We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!!”
Review of Villa Micika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Micika
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Grumpy staff, very noisy, rooms smell and are mouldy, it's 4km (not 2km as they claimed) out of town and is just dirty.

If you are thinking of staying here - go to a two star. You'll get a better place cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't. Just do not book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1darkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Over priced, noisey, uncomfortable room, tired decor, basic bathroom etc. ... No investment for years. Surly staff. In short don't stay there. Location convenient but there are many other better options.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I would not stay here again. The room was grimy, and there was actual dirt on the bedding. The shower was moldy and left water all over the floor. The only redeeming qualities were that the A/C worked well (although you have to pay 10 euros extra a night for it) and that it was only about a 5 minute walk to the bus stop to go to Old Town. For the price, I expected a clean place to sleep, but reality fell short.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hle249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I would never recommend this place! Our group of three arrived early in the morning to be told our room was not ready for us and needed to be cleaned. However, after returning several hours later in the day, we discovered that their definition of 'clean' only referred to changing the bedding. This is the dirtiest place I have ever stayed. The walls were covered in grime and the shower was a disgrace, it flooded and you have to stand in 10cm deep water due to the amount of hair clogging the plug! I would be surprised if this place has ever had a clean. We were told before arriving that it cost $10/night for air con but the one in our room didn't even work! and the free wifi didn't even work or pickup a bar of signal inside the building, we had to stand outside!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Overall we did have a good stay at the villa, however a few things let it down such as the construction site next door which started at 7am every morning bar Sunday. Because of this we did manage to wangle free air con (usually 10 euros/day). The cleanliness wasn't great and the towels were hit and miss as to whether they were big enough, it took us a while to work out we needed to leave a sign on the door if we wanted our room cleaning. There is a microwave and fridge available to use but you couldn't easily make a meal in the tiny space. The location was good as we were 400m from Lapad beach and about the same to the bus stop which takes you to the Old City. There was a supermarket 100m away which was also useful. However, there are busier locations which may have been more fun and better for meeting other people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I feel terrible leaving only 2* for this place as we had such an amazing holiday but unfortunately Villa Micika isn't the cleanest of hostels/hotels.

The location was ideal for visiting the Tommy supermarket and not far from the bus stop (10 minutes ride to Old City). It is also only 5 minutes from the beach although after spending an afternoon on this beach although very nice we were advised that further along was much better. We then spent the subsequent days walking along the idyllic coastal path sunbathing on the rocks (some shade is required) or right around the bay where we could hire 2 sun loungers and an umbrella for 50kn which is around £5 and much cheaper than anywhere else we found. The stoney beaches are much nicer than the sand and therefore I didn't miss not having a pool half as much as I thought.

The villa recommends restaurant Madonna just a few doors down where you can an enjoy a discount for being a resident at Villa Micika although we ate all over the island Madonna was very nice and served affordable nice food and alcohol.

The bathroom was pretty grim with a mouldy shower and what should have been a white bath mat was badly stained brown. The towels were varied in condition and size and often in our room we were given a variety of hand towels to shower with. It took us 3 days to work out that we needed to leave a sign on the door if we wanted to have our rooms cleaned so it would have been nice to been advised of this on arrival. The room, if clean, would of been a good rate for a twin room with en-suite. There is the facility of a fridge/microwave/utensils to make a packed lunch if required. Was nice to come home to a cold bottle of water too.

Here's the biggy. The hostel is directly adjacent to a building site and therefore we were woken 6 mornings of 7 at 7am (no work on a sunday) with the sound of hammering and the movement of 2 large cranes. After mentioning twice to the owner, after asking for free air-con as we wanted to keep our window shut he obliged (usually 10euros/day). Because we wanted to be up early and make the most of the trip the early mornings weren't enough to ruin our trip but it would of been nice in the afternoons to come back and have a nap before going out for dinner but the works continue well into the afternoon (varied finish time but around 7pm).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

I am shocked that this hotel has even manged the decent reviews published to date. This is the dirtiest and most overpriced hotel we have stayed in during our month long travels in the Balkans. Mold on the ceiling, towels that stink of mildew, dirty sheets and blankets... 38+ degrees outside and arrived to learn we had to pay an additional 10 Euros a night for A/C. Poor location unless you just want to walk to the pebble beach near by. Commute to the old city is 15 min by bus and about 2 US each way. Luckily the fact that Dubrovnik is amazing has helped the cause but I could never recommend this hotel to anyone. With so many newer, cleaner same price point hotels around, I can't imagine that finding a better place would be hard.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jwbasnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Adria Apartments
Adria Apartments
#47 of 68 in Dubrovnik
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sumratin
Hotel Sumratin
#62 of 68 in Dubrovnik
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Petka
Hotel Petka
#42 of 68 in Dubrovnik
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#35 of 68 in Dubrovnik
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartmani Vulicevic
Apartmani Vulicevic
#57 of 68 in Dubrovnik
9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#25 of 68 in Dubrovnik
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Micika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Micika

Address: Mata Vodopica 10, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $46 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Micika 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Micika is one of your best choices for a cheap and comfortable holiday in Dubrovnik. We are open throughout the year. It is situated in a quiet area of Dubrovnik, known as Lapad, surrounded by palm trees and other Mediterranean vegetation. It is only 200 m from the main beach and 10 m from the tennis courts. There are seven 3-star rooms from 12-15m2. There are 5 double and 2 triple-bed rooms, which can accommodate 16 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Micika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micika Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing