We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautifull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
$56*
and up
Dubrovnik Countryside Bike Tour Including Wine Tasting
Ranked #2 of 149 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
chorley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautifull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The place is so pretty with lots of History. We had a guide who i would recommend having one , as they can tell you all about the place . You must walk the wall , the views from there are great . We went back in the evening it was so lovely, lots of people singing and playing guitars/clarinet very chilled .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maiseynaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,788
    1,909
    314
    53
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
687 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Just walk and wander and explore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we had a great time wandering around in the streets of the old town. The little alleys, steep stepped streets etc etc. Lots to see there. The main street/square is good too. The restaurants and cafe's are mostly hidden away.

Just have a good wander!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfectly preserved history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a beautiful, perfectly preserved (and/or restored) medieval city. It is like being in a story book. Some people still live here and there is washing hung over the narrow streets. Walk around the walls. The views are amazing as well as the feeling that ancient feet trod these paths. Get a personal guide, it is well worth it. As tourism is their main industry, they do it well and it is one of the few places I have visited where I felt as if we were fairly treated and not regarded as fair game. Food was very nice (not cheap). A better class of souvenirs and lots of art work for sale from the local art college.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MN-Melbourne-3144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great for walking and people watching!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved walking around and exploring the streets, checking out the restaurants and cafes. There are more people when the cruise ships are in port and it can get frightfully crowded. I recommend a walking tour, it is a good way to learn about the history,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“lovely old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The back lanes of the old town are fascinating as they are still very much residential. You can wander for hours. There are very good restaurants in the back lanes.
The jazz being played around the town is fantastic and you can just linger and listen for free.
Overall a lovely town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravellers12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing