speaking to the manager, we had breakfasts added but the upgraded room never transpired.

Oh well, up to the room. Although it was in the main building. It was dark and depressing. Yes, the window opened, but with no balcony and no view, it certainly was a letdown, especially after reading other reviews on this site. The bathroom was very old fashioned and did not have a separate shower. Instead, you had to climb into a rather deep tub and then the shower was less than ideal...it was a flexible one and needed constant adjustment. I am not tall and barely fit under it.

The lounge, as mentioned was small but nice. The food offerings were sparse but the drinks selection was good. It seemed that 'happy hours' ran from 6-8.30 but beware because there is no 'last call' here if you miss the cutoff, as I found out! I wasn't aware of the 8.30 timeline and went in around 8.45 for a glass of port only to be told that the bar service had closed. Despite this, four late arrivals were being offered wine at the same time!

The breakfast was fine and much nicer in the restaurant---very little on offer in the lounge. The woman making eggs was particularly pleasant and did a great fried egg! A good selection of baked goods and fresh fruit, plus the usual other breakfast buffet offerings.

On check out we were advised that someone had charged drinks to our room but these were quickly erased when we denied they were ours.

Overall, I would say that if you got a room facing the front or waterside of the hotel, you would describe this as a 5* experience...the public rooms were certainly elegant. But the other rooms are decidedly average and the bathrooms below average.

Hilton shouldn't have a different policy for those using points. Maybe this property doesn't get the fact that it takes stays to earn points and guests using points should receive the same benefits, regardless of type of 'payment'.

Overall, our stay was average but I can understand how many of the reviews give it an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Definitely one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katchapuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Let me say " Thank You " for your comment on Trip Advisor.

We are saddened to hear that the stay with us, did not meet your desired expectations. Please be assured that your constructive feedback will be taken onboard to see how we could enhance the guest experience of our valued guests. I take this opportunity to thank you personally for sharing this valuable feedback, which will definitely help us to improve ourselves.

We express our gratitude for the review. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton in Dubrovnic for 3 nights. It is much more expensive than most hotels we choose, but one night was included at the end of a bike tour so we elected to stay on for 2 more days to explore the town. The hotel is in a perfect location and very clean and quiet.

The problem started with our non-smoking room that smelled very strongly of cigarettes, not just the mild aroma that often comes in hotels that have both smoking and non-smoking rooms. The staff agreed with us and tried to find another room but with no luck. They tried to air it out and do a second cleaning but with no results. The next day another room became available, which was fine but the hassel and time of packing and unpacking was not what we had planned. The next room had no working air conditioning. That was fixed quickly.

In a less expensive place these issues would not result in an average rating from us, and the staff did their very best to help out. Unfortunately, at a daily rate of over $450 it is the little things that count, and this place came up short.

Room Tip: The view rooms are very nice, but if you are a non smoker insist on a true non-smoking room up front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment on Trip advisor,

We are immensely pleased to know that, you had a pleasurable experience and we have lived up to your desired expectations during your stay with us. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback on the smoke smell, in our room and we will definitely see how this can be addressed.

We express our gratitude for the review and recommending us to other travelers. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

very nice hotel and so close to the old town Dubrovnik in Croatia. Their breakfast and restaurant were very nice and would highly recommend this hotel. It has a great view of the old town as well as the Adriatic Sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Let me say " Thank You " for your excellent comment on Trip Advisor.

We are immensely pleased to know that, you had a pleasurable experience and we have lived up to your desired expectations during your stay with us.

We express our gratitude for the review and recommending us to other travelers. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spent a lot of time researching places to stay and was very happy that I chose this hotel. It was a little more than I wanted to pay, but it was worth it. The location was fantastic, only 5 minute walk from the Old Town. We took the bus from the airport, which dropped us off less than a block from the hotel. The included breakfast was outstanding, with omelets made to order and many choices. They even had a zerox copy of USA Today sections, The concierge was very helpful when we asked him for information. The room was spacious and very quiet.

Room Tip: We were in the back, so it was quiet. We didn't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent comment on Trip advisor,


We are immensely pleased to know that, you had a pleasurable experience and we have lived up to your desired expectations during your stay with us.

We express our gratitude for the review and recommending us to other travelers. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
296 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights here and couldn't have asked for better location or service. Staff is extremely friendly and attentive. Hotel is in perfect location just 1/2 block outside old town walls. Make sure you get a "sea view room"

Room Tip: Select sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAgain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Let me say " Thank You " for your excellent comment on Trip Advisor.

We are immensely pleased to know that, you had a pleasurable experience and we have lived up to your desired expectations during your stay with us.

We express our gratitude for the review and recommending us to other travelers. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel has everything one expects in a luxury property: beautiful setting (spring for a sea-view room, it's worth every penny), courteous, helpful staff, and a lovely dining room with outdoor seating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishanta D, Manager at Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write an excellent comment on Trip advisor.

We are immensely pleased to know that, you had a pleasurable experience and we have lived up to your desired expectations during your stay with us.

We express our gratitude for the review and recommending us to other travelers. We would love to serve you on your future visits to Dubrovnik.


Krishanta Damunupola
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Property: Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing