We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but HOT view”
Review of Ancient City Walls

Ancient City Walls
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.45*
and up
Viator Exclusive: 'Game of Thrones' Walking Tour of Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 160 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but HOT view”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Me and my husband walked the walls by ourselves. I guess you could have more insight to the city if you had a guide to tell you about the history, but we wanted to save money (entering the walls costed some euros alone).

I had heard that the heat can be a problem, so we wanted to be "early" and we want there 10 AM. It wasn't early enough, but luckily we had 4 litres of water, sunglasses and hats, so we made it. We were there in August which is I guess the warmest month there.

It's a great opportunity to take breathtaking photograps, but the hot sun is also going to take your breath, if you don't prepare. So be early (or late in the evening), take good shoes, LOTS of water, good shoes and a peacufull atitude. Then you'll love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurella_316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,977
    3,092
    332
    64
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Take a camera, binoculars and water”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

You cannot visit Dubrovnik and not take a walk around the city walls. The climb up to the top of the wall is very steep and not suitabe for anyone with limited mobility and it may be difficult for small children because they are quite steep - but there was a couple who climbed in front of me and they had a child in a framed backpack type harness and another who was managing the stairs - very slowly...fortunately it was not a very busy day and I was grateful to have the excuse that the children were making the climb slow for me (it had nothing to do with me being unfit - honestly)
The views from the top of the walls were fantastic....you can see the effects of the war - ie the different coloured tiles on the roofs where the originals had been destroyed by shell damage - and you also get amazing views along the sea wall side of the city...giving fantastic photo opportunities to look back against the fort and the town.
Allow yourself time to be able to stop and look around - rather than just marching along - there are lots of little towers and ramparts to venture into ....the walls are almost 2km in length.
Taking a bottle of water is a good idea because there is little opportuntity to find somewhere to replenish your fluid requirements as you go along...there is a small cafe/souvenir shop about half way around - but the selection is limited.
Taking binoculars enables you to look across the city and up into the hills - spotting the Napoleonic Fort perched up on the top of the hill
there is little shelter along the top of the walls - so this would be a problem in the hight of summer - I was there on an overcast day and it was quite breezy along the seaward side - so have something to cover up with and a poncho to keep the rain off if it rains - a brolly would be too much of a proplem for other people walking along and you are very exposed to the elements - therefore the potential for it blowing away would be high if it was windy
If you have limited amount of time to see the walls - because you are on a tour and have to be back at a meeting point - don't try to see them all - I only managed to get three quarters of the way around - on a not too busy day before I had to try to find an exit point to enable me to leave and get back to my tour meeting location.
Thoroughly enjoyed myself and would certainy go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank S00ty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I went to Croatia in May 2011 and took in the beautiful city of Dubrovnik. The tour group I was in did a guided walk of the City Walls. They are so high up once you climb the steps and this gives a great view and perspective of the old town. It is intimidatingly fortified even now, and provides unbeatable views of the Adriatic Sea to one side and up to the local mountains (complete with Cable Car) to the other side.

A must see is the Buja Bar which is situated on the side of wall and to get there you have to find an old wooden sign that says "Cold Drinks". The bar itself is a little metal frame construction with thatching for a room that doesnt look like much but the view more than makes up for this. If the weather is nice you will get a few daredevils jumping from the outcrop rocks into the Adriatic Sea down below, some 10-15 metres or so.

It is quite an effort walking up all of the stairs so take some water, comfy shoes and your fitness!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great way to see city from a different angle”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Get away from all the tour groups pounding the streets of Dubrovnik and get up on the walls for a different view of the city. Its fascinating to see into the back yards, houses, building etc from a different angle plus yoy get great views of the sea, cliffs etc.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Salesman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Stunning, but just a pity you can't return with your ticket”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Amazing views right the way round the city. We would loved to have gone back, but once you have left, you need to buy another ticket which seems a bit steep. So, if you have a Dubrovnik card, pick your time to view the walls, and it is worth going round twice since you do spot different things on the second time round.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ancient City Walls also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Ancient City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing