We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ancient City Walls

Ancient City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.09*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Totally worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Brilliant! gorgeous views! Although tiring the hour walk around the walks was completely worth it! Good value for money too

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ailidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,298
    2,941
    301
    58
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the highlight of Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A must for any trip to Dubrovnik. Best to walk the walls late in the afternoon, when the cruise boat crowds have left, an hour before closing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidandMargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Even thrilling in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was drizzling while we walked the city walls but the experience was not dampened. Looking down on the churches and homes, getting a glimpse into back yards, school windows and the Stradum was exhilarating. Anyone who can navigate should include this on their itinerary.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montezuma
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simply amazing, worth every euro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I left it for my last day because I wanted to remember Dubrovnik from the city walls. One advice given from my host was to visit the walls early morning or late at night. I initially wanted to visit it late evening for the light but it rained so I ended up doing it early morning. I also started from the harbour entrance and that was great because there is no queue for ticket and you avoid this first big stairs to access the walls.

You think you've seen it all and don't need to visit the walls, well you are wrong, you have a totally different view from the walls, you can spot people's gorgeous gardens, the ruins, the Buza beach and bar, the Roman style bridge or the football pitch from the school. You'll also get a great view of the Stradum and of course of Dubrovnik's famous rooftops.

Not to be missed otherwise you won't have seen Dubrovnik.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank guaso2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karoo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

A must do even at 70 Kuna. The views are stunning although it can get crowded in summer. The best time is around just before sunset when the light is brilliant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City Walls also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Ancient City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing