We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a gerat time”
Review of Mljet

Mljet
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.97*
and up
National Park Mljet Full Day Boat Trip from Dubrovnik
More Info
$103.49*
and up
Mljet National Park Day Trip from Dubrovnik
More Info
$764.22*
and up
Private Speedboat or Yacht Tour to National Park Mljet Lakes from Dubrovnik
Ranked #11 of 163 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island of MLJET is situated in a remote area that is far South of Croatia and west of Dubrovnik.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“I had a gerat time”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was a short stay but the island is very, very nice. Well there is place for addtional services to be developed but the island is great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JurijKobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    204
    74
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“wonderful Island”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved the feel of this island which is like no other in Croatia.
Very green and lots of hills helped us to enjoy some great hikes and walks to enjoy nature and history. We will go back again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dalnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nature at its finest”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We took a ferry to Mljet and hired bikes at the landing point. A tough ride up hill and a pleasant freewheel back down again took us in to the nature reserve. You can follow the road around the island but it doesn't make a circuit so don't try and do a lap. I recommend you get off the road and carry the bike up one of the tracks where you can find secluded places to swim. I'm really not a cyclist but thoroughly enjoyed it, hopping off into the water when I got too hot. The island is stunning

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Akumal_turtle_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice nature, but otherwise a bit dull”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Besides the salt water lakes, there's nothing much to see here. The old monastery couldn't entice us either. You pay for everything (parking, visiting, ...) and you drive a lot, give the shape of the island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We booked a trip with an excursion company, Sta Travel, in the oldtown. It cost us £50pp, with lunch included. As we were out of tourist season, or group only consisted of four people. We got the ferry over which took about 1.5 hrs, and then we had to get a taxi to the entrance of the national park. First stop was St Mary's island which can be reached by boat. It is a tiny island, with a monastery and a couple of restaurants. The Monastery is worth a look, although rumour has it that it is to be bought to turn into a hotel? There is also a very tiny chapel next to it. We had lunch here in one of the restaurants, which was excellent as it was shaded and gave us some relief from the heat. We then went back over to the national park where we had a swim in the lake, which is surprisingly warm! You also have the option to hire a bike or a canoe, but we were happy lounging around and enjoying the paradise. The only downside was that we did not have enough time there! It really is a stunning place and if we were to come back to Croatia Mijet would definitely be my choice. I wish we had know about it before so we could have booked one of the hotels near the ferry port.

TIP- Try and go to the toilet in one of the bars near the ferry port. My partner went to the toilet in the park and it was a wooden shack with a hole in the ground. He didn't want to sit on it as there was wasps and other creepy crawlies coming out from the hole and the whole thing stunk!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Kayleigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mljet also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing