We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Patron Saint of Throats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Saint Blaise

Church of Saint Blaise
Book In Advance
$75.51*
and up
Dubrovnik Museums Tour
Ranked #32 of 149 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Patron Saint of Throats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

While I was always aware of St Blaise and had my throat blessed each February on his Feast Day. I never recognised that he was also the patron saint of Dubrovnik - Saint Vlahu.

This is a beautiful Church which was built at the beginning of the 18th Century to replace the Church that was destroyed by an earthquake.

I enjoyed the time I spent sitting in the Church in silent prayer. Indeed I felt very much at peace with myself during that time..
.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    123
    50
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really nice church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a really beautiful church. There are always lots of people loitering on the steps, that's fine though; it can be a great place to sit and have a snack. It's worth checking out in Dubrovnik since it only takes a minute.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kira_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We visited it during the sunday mass and enjoyed watching the domestics and listening to the singing even though we didnt understand a word.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gold!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

An eye-filling golden organ case in the Church and a very pleasing baroque altar

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perrins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice church but not the most memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a nice place to visit and we would recommend spending some time here. However, when we compared it to other churches we have visited in Europe, it's not that memorable.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Saint Blaise also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Church of Saint Blaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing