We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of Walls from here!”
Review of Fort Lovrijenac

Fort Lovrijenac
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.50*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik
Ranked #16 of 161 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
334 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Amazing views of Walls from here!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a must-see in my opinion - the views of the walls from above are breathtaking! The walk to the top is not hard - its steep, but over soon. The day we went was drizzling, but I wanted the view on a sunny day so bad that I went back the next day and when it was nicer and ran up again to take some more. So glad I did, the photos are my favorite from the trip. My husband just sat at a cafe outside the area and waited 15 minutes for me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    344
    74
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Level Contributor
412 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good Views of the Wall from the Fort”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After you walk the wall, take the time to walk over to the fort. There are more steps to walk, but the view of the wall is worth it. You will see the crowds walking the wall and be glad you went early to avoid them. Did not seem that very many people visit the fort after the wall but it is included in your ticket price.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Worth having a look”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had paid to walk the city walls and entrance to Lovrijenac was included in the price. It is more steps to climb so we got an icecream to eat on the way. It was very quiet with only a handful of people at the Fort. Great views away from all the hussle and bustle.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dairymilkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just a five minute walk from Pile Gate (but a lot of steps!), heading away from the Old Town it was easy to find: there are some steps down on the left before reaching the tourist office, it is signed, and just keep to the shore. There are a lot of steps up to the summit of the outcrop where there is a bench with spectacular views of a small cove if you need to catch your breath. There are more steps up to the main entrance where there are great views back towards the Old Town at the top. You don't have to enter to get these views. Entrance is free if you have a ticket for the City Walls. Inside is an empty fortress but you can up another two levels again, from the very top the views over the old city walls and roofs is sensational. It was quite peaceful with only a handful of other visitors looking round.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Worth the view”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The main reason to climb all the steps to the fort is for the view. The fort is easy to find from the Pile Gate and there are occasional sign along the path guiding you there. If you're doing the city wall afterwards then save your ticket.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank granitepeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Lovrijenac also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Fort Lovrijenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing