We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Patron Saint of Throats” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church of Saint Blaise

Church of Saint Blaise
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.96*
and up
Dubrovnik Museums Tour
Ranked #32 of 155 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Patron Saint of Throats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

While I was always aware of St Blaise and had my throat blessed each February on his Feast Day. I never recognised that he was also the patron saint of Dubrovnik - Saint Vlahu.

This is a beautiful Church which was built at the beginning of the 18th Century to replace the Church that was destroyed by an earthquake.

I enjoyed the time I spent sitting in the Church in silent prayer. Indeed I felt very much at peace with myself during that time..
.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    153
    60
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really nice church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a really beautiful church. There are always lots of people loitering on the steps, that's fine though; it can be a great place to sit and have a snack. It's worth checking out in Dubrovnik since it only takes a minute.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kira_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just beautifull”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We visited it during the sunday mass and enjoyed watching the domestics and listening to the singing even though we didnt understand a word.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gold!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

An eye-filling golden organ case in the Church and a very pleasing baroque altar

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perrins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice church but not the most memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a nice place to visit and we would recommend spending some time here. However, when we compared it to other churches we have visited in Europe, it's not that memorable.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Planettraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Saint Blaise also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Church of Saint Blaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing