We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tirena Hotel
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Bangor, County Down
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights end of September/start of October. The hotel is part of the Valmar group of hotels and they are all set in a lovely park near the sea in Babin Kuk. What we liked:- 1. Breakfast - served downstairs in the restaurant - excellent choice; 2. Room comfortable and refurbished. Excellent shower. Mini bar. 3. Cleanliness - the hotel is extremely clean! 4. Pool - superb but just too cold the time of year we went! 4. You are right on the bus route - No 6 takes you in and out of Dubrovnik. Tip get it from The President Hotel and you should get a seat!! 5. Lobby bar - it was nice and relaxing and you can sit on the terrace. 6. Hotel is built onto a shopping centre of sorts. Great local restaurants, mini markets and souvenir shops right on your doorstep. 7. The beach - 5 minute walk through the park. Pebble Beach, you have to pay for sunbeds, best wear aqua shoes. Crystal clear water. 8 We may have been the youngest guests there! No screaming kids. 9 Staff - very friendly. Spoke excellent English. On hand to help with anything. 10. You can use the facilities of the sister hotels - we enjoyed our little tour around them all.
What we didn't like 1. The first day we arrived the pool bar was open. The next day it was closed!! Plenty of thirsty people around the pool wanting a drink and you had to walk up to the lobby bar. This was not good. 2 The weather - bit stormy rainy and windy a couple of nights and our room was freezing!! We had to put the extra duvet on. Terrible draught came through the balcony doors which definitely need upgraded to double glazing!! 3 The lady on tourist desk was very unfriendly and unhelpful on our 2nd day. 4. Sunloungers at the pool are a bit hard on the back - could do with some mattresses!
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We really didn't know what to expect. We thorougly enjoyed our stay and ran out of time to do and see what we wanted to which means we will have to go back!! Dubrovnik is fantastic. Would we stay at Tirena again? Yes but we would have preferred a seaview room and some double glazing! However excellent food and value for money and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview balcony if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank alicat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Tirena and for taking your time to write this helpful review.
I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel. Thank you for sharing the things you liked in our hotel, and as well the points on which we need to focus on improving, as our goal is to constantly improve our service.

I hope to see you again in hotel Tirena and util then please let me extend warmest regards from whole Tirena staff.

Best regards,

Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    274
    108
    31
    9
See reviews for
113
287
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited Croatia 'last year' (never thought to write a review so its 2012) as part of our travels after Uni. Choosing a hotel wasn't a short process there are a lot out there geared up for different guests needs I imagine. We were very lucky in that the Tirena was just what we were looking for. Upon check in the staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending places to visit and generally going above and beyond. We had a balcony room overlooking the walkway to the pool and were quite happy with the amenities provided. Well enough with that! The Food/Restaurant! I would recommend this hotel purely based upon the catering! I was working as a full time chef at the time and had high expectations for Tirena. Ignore any comments slating this hotel for the staff and the food, my girlfriend and I were surprised at the range and quality of cuisine available for a 3 star hotel. We would find ourselves excited for breakfast and similarly excited for our evening meal. I would recommend Blû, a prosecco we shared a bottle of most nights. Never a dull staff member they all made us feel welcome and began to recognise us, frequently conversing with us about our day and where to go tomorrow. So many people go with preconceived expectations about a hotel. Just go and CHILL out Y'all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tomavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
“Excellent review” we are absolutely thrilled at your impressions of Tirena. We really “do” care about our guests and we strive to always be at their disposal so your comments give us a new boost of confidence and energy to keep caring about our guests and seeing to their needs. Our chef Dario will be delighted to read such words of praise from a fellow chef regarding the food quality. The best possible recommendation is to read that you were excited prior to eating at our restaurant and for that all of us send you a big Thank you!. We look forward to greeting you again in Tirena on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Loved the hotel, rooms were clean and comfortable. Pool always had enough sun loungers. Breakfast buffet best I've ever seen, very difficult not to over indulge with so much choice. Enjoyed the facilities of other sister hotels on the peninsula. Easy 10 minute bus transfer to city. Helpful locals and easy to book boat trips etc. Most people speak excellent english.
Highlights of trip include walking the city walls, kayaking 1/2 day trip and sunset drinks at hotel president.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guests
Great review and many thanks for staying with us. Great to hear you have enjoyed your stay and have taken home some lasting memories. Who knows, we might see you again for some more breath-taking views from our next year's newly refurbished hotel Presidnet.
Yours sincerely
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Positives

Great food with lots of variety
Free wifi throughout
Pleasant and helpful staff, with 'hands on' management
Comfortable rooms
Impeccably clean throughout

Negatives
Feral cats roam freely outside the hotel
Some noise on occasions at night, but from premises outside the hotel's control

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julianna462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for a great review of our hotel. I am happy to read that you were fully satisfied with the entire hotel and all aspects of the service and the amenities. We look forward to maybe seeing you again, the pleasure will be all ours and please let us know if and when the time comes if we can be of any assistance.
Yours sincerely,
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed 7 nights here on a group tour. It's a 15 minute bus-ride from the city (no. 6 bus, every 10 minutes, tickets in hotel shop = 12 Kn or on board = 15 Kn). The staff are very welcoming, efficient and multilingual; all have excellent English (as it seems do most Dubrovnik citizens). Rooms are comfortable and spacious enough but avoid the front of the hotel as incoming and outgoing coaches can be noisy. Ask for the quietest room possible. We asked for a room change and were shown three rooms to choose from. Thanks to Toni at reception. Beaches are nothing special but we were there for the city really.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool. We moved to there and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toro24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your words of praise regarding our hotel and our service that we provide.
I am happy to read that Toni took good care of you and provided you with the best possible room to choose from. Until your next Dubrovnik visit I send you warm regards from the entire Tirena staff.
Nenad Marić
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after the Le Meridien, Lav so it was a bit of a come down. Reasonably good on basics, but the restaurant was very noise and the food lost its appeal after 4 days. One good aspect was the fact the chefs did cook meat and fish at the buffet. 15 minute bus ride to centre of Dubrovnik.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for commenting regarding your stay at our hotel. I am happy to read that you have enjoyed our quality of the food and our chef preparation in the restaurant. I am sorry that Tirena was a come down after Le Meridien Lav, however since Tirena is a three star hotel and Le Meridien is a top class five star hotel it is expected for the hotels to be of a different quality. However we do our best to provide the best possible service to our guests which is always giving us positive remarks from our clients.
We hope to see you again in Dubrovnik and until then I send you best regards,

Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This turned out to be a very pleasant 4-day stay but only after having to change our bedroom. The first room we were given was down in the basement and the smell of damp hit your nose as you descended the stairs. We were not the only ones to refuse to sleep down there. Aside from that problem which we finally overcame we thought the public rooms were good, food excellent and the hotel itself was in a lovely position. We did (and so did others) have one very noisy night due to excessive drinking by the sound of it as the hotel is in a public park. Good bus service into town and walking access through the park to a small beach area. Lovely city, beautiful country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor. Those with sea views are lovely. Its worth having to pay the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenad M, General Manager at Tirena Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for commenting on your recent vacation in Tirena. I am happy to read that you liked the hotel as well as our food and services offer. On the other hand I am sorry that you had unpleasant experience with the first room allocated and let me apologize on behalf of the hotel as we recently had some problems with a couple of rooms in that area of the hotel due to outside unpredictable occurrences.
Hopefully you will be visiting Dubrovnik again, and until then I send you all the best from the entire Tirena staff.

Nenad Marić
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Valamar Argosy Hotel
Valamar Argosy Hotel
#19 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#27 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.3 mi away
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
Berkeley Hotel & Day Spa
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lero
Hotel Lero
#21 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#16 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirena Hotel

Property: Tirena Hotel
Address: Iva Dulchica 36, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#24 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet haven close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik Located in the quiet natural surroundings of the Babin Kuk peninsula, the Tirena Hotel is ideal for a relaxing holiday close to the vibrant historic centre of Dubrovnik. Enjoy sunbathing next to the spacious outdoor pool or on the nearby Dubrovnik beaches. Taste traditional Dalmatian dishes and watch your meal being prepared right in front of you in the hotel's buffet restaurant. Explore the historic centre of Dubrovnik and then take a boat to the idyllic islands in South Dalmatia. For an even more fulfilling holiday, there are excellent entertainment programmes, a variety of sporting activities, and luxurious wellness centres that you can use in the nearby Valamar hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tirena Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing