We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik
Ranked #169 of 496 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent value apartment”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed 7 nights in Apartments Kovacec in September 2011. Our studio apartment was clean and comfortable and the host family were most obliging. Walking to Dubrovnik Old Town takes 20-25 minutes, with some lovely sea views along the way.
If you are looking for basic, budget accommodation in this stunning city, we thoroughly recommend Apartments Kovacec.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruisedpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We so enjoyed our stay which was the first of many in a 6 week journey. Felix was very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were of an average size and clean. The location is perfect, walking distance to the old city and breath taking views from terrace.

Room Tip: be specific with bed requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Felix made us feel right at home, he helped us with our luggage, gave us lots of tips on places to go and things to see and nothing we requested was ever an issue. As it was off season he even kindly upgraded us to the larger room. My husband and I were there for his 30th and so his sister had flown from Australia just for the weekend.

Yes, the towels were tiny but the room was clean, the beds were comfy, the internet was great, the tv had lots of chanels via the satellite (including many some parents may want to watch out for.... lots of photos even though you cant get to the actual chanel if you know what I mean).

We had a very lovely stay, the location was quite good, short walk to the beach, only 15 mins to old town, a bus there if you needed it, and the bakery downstairs was a lifesaver |(oh and a convience store just 5 mins walk too).

Thank you Felix, we will stay with you again if we are ever in town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieChick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

When we got to the apartments I was very happy to meet Felix, he seemed like a really nice guy and after reading most of the reviews on here I was certain we would love our stay in the Apartments Kovacec. Sadly, we didn't. Since we were there off season it was pretty cold. The owner did not turn on the heat for us before we got there and it was freezing in our room all night. We didn't blame him for the first night though since it is definitely not a winter apartment, we understood that it wasn't usual for him to have guests at this time of year and he gave us the place at a really good price. By the next morning it was warm in the apartment and we left early to go walk around all day. This is when it got really aggravating/weird. We'd come back to our room and our heat would be off and our window(s) would be open! No one would replace towels or toilet paper, but they could definitely save on heat and make our room unbearably cold! To top it all off it was only about 8 degrees outside sometimes colder. definitely not open window weather! The owner would also unplug our computer and just let it die. Every night we would come home it would be freezing and damp in the whole place from him leaving the window open while it rained off and on and our computer would be dead...which wouldn't be a problem except that the only way to get internet is to take your laptop outside, it worked in the room once, for about an hour. I thought the point of an apartment over a hotel room was the price and the privacy. We definitely got the price, which was great but not the privacy. Having someone snoop around in our room turning off and on things is just strange, especially when we're paying for the heat in the first place! We didn't even get the free drinks that was promised on the website and although Felix was very friendly to our face he did not make us feel welcome by coming in every single day while we were out sight seeing. A few other strange things was sometimes we'd find our clothes moved around and our TV channel would be changed (although we weren't sure if that was him or the TV) It was really creepy to find things moved, turned off, and unplugged. Definitely not staying there again...even if the price was fantastic

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ea12586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We have stayed in Kovacec apartments last November.Owner Felix was an excellent host giving us the best directions and advices about restaurants etc.Apartments we found spotesly clean,quite and comfortable equipped with high speed internet,plasma sat/tv and fully equipped kitchen and private bathroom.Location is perfect close to the Old town,stores and restaurants with bakery below terrace.
We were very satisfied and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Booked into Apartments Kovacec after checking out rave reviews on Tripadvisor. Perhaps we were expecting too much for the price but we were disappointed. The entrance steps were dirty, the location just above a busy main road was not ideal, the furniture was cheap and tacky, the wifi didn't work etc etc. It just felt as though the owner was taking things for granted - as long as customers kept coming there was no need to do much more than the minimum. Sorry to be so negative but we wouldn't like other people to be as disappointed as we were.
PS It's quite a long walk to the old town down a very busy, noisy main road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbolton43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dzmija, Owner at Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik, responded to this review, October 4, 2010
your review suprised and set me aback.we are always trying to do our very best to satisfie our guests.As you know,you have arrived from long and tiresome trip from Hvar/Split travelled by
ferry and buses.I have offered refreshment(welcome drinks) but you refused.Also I helped to set up wi fi conection.I brought out on terrace my laptop and your partner used a few times in two days
you stayed with us.she told that "her computer don't like me?!"We are located in the very hearth of Dubrovnik on main road but apartments are away of noise and you heard nothing in apartment.
Distance to the old town is 10-15 minutes easy walking for normal people not for people with healthy/walking problems.For yor info we have many permanent/returning guests and they were giving us excellent reviews.I can't beleive that they are all dummies /giving wrong reviews.
Regarding cheap and Tacky? furniture I would like to remined you that you fould brand new
twin beds(I could buy cheaper double bed),brand new eco leather seats,lcd sat/tv etc.etc.....
We are only 3 star rated apartments not 5 and I feel sorry you were not satisfied.Anyway we are always trying to improve our offer giving the best possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Kovacec Apartments are located in a perfect spot - you can easily walk to the Dubrovnik Old Town, but also to the Harbour, where you can take a boat to any of the island. We got a triple room with 3 single beds, separate bathroom and a kitchenette. The place was very clean and equipped with air-conditioning, satellite TV, fridge.

The owner, Feliks, speaks a very good English and is a very pleasant man. He is very helpful and is happy to answer any of the questions regarding sightseeing, weather, local places, food, shops. On the last day, he ordered us a taxi that took us to the bus station. A few days after we checked out, he sent us an email wishing us a very good time in Croatia (Dubrovnik was our first stop).

You will not be served breakfast, but there is a bakery literally a few steps away - it is open 24/7 and serves many Croatian pastries, called burek as well as drinks, yoghurts etc. There is also a supermarket 5 mins away.

There is a wireless internet access.

The place is classified as a hostel by some places, but I think this is very unfair. I stayed in many hostels before and I would never include Kovacec Apartments in this category - it is well to comfortable, too clean and too well-equipped to be called a hostel.

Thank you, Feliks.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUFFINSKI1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,473 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Orsula
Villa Orsula
#33 of 68 in Dubrovnik
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apartments Junuzovic
Apartments Junuzovic
#143 of 496 in Dubrovnik
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rooms Nada
Rooms Nada
#89 of 178 in Dubrovnik
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
House Cvetka
House Cvetka
#39 of 178 in Dubrovnik
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik

Property: Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik
Address: Pera Chingrije 10 | Vis-a-Vis Hotel Bellevue, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 496 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik are located in Pinewoods in the very heart of Dubrovnik close to the old town, beaches, restaurants and stores. We offer five quiet and comfortable apartments (2,2+1,2+1,2+2,2+3). Each unit is air-conditioned, TV/SAT, equipped with kitchen and private bathroom. You can also use splendid sea view terrace with tables, sun beds, and grills. There is a lobby with a coffee machine and beverages. We are here to welcome you with drinks on terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Kovacec Dubrovnik Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing