We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit, impossible to miss” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Placa Thoroughfare (Stradun)

Placa Thoroughfare (Stradun)
Book In Advance
More Info
$693.79*
and up
Private Tour to Dubrovnik from Split or Trogir
Ranked #10 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must visit, impossible to miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stradun is an ancient wide street right through the middle of Dubrovnik. If you ever get there, the chances not to see it are zero. It is packed with cafes, ice cream places, souvenir shops and restaurants, most of them in tiny streets connected to Stradun. Careful if you visit and it rains, it is very slippery and you can easily slip and ruin your holiday in a very ironic way. Prices are very very high (some say most expensive in Croatia) so be prepared to sped some extra kuna for coffee and mineral water. Also be prepared for huge crowds of people moving in packs like forest fire as large cruisers stop daily in Dubrovnik so it gets quite congested. Evenings are great, if nothing else just to walk up and down and breathe the city atmosphere. Visit and you will not be sorry. Take a camera. Have cash. Be patient. Smile, it's your holiday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tihon001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    497
    150
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Something i haven't come across before and i doubt i ever will again. The floor just looks polished all of the time. Great ice cream place and views from the top middle or bottom of the thoroughfare are great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger-Dumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Simple straight path through the heart of the old town. Bright polished marble and kept incredibly clean. Best in eartly mornings or evenings when most of the walking tours are not about or the cruise liner visitors have largely gone. In our visit the town put on a number of open air entertainment in Stradun ranging from Brian Ferry, Croatian traditional singers to a symphony orchestra. Wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bassman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
334 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second time to the Old City Placa!!!!! Came here in 2006 when we were on the Windstar, at that time we walked the wall!!! I remembered the very polished marble streets, and saw a lot of women slipping and a sliding on the marble in their heels. This time we came on the Nieuw Amsterdam and we took an excursion where we walked the Placa, and visited some of the historic sites. Such a beautiful place, not one piece of trash anywhere to be seen, and the atmosphere was soooo up. A lot of nice wine bars to sample and a lot of small churches to visit, if you are in to that. Our favorite place to eat is right out of the wall actually outside of the gate to Dubravaka restraunt where you can eat outside and enjoy the view of the water, and the people.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
143 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed and charming at once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Placa is overwhelmed every morning as the cruise passengers arrive, and then is more comfortable in the afternoons and evenings. We were amazed at how well trash is taken care of - with small receptacles on each street corner wall. There is a good balance at the moment between shops and restaurants. But one would hope that not too many more restaurants take over the available sidewalk space. Awnings and umbrellas are disrupting the architecture of the street.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Placa Thoroughfare (Stradun) also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Placa Thoroughfare (Stradun)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing