We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must-Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ancient City Walls

Ancient City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.78*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 159 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Must-Do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Perhaps one of our favourite days in Dubrovnik. You can't visit the city without walking along it's walls.

Fab views - especially from Minceta Fort.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,592
    2,998
    315
    60
    45
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This is a must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Walking the walls around Dubrovnik is shear joy. If you like seeing old streets and buildings, beautiful scenery, and experience walking fortified walls you will love this. Note that there is a public restroom on the wall, and they encourage one way walking traffic. We visited in November, but I can imagine the wall can become crowded in high season so all walking in the same direction really helps. There are plenty of steps.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Highlights of Dubrovnik! Worth the climb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We visited the Dubrovnik old City Walls in mid December, which is off season. We felt as if we had the whole place to ourself! It was only after an hour plus of walking did we see another couple.

The climb up the fort was worth the effort. The views are truly spectacular and this is The reason for visiting Dubrovnik.

We started from the Ploce Gate and did the walk anti clockwise. It took us a leisurely 3 hour to complete the walk. I think visiting in winter has its benefit. You avoid the massive crowd.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

There were great views and many photo opps along the way. If you are in relatively good physical shape, it is an easy walk and not at all dangerous. There are just a few staircases and steps to climb and the views are well worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FLStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
468 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent even in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Visiting for a day while on a Celebrity Silhouette cruise. The day we were there it poured part of the time - just as we were walking the wall. We were prepared with waterproof coats so despite the rain, we had a great time. If you do walk the wall during a rainstorm, be very careful of your footing. In some places it is like a cascading stream as the water descends the steep stairs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City Walls also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Ancient City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing