We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See more than the monastery”
Review of Mljet

Mljet
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.51*
and up
National Park Mljet Full Day Boat Trip from Dubrovnik
More Info
$102.94*
and up
Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik
More Info
$760.12*
and up
Private Speedboat or Yacht Tour to National Park Mljet Lakes from Dubrovnik
Ranked #10 of 163 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island of MLJET is situated in a remote area that is far South of Croatia and west of Dubrovnik.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“See more than the monastery”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Do plan to see the island in the middle of the lake with the monastery, but also take some time to walk around the lake to see other sites. We enjoyed the walk around to the bridge between the two lakes very much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnF414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    198
    72
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had good weather and a great night staying in Mljet. Great place for a strenuous bike ride, swimming in perfect saltwater lakes. We were there in high season and when we went swimming after renting a canoe, found a spot where we did not see another living soul, and views of the outdoors for miles. Recommended! But I don't think it would be nearly as much fun on a day trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Is it worth the time and expense of a day trip?”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The beauty of mijet was not the question for me....it was whether it was worth my while getting up early to spend a couple of hours on a ferry to spend 6 hours on an island and then get the ferry back. This is a full day for a short week where I was enjoying my hotel pool and the odd trip into dubrovnik. I took the plunge and went to mijet but overall I would not recommend it as a day trip. It is lovely, but so is the rest of the coast of Croatia. However going to an island like this, while we cycled, walked and swam, eyes were always on the clock for the ferry home. So for me, I regret dedicating one day out of my six to a tiresome journey and in a sense a very predictable day out having read so much about the place. Interestingly there was little buzz on the return ferry home. All were tired after a hot day and stingy after salt water swimming. I could not wait to get off the ferry and have a fresh water shower. Long, relatively expensive day when similar opportunities were available much closer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ducksinarow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful island, great outdoor fun”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were on a cruise, and docked in Polace, on the north of the island. We rented bikes and crossed the mountain, rode around the lakes, and had a wonderful dinner in a local restaurant. Great place to visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Keep this place a secret!!!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

You must keep this fantastic place a secret.
The island is covered in fir trees so smells wonderful in the hot sun. The water is crystal clear, warm and beautiful to swim in. There are lots of fish to see. Beaches or rocks to swim or jump off.
Mljet National Park gives you an excellent opportunity for a walk or easy cycle ride and you can stop off almost anywhere and find your own little rock/place from where you can take a cool dip.
We stayed in Okuklje a beautiful picturesque village where you can swim in the bay or admire the luxury yachts that overnight in the village.
If you like to party this is not the island for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mljet also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing