We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Antea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Antea
Ranked #13 of 483 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great location to stay in. The Old Town is expensive and touristy, it's so much better to stay out of the Old Town and use the cheap and efficient travel options to visit it. We were a group of 4 so a taxi was about the same price (about 70 kuna) as the bus fare for 4; hence we didn't use the bus. However the bus appeared a very convenient option with the stop close by and the regular timetable from early until late. Getting a taxi was easy as there was a free phone to use in the apartment and they seemed to come very quickly! On the way back all the drivers knew where the apartments were. We were welcomed to the apartments by the very friendly and enthusiastic Damir - what a lovely chap. He looked after us beautifully and the home made drinks were very welcome too. The apartment was clean, comfortable and well equipped. There's a PEMO shop nearby for stocking up on groceries, about a 5-10 minute walk, uphill on the way back so a backpack is recommended to avoid plastic bags cutting in to hands!! We used the pool for free at the Valamar, which is reasonable walking distance and we were very pleasantly surprised by how big and nice it was! Well worth a visit. Although the rooftop pool at Villa Antea has a lovely view and is great for a bit of sunbathing with comfortable facilities. The Babin Kuk area has its own little promenade with cafes and restaurants, within walking distance, which is cheaper than the Old Town, so it's quite nice to mix it up a bit and stay local some evenings. All in all we'd highly recommend Villa Antea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    54
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
47
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just back from a week at Villa Antea. Some good and some definitely not so good. We were picked up from the airport and arrived at the villa 30 minutes later where we were greeted with a welcome drink. So far, so good. The studio we were given was OK but the next day we were told we would have to move rooms the morning after - I was about to protest but was told it would be an upgrade to a one-bedroom apartment so we went with it and came to the conclusion that it was worth the inconvenience . So, overall still happy - we were finding our way round the area and finding that it was easy to get into the Old Town by bus. The view from the rooftop terrace and pool is very nice too. But imagine our surprise when, on the Tuesday night as we made our way past reception on our way out, we were asked by Damir if we had been told we would have to move again the next day - this time back to a (different) studio.

Now I am not faulting Damir at all in this, he was most helpful and friendly throughout the week. But we told him that being asked, or rather told, to move again was not acceptable and asked what the reason was for this, the answer we got was that they had had some problems with hotels.com (the site we booked with) and had accepted a booking for this apartment from somebody else. I said that I wasn't happy with being messed about like this, especially given the short notice, and wanted to speak to the owner in the morning.

The next day, we had a knock at the door from one of the cleaners, who basically explained the same story to us, she was very apologetic and understanding and said she would phone the owner and ask him to come down and give us an explanation and would also ask him about offering a discount for the inconvenience. He arrived around 15 minutes later but as he doesn't speak much English, he had to pass us over to Damir on his mobile to explain. I then asked Damir to speak to him again and tell him in no uncertain terms that this was not the way to treat paying customers. The owner did not seem at all interested in what I had to say and was only interested in getting us out of the room ASAP. His attitude to the whole situation seemed to be "I'll do what I want, this is my villa". I told him that if we were forced to move for a second time, I would expect some form of discount. He flatly refused this and after a further exchange of views ended up offering a bottle of wine instead!

In the end he ended up rudely snatching the key out of my girlfriend's hand which riled us further - there was no need for him to do this as I had already agreed via Damir that although we were pretty angry at the way this situation had been forced on us, that we would move (short of staging a sit-in, I don't think we had an alternative).

I guess he felt that unsettling and annoying us was the lesser of two evils compared to telling a couple who had booked the bigger apartment that they were being downgraded. But then, why move us from the studio in the first place? We'd have been perfectly happy to stay put for the whole week, isn't this what you'd normally expect?

It's a shame that this had to happen - while we were not going to let it ruin our week, it certainly took some of the gloss off it. The apartments themselves are of a decent standard, and you have the beach, the nearby Valamar hotel with fantastic pool, and shops/bars/restaurants all within 10 minutes walk. And Dubrovnik is a wonderful city!

I can understand that sometimes mix-ups and double bookings happen but both the way it was communicated to us and the attitude towards sorting the problem out was completely unacceptable. I'm afraid that the customer-focused, helpful attitude of Damir was not shared by the owner (I see from some of the other reviews that this isn't the first time he has treated guests in a rude, arrogant or underhand way) and that has made all the difference.

Room Tip: The third apartment we stayed in (13) was very noisy with an echo-y hallway directly outside the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HoiPolloi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were disappointed by these villas. Yes, there's a pool - but after one long stroke you've reached the other side. Yes, it's near the beach, but after twenty-five minutes not five. Yes, it's good for families but we had one family playing football against our door, a screaming baby in another apartment from six in the morning - the acoustics in the hotel were terrible, you could hear people blowing their noses in other rooms. The staff only work from 14h00 - 21h00 which we didn't like, especially as they take you passport away which you need for trips and things. You have to pay in their currency and you can't change the length of stay which we wanted to as we weren't particularly happy there. Overall, it made an average summer holiday which ended up being very expensive and incurring a fortune in bank charges.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our apartment was opposite the bins, and the hotel is next to a ROAD. The pool was TINY; just divide everything you see by 2! The staff come and go when they want to! But, you're near Copacabana Beach, and the bus stop. The place is clean, with all the facilities, but nothing special. The views aren't great, and you can only see the sea from certain apartments. Very average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night after flying into Dubrovnik on our way to Montenegro. We got in around 8pm and it was helpful to have a member of the Villa Antea staff waiting for us at the airport (35 euro for airport transfer). Damir gave us a good overview of the sights, restaurants and shops nearby and how to get to old town by bus. We left our bags in a secure room at reception to explore the old town for a half day before taking a private taxi to Kotor, Montenegro. The owner of Villa Antea drove us into old town himself (and only asked for a good online review in exchange). Even though that request for a good review was a little off-putting, we did enjoy our one night at Villa Antea nonetheless. We asked the owner for the cost of a private transfer to Kotor but the price he quoted us was high (we heard him say our nationality to the taxi driver on the phone). We found that the first taxi we found outside old town quoted a much lower price (more along the lines of what we'd seen online) so we went with him instead. The air conditioning worked well (which was essential since it was 98 degrees F when we were there) and the apartment was clean and comfortable. We would have stayed longer if we'd had more time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a week long stay at Antea with my partner. The apartments are perfect for everyone!

They are in a great location, close to Copacabana beach and 100m away from the bus stop.

We arranged to be picked up from the airport and the driver was there waiting for us as we arrived. On our way to the apartments he pointed out several points of interest and gave us lots of information on trips etc.

Check in was quick and easy, the room was very clean and had plenty of space for us to spread out into. The staff on reception went above and beyond to help us organise our holiday. The terrace is small but never busy, at most there was 6 people up there and the pool is lovely and refreshing, although small again never busy. The apartments were nice and quiet and the balcony had a great view of the bridge.

The beach, bus stop and supermarket are all in walking distance.

You need to get the number 6 bus to the old city which costs 15KN (£1.80 ish) and takes about 10 mins and runs every 10 mind until about 2am. At first the fistance to old cuty originally put me off but once you have completed the journey you see it is best to stay outside of the old city.

The old city itself is beautiful, you can walk the city walls (90KN), we did this around 7pm and got to the large fort in time for sunset, it is beautiful! The views are great and this is definitely a must for the to do list! Old city is full of bars and restaurants and is good for a wander.

You can take a boat trip to local island (250KN) which is amazing of you can get a Jadrolinjia ferry from Gruge to the islands for much cheaper. Lopud is the most impressive by far. There are offers of taxis to the other side of the island but we preferred the side where the ferry docks, the sandy beach is much nicer and the water is cleaner.

We did the kayak trip around the old city which was well worth doing (250KN).

We also hired a car and drive to Bosnia(!!!) I was quite apprehensive but it was amazing! We visited Medjugorje and Mostar. We also drove to montenegro and visited Budva (horrendous! Wouldn't waste my time! the beach of Sveti Stefan is much nicer) and Kotor (beautiful with an old city).

We manage to fit a lot into our week long trip but still managed to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed mid-June for 7 nights and couldn't be happier with the accommodation. Nice clean self catering apartments with balconies/terrace. We arranged a transfer from the airport with the apartment owner for 35euro. We were welcomed with home made brandy and Damir who works at reception explained everything to us including the local amenities, buses, restaurant recommendations etc. This was a really nice touch. The thing we were most impressed by was the infinity pool on the roof top of the building - fantastic views and great for a dip after a hot day in the old town! Bus stop just outside with a service every 10mins to Dubrovnik old town. Bus takes about 10-15mins and runs until 1am. 10minute walk to the the bars and restaurants in Lapad and also use of the large pool at the nearby Valamar
Club Hotel. Damir is a real credit to Villa Antea and was very cheery, friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank L0_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Antea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Antea

Property: Villa Antea
Address: Iva Dulchica 24, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 483 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Antea 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a large rooftop terrace with swimming pool and deck chairs, Villa Antea Apartments offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi and LCD satellite TV. Buses leading to UNESCO-listed Old Town stop just 80 metres away, while the popular Copacabana Beach is within a 5-minute walk. Located on the picturesque Babin Kuk peninsula, Antea Villa provides free private parking. The Old Town can be reached in a 10-minute drive. Antea's swimming pool is maintained using the electrolysis, without the use of chemicals. It is available from the beginning of May until 21 October every year. Air conditioning and a private bathroom with shower and hairdryer are standard facilities in all units. A private safety box can be rented at a surcharge. Guests can also use the pool at Valamar Club Hotel free of charge. The hotel is within a 5-minute walk from the Villa, just above Copacabana Beach. There are numerous supermarkets, restaurants and other beaches within walking distance from Antea Apartments Villa. Transfer service to the airport as well as laundry and ironing services are available upon request. Change of towels is offered daily upon request. Babin Kuk is a great choice for travellers interested in relaxation, old town and scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Villa Antea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Antea Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing