We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hike”
Review of Mljet

Mljet
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.29*
and up
National Park Mljet Full Day Boat Trip from Dubrovnik
More Info
$103.88*
and up
Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik
More Info
$767.06*
and up
Private Speedboat or Yacht Tour to National Park Mljet Lakes from Dubrovnik
Ranked #11 of 164 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island of MLJET is situated in a remote area that is far South of Croatia and west of Dubrovnik.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hike”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We hiked from Polace to the Large Lake, then took the ferry over to the island. Swam in the Lake. Wish we had more time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    204
    75
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“emerald gem”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took ferry from Prapratno to Sobra leaving car on mainland - a mistake as no easy access to national park, in the end we used taxis but cheaper to have taken car 200kn each way. On the positive, one of the taxi drivers gave us a great overview of history if island etc, about 30 mins drive from port to Polace. Absolutely beautiful island, if you can only go to one do this rather than Korcula (that's great but this is better). We hired bikes from 70kn each, natioal park is 90 kn each ticket, no credit card for bikes or national park ticket. Probably 2-3 hours on bikes covers the national park easily, monastery is ok but pictuesque rather than anything else.

I would agree with others, take your own picnic and if you can swimming stuff as lots of oppts to swim!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wren012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful island whose peace is spoiled by 'partyboats'”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is truly a lovely island, and this was our 3rd visit. We stayed in an Matana apartment in Pomena overlooking the sea, which is a very good location. Our enjoyment on this occasion was sullied by the presence of up to 7 'party boats' jammed with Australians, which moor in the bay and play thumping rock music accompanied by strobe lights until after midnight. They come 2 nights a week, are clearly loathed by the locals who feel helpless to shut down this obnoxious nuisance. Next time we would stay in nearby Polace to avoid this sound blight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank heredotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had looked at a few options for day trips and none appealed as much as this. We got the ferry easily from Gruz harbour (in Sept) and just got tickets there about 20 mins/half an hour before. It took over an hour to get there but then we hired bikes straight away and cycled (uphill!) to the top and back down to get to the lakes, which was quite rewarding. We spent a couple of hours cycling around the gorgeous turqouise lakes, had a couple of dips and then ate some lovely fresh fish at a restaurant there. It wasn't busy at this time of year, a peaceful, beautiful place to be that I would definitely recommend. If you try and cycle all the way round the 'big lake' though then you will realise it's not possible and have to picked up by boat by a friendly local for some small change. That was an experience though! Overall, an amazing place and well worth it.
Note - I think 2 bikes for the day was 140 kuna and it does cost to get in to the national park as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroLoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We took a ferry from Prapratno to Sobra (45 min.)
and drove to the national park (using a parking lot
in Pomena, 10 min. walk to the small lake).
We had a lunch there in the Pomena Restaurant
(fresh fish caught in the morning was great).
You need a ticket (actually, mainly for a boat trip
to the monastery - worth the price: the big lake scenery
and views from the monastery are fantastic).
We walked and swam in both lakes, having not enough time
for exploring sandy beaches on the opposite tip of the island).
All in all, a very pleasant day trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mljet also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing