We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2007

there is nothing about the hotel. the location was perfect as it was just outside the walls of the old town. The rooms were spacious, the furnishings wer new, breakfast was great, the bed was good and the staff were helpful. No free internet, and the hotel massage/beauty service was average - but these were only minor negatives. we highly recommend splurging on this accomodation as it ticks all the right boxes.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alphili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 3,186 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2007

We have just spent 3 nights at the Hilton imperial. We were very impressed with our experience our room was very pleasant, and immaculately clean. The staff are very helpful and seem to want you to enjoy your stay in there hotel. Dubrovnik is an ideal place to visit for a few days break but be prepared for lots of walking. We were very lucky with the weather and also with the lack of crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PeterboroughKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

I cannot praise this hotel enough, it's located right beside the pile gate. Staff were very professional. We had a very large room with a balcony and a fantastic view. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food. The pool is deep, definitely not for children, but spotless.

Would highly recommend this hotel & would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Emerson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

While the Hilton has a great location, being only a few minutes walk from the old town, the level of service leaves a lot to be desired. It seems to be geared to large groups rather than individual travellers.

When we checked in, the type of room we had reserved was not available and the check-in staff's attitude was 'too bad, take it or leave it'. It took over 25 mins and several requests to speak with the manager, before we received the type of room we had reserved. Even being a gold Hilton Honours member did not help.

Service at breakfast and dinner is good, but again you need to actively get someone's attention, in order to get any type of serivce. While breakfast is good, the fresh fruit was far from ripe and the coffee tasted like instant.

For the price, the Imperial needs to get its act together. Since even those guests who were part of the large groups, were commenting about the poor level of service when we were there.

While Dubrovnik is not an inexpensive city to vist, there are better options and values as we discovered.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Our stay here was awesome. The staff was incredible and so helpful. The location cannot be beat as it is one block from the main gate to Old Town. The free breakfast was so good and fresh and the wait staff is awesome. If you get upgraded to Executive Level, the drinks and snacks are free all day, no limit!!! The rooms were big and modern and very clean. The hotel is so beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RDTripper32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

It was our honeymoon in this gorgeous hotel.
The room was large with much sunlight. Breakfast was excellent. Dinner is elegant and romantic. Take the half-board package. Have a drink and snack in the afternoon in the executive
lounge.
Knowing we were honeymooners they sent us a bottle of champaign in the room with a nice card.
The service was excellent.
It was a memorable stay in a memorable city. Will come again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bibawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2007

We stayed for four nights in a standard room. As has been said many times, the USP about this hotel is its location, which is about two minutes walk from the Pile Gate into the old town. Having schlepped out to the peninsula where most of the resort hotels are on the bus, it's hard to overstate just what a bonus the location is. Having fought your way out of the old town when the cruise ships are in (at least one a day in mid september) the last thing you want is to have to fight your way on to a cramped bus to slog out to a concrete box, albeit with a good view, some two miles away. Nope - simply stroll up the road and slip through the revolving door of the Hilton.

Arrival was fine and professional, just as it should be.

The room was large for its class - the fire plan on the room door does show a substantial degree of variatio in size. In a way this is to the hotel's credit, as they have honoured as far as possible in the guest rooms the floor plan of the hotel before its dereliction during the war in the 1990s. Our room looked out over the annex just up the hill, and the view was pleasant enough. Room furnishings were of good quality, and it was just short of being a junior suite in size. Huge wardrobes looked a little empty even after we'd unpacked 10 days worth of stuff into them. Bathroom - reasonably sized, good quality consumables, marble vanity unit, again as expected. The room was serviced to a high standard every day. Minibar prices high but reasonable by international chain standards.

Breakfast - not bad, but very definitely oriented towards the American market, who comprised about 80% of the guests while we were there. Therefore lots of hot buffet dishes, but relatively por choices on European cold cuts, cheeses, fruits and breads, althogh adequate. Service was a bit of a let down - although enthusiastic and polite, always wanting to please, it was regularly difficult to catch a waiter's eye on arrival, particularly if sitting outside. Coffee again was weak and long, to general American tastes, although other choices were available if you asked (we tended to top up the 'flask' coffee with an espresso).

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings.

Pool is fine, very clean and generally very quiet, although with a constant depth not good for non-swimmers or small children. Many have commented about its lack of open air - well, it is what it is- a basement pool with a light well letting in natural light from above. Good size allows for proper swimming instead of just splashing about. My wife had a manicure at the small 'spa' and was pleased with the service and results.

We had a drink in the bar one evening - rather slow service and a hauntingly sterile lack of atmosphere - somewhat disappointing.

Overall a perfectly competent 4-star which I'd be happy to stay in again. Good staff and service overall, with a few caveats on the breakfast and bar service, but exceptional location, and reasonable value.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anthonylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,978 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik

Address: Marijana Blazica 2, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#3 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#4 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $303 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dominating the area of approach to the Dubrovnik old city, the hotel overlooks the ancient walls and historic red roof tops of the cities palaces. On the four floors in both buildings this historic boutique hotel offers a wide choice of rooms of different size and shapes, following the historic architecture of the former hotel. All 147 air-conditioned rooms, are characterized by a Mediterranean touch that features a combination of modern technology and traditional charm. •Located on the doorstep of Dubrovnik's historic Old town•Historic Dubrovnik hotel - delivering hospitality service since 1897•147 luxurious appointed rooms with Mediterranean touch•Executive Lounge on the third floor with terrace - spectacular views over the Old town and Adriatic sea•Renowned Restaurant Porat - ultimate dining experience•The Lobby Bar, The Lounge Bar•Fully equipped Health Club - indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath and gym ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik
Hilton International Dubrovnik
Hilton Dubrovnik
Dubrovnik Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing