We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see in Dubrovnik!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Lovrijenac

Fort Lovrijenac
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.09*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik
Ranked #14 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must see in Dubrovnik!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Listen up...you must go here. Super close to old city. No cost if you have a ticket from the city walls (which is most people). Priceless views of the old city. Not crowded at all (unlike the old city). Overall a great place to visit!

Helpful?
3 Thank Jorgorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    314
    65
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful views over the old town. Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to visit Fort Lovrijenac after reading the other reviews on trip advisor and were not let down! There are quite a few steps to climb up before reaching the fort but plenty of spaces to stop to take extra photos of the old town and city. On reaching the fortress there is a local old gentleman who took out entrance fee of 30 Kuna each. In the fortress there are 3 different levels to climb and a central courtyard with well and beautiful stone arches. You can also sit on the old canon guns on reaching the top of the fort and have your photo taken with the old city in the background. This was our second visit to Dubrovnik and we can’t believe we missed out on this iconic Fort the 1st time we visited! The views were amazing and well worth the walk up the steps.
Like other reviewers the place was nearly empty when we visited (around 2pm on a Sunday) we only saw 5 or 6 other tourists there during our visit.
More details can be found on their website
http://essenceofdubrovnik.com/2011/03/07/fort-lovrijenac/

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fletch1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Don't miss Fort Lovrijenac!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Currently TripAdvisor has over 1100 reviews of the Dubrovnik city walls but only 24 of Fort Lovrijenac -- a clear indication of the relative popularity. Yet it's absolutely worth your while to make the climb to the fort after seeing the walls. See the walls first to avoid the crowds there, the fort is usually quiet in any case (we only saw four other tourists there during our visit). Or visit the fort at sunset for some great photos.

The fort is only 15 minutes' walk from the Pile Gate. You need to walk down the first street outside the gate and then navigate some other streets while keeping an eye on the fort; it's not difficult to find but the lack of street signs makes it a little bit less than obvious.

Once you've descended to the little bay below Pile Gate, you will see the path climbing up to the fort through a small park-like area. The climb is not bad if you are reasonably fit, and already offers some views.

Once inside the fort, you will need to pay admission (currently HRK 30) unless you have already paid for the city walls. If you have, that ticket will get you free admission to the fort. You can then climb up several levels of stairs to the top of the fort. The main attraction will be the views of the old city, and the fort's distance from the walls allows you to capture an overview of Dubrovnik, which is more difficult to do from the wall itself.

Don't miss it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank tomh009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We climbed up to this fort and thoroughly enjoyed the experiance even though it was a very hot day. I think we werwe the first visitors of the day as it was just after 8 am.The gentleman who greeted us, was extremely friendly even though he didn't appear to speak English. We felt very honoured when he opened a large door, just inside the enrance area, with an extremely old looking key and allowed us to view a wonderful old painting. The whole area is interesting and the views from the top of the fort are amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was absolutely beautiful! It's a little out of the way, so it's much less crowded than the old town, even though it's right next door. There were only 3 other people in the fort when we went in mid-August! This is where you can the best views of Dubrovnik, and this is where all those pictures of the old town are taken from. From here you can an absolutely amazing view of the walled city rising out of the ocean. It's really spectacular.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kira_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Lovrijenac also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Fort Lovrijenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing