We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!”
Review of Villa Sandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Sandra
Ranked #258 of 517 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent a week at Villa Sandra: the large apartment and the room next door.
The villa has an excellent location in the district of Lapad, close to Lapad beach, supermarket, bus station, boardwalk and playground for children (2 parks).
The gravel beach is not very wide and not very suitable for small children (in our opinion) - comparing to those in Spain, Turkey, Cyprus.
We had to use mosquito spray, especially outside!
To reach the old city you have to take bus no.6 and the ticket costs 12 kuna - one way (1.6 euros).
With the help of the owners we have rented a car and made a day trip, very enjoyable, in Montenegro (Kotor, Budva): car rental and gasoline cost about 80 euros (50 +30).
But it was a problem with the hot water in our apartments and room: almost half the time we had no hot water (at different times of day). The owners have tried to fix this, but they explained that the house is full of tourists and their system is overloaded ...
The Simatovic family, villa owners, kindly answered our requests. But we believe that in peak season they would need help on the maintenance and cleaning of the villa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndraBrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

3 mins walk from the promenade, friendly owners (great neighbours renting out scooters also - make a bit of business there also. They are nice people too).
As I said: Hard to imagine that there should be better value for money than this.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank came99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Sandra for 5 nights. Biserka was just wonderful. The Villa apartment was very comfortable, had everything we needed. Some great eating places very close to where we stayed. Easy access to bus number 6, that takes you to the old city....short trip.
Would definitely stay at Villa Sandra again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yambaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The apartment is well appointed and is within walking distance of the beach (about 10-15 mins) and closer still to a popular promenade that boasts many restaurants and a lively night life.

The apartment was very comfortable with separate lounge room and bedroom. Bed was comfortable and we slept well.

Apartment is located in a quiet one way street but it is not located close to the fortified old town of Dubrovnik. However you can catch a bus nearby that takes you there. We enjoy walking and it took us about 45 mins to walk there.

The kitchen in our apartment was on the small side but functional for our 3 nights stay. It had everything you needed. We didn't cook much anyway so it didn't matter as there are many cheap places to eat.

The one way street means you have to go a long way around to get there as it is a fairly long road but its not too much of a bother.

What made our stay all the more enjoyable is that we found the owners fascinating. Their stories about what they endured during the Serbian-Croatian war and the sacrifices they made to help others were inspirational. Their advice on where to eat and what to see was also much appreciated. Try and sneak a few minutes of their busy life and have a chat.

They also went the extra distance to make our stay comfortable by providing tea and coffee for us and also some snacks after a long journey.

Avoid getting the apartment located closest to the road as it is right on the road's edge. The other apartments were very quiet.

Our apartment (second from the road) had its own little courtyard where you could sit and have a coffee or cold drink or a meal. The local cat would come and visit you to say hello.

If you are looking at staying close to the old town then this is not the place for you. However if you want to be reasonably close to a beach (and you dont mind walking that 10-15 mins to get there) and also to a nice restaurant strip that aligns a park then this is a very good value place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid getting the apartment closest to the road as it abuts the road edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izramSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is the 4th time we have stayed at Villa Sandra and on each occasion we have stayed in a different room/studio. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our holiday. The accommodation is excellent value for money. The location is good for us as we would prefer to be away from the crowds in the Old City of Dubrovnik. The bus stop is at the bottom of the road and takes you there in about 10/15 minutes. This time we stayed in Apartment Studio 1. This is ideal for a short stay. Everything you need is provided in the small kitchen, tea towels, washing up liquid etc. There are basic toiletries provided in the shower room. There is also WiFi access available. There are many bars, cafes and restaurants within a short walk. At this time of the year it is fairly quiet. Biserka had arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport. Both she and her husband are very kind, friendly, helpful and informative.
We had a lovely time here and hopefully we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ExCymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It was a great pleasure to stay at Villa Sandra. The owners are very friendly couple who offered a lot of good tips on how to get about and where to go for a delicious meal. Perfect place for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justynaschleiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Me and my new wife have just stayed at apartment 1 at this villa on our Honeymoon and had a great time. It offered us a more economic way of experiencing Dubrovnik without compromising on quality. We were able to explore the Old town and the other local interests within a ten minute bus ride which was cheap and frequent.
The hosts are very warm and friendly and are happy to give local insight into what is worth a trip and what to steer clear of. They made our trip even more special through their hospitality but still gave us complete privacy.
The apartments were well equipped and very nicely decorated - good quality throughout.
Lapad itself is a good base to stay in. There are local restaurants and bars of a good standard when you can't face the hassle of the old town which is great for couples and families. There are also good beaches and rocky outcrops to bathe on. We would really recommend the 'cave bar' at Hotel More for a special evening.
Other comments about Dubrovnik - we enjoyed the sea kayaking, a walk up Mount Srd, the city walls and visitng the local islands of Lokrum and Lopud.
When visiting the local islands dont get the planned excursion days - you can get a local ferry for half the price and takes the same amount of time.
Dubrovnik is amazing

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieron r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rock Palace Apartments
Rock Palace Apartments
#189 of 517 in Dubrovnik
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,001 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sandra

Address: Kardinala Stepinca 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 517 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $80 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing