We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting”

Troubadour Jazz Cafe
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My Mother & I happened upon the Troubadour whilst wandering the streets of Dubrovnik in the afternoon. We were drawn to it by the sound of a pianist echoing through the street. The woman playing turned out to be a talented tourist from the UK who regaled us with songs from the shows. We decided to come back later that evening to seek out the Cafe's entertainment. We were not disappointed. We loved the impromptu nature of the show with contributions from the audience - a very engaging performance of 'Bohemian Rhapsody' from an Irishman. Doesn't sound too promising, I agree, but he was a wonderful pianist and brilliant entertainer. The Croatian musicians were outstanding. I was particularly impressed with the chain smoking guitarist, who after a bit of research, I found out is Frano Grce. I have been listening to his beautiful playing ever since. I would pay to see these musicians so have no qualms about a levy on the price of a drink: a small price to pay for wonderful entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    26
    24
    70
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
303 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have rated this average because the prices are extortionate! We paid more here for 2 glasses of wine than we do in London! Having said that, the atmosphere was lovely and the music was great. We would visit again, but only for one glass, because of the hideous prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Alanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Massively overpriced with strange waiter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Came across this place and thought it would be nice to have a coffee listening to the music. Not jazz incidentally but that wasn't a problem. Upon sitting down, the waiter informed us that they didn't serve hot drinks at night. We thought this was very strange, but then seeing the prices for cold drinks it made sense as they are exorbitant. This wouldn't have been so bad until we noticed the billboard saying, "hot drinks served all night" and then watched the same waiter serve other people hot drinks. When we asked him about this, pointed out the sign and the other people he had given hot drinks to, he started to squirm and said he had been serving tea. He was obviously caught in a lie and looked suitably embarrassed but it was such a strange way to behave. Unfortunately, this spoiled the experience for us. One to avoid.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrp101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
307 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great place for a nightcap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stumbled on this place while strolling after dinner and were able to snag a table for a nightcap. Lovely outdoor jazz.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MeAgain8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Certainly not a Jazz bar!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the setting and atmosphere at this bar was nice - as is almost every bar in Dubrovnik. The Troubadour noticeably lacked it's main constituent part - quality, live jazz music. The band playing on the nights we visited/passed by, were far from a coherent jazz band,. In fact were more like bad entertainment in a chain hotel. And in addition the front man was far to preoccupied inviting in new punters than performing to the audience at hand - not a quality I've ever seen in good musicians.

If you want an expensive drink watching some questionable hotel entertainment. Fine. But don't for one minute think this is the real deal. If you want to listen to good music, simply take a wander round town and park yourself in front of one of the many excellent street entertainers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank pauljamescampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troubadour Jazz Cafe also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Troubadour Jazz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing