We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That place should be on your bucket list”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you want to discover the true soul of the most beautiful place in the world, The Pucic Palace is where you want to start. Placed in the heart of the Dubrovnik gives you the oportunity to start your day with great breakfast or peaceful coffee at Stradun. And then of to Lokrum or some other islands near Dubrovnik for discovering great history or just enjoying sea and beaches.
And when you return to The Pucic Palace in the evening...well, you will discover what have they prepare for you. (been there in June 2010).

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samo_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of The Pucic Palace Team I would like to thank you for your kind comment and recommendation of our hotel. We hope that you will return to beautiful city and in our hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for The Pucic Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 454 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly personnel and excellent location. A bit noisy during morning hours due to cleaning procedures in the main square. Other than that, breakfast (included) is very decent and in general good value or money ratio. There are also few parking slots reserved at an extra price (which we didn't know upfront, but it's ok)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank juliePire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of The Pucic Palace Team I would like to thank you for your kind comment on Trip Advisor. I apologize for not informing you that we offer parking slot for at an extra charge and I hope that that inconvenience did not have an effect on your general impression of our hotel.

We hope that you will return to our beautiful city and our hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

dubrovnik is a treat itself. Great place, well kept, incredible atmosphere. This small hotel is the only one right in the center of the old town. It is located in an old palace wich has been well restored and adapted to a hotel. The rooms are nice and cosy, the personnel is very nice and kind. My only question is: is it really a five-star hotel?

the restaraunt is just average....

I would sugget this hotel for its incredible position and if you like the charme of history.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giorgioeguiomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of The Pucic Palace Team I would like to thank you for your comment on the Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to hear that our hotel did not fill your expectations due to average restaurant quality. Usually guests are satisfied with both service and food in our restaurant.

We hope that you will come back to our hotel, so we might have a chance in changing your opinion.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in October, 2013 and were very happy. Lovely hotel right in the Center of the walled city. Staff is super friendly, rooms are extremely well decorated and spacious as well as the bathroom. Everything is sparkling clean. Many good restaurants close by. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esti11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of The Pucic Palace team I would like to thank you for your kind comment. I am glad that you have noticed great effort of our Housekeeping department which is keeping our hotel sparkling clean.

I hope that you will return to our beautiful city and to our hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in for Valentines day 2014. From the moment we opened the door all the staff without exception were very welcoming. Upon entering they addressed us by name as they were expecting us and they were very attentive. Our room had a view of the square and was very nice. The bathroom was particularly good with a roll top bath as well as a shower. Free wireless is a great advantage. The bed was comfortable and large.
The hotel was easy to find and only a 5 minute walk from the pile gate. They offered to meet us at the gate but this seemed unnecessary to us( still a nice touch though). The hotel is well located in the old town close to most of the tourist attractions not to mention shopping restaurants and bars. Given the season( very low) many bars and Resturants were closed. This gave the hotel a real opportunity to shine. We had dinner in the on site Cafe Royal and had some of the best food I have ever tasted. Added to this the waiters were very helpful suggesting local wines and food. Breakfast was served in the same location and was also excellent.
I was there with my wife ( our kids were with my parents) but we saw other residents with children and noted highchairs were available, another plus point.
I genially think I would be unable to visit Dubrovnik and stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were in room 7, on the second floor with a view of the square
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you on this wonderful comment you have posted on the Trip Advisor. Our team appreciates you noticing their professional and personal characteristics.
We all hope that you will return to our beautiful city and our hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights in February and seemed to have Dubrovnik almost all to ourselves - it's a brilliant time of year to come if you want to avoid the crowds.

The Pucic Palace is THE best place to stay if you want to be right at the heart of the walled city - the rooms look out onto a beautifully restored market square, you're within five minutes walk of more or less everywhere (Dubrovnik isn't that big), and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. It's the only hotel within the city walls, so you get the magic 24/7 - all the other hotels of comparable quality are situated outside the old town so you have to walk in and out every day.

Our room was stylish, with the character you'd associate with an old building yet it wasn't remotely shabby or crumbling. Great views, loads of storage space, a safe, mini-bar, a comfortably cosy bed, windows you can actually open, air conditioning if you need it, and a fantastic bathroom - everything you need for a city break. There's complimentary wi-fi throughout the building and you don't need a degree in IT to log into it.

The only thing that could improve it (in our opinion) would be if you could make tea or coffee in your room, and if I had to give any tips/advice I would say to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. This is not because of noise from late night revellers, but because such an old city has a large number of churches - and churches mean bells! Some of them chime at fairly regular intervals, and don't expect a lie in on a Sunday unless you are a fairly heavy sleeper.

The staff were fantastic. From the porter who met us at the entrance to the city and wheeled our luggage to the hotel (no cars are allowed within the city walls), to the Receptionist who arranged our hire car - and who advised us against driving to Mostar as there were anti-government demonstrations going on that we didn't know about! - to the waiters in the restaurant, all were helpful and professional throughout our stay.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but this was superb and being served was a nice change from the usual buffet style. Included in the room rate was as many pastries as you could eat, followed by cereal, yoghurts, fruit, pancakes, omelettes, and a plate full of eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, etc. You could have exactly what you wanted and it kept us going for a large chunk of the day.

With regard to Dubrovnik itself, as I said before it's very small and can easily be explored in a day if there's not too many people about. A walk around the city walls is a must (you will go home with a camera full of photographs of roofs), as is a visit to the many churches and museums that are open in the winter. If you're a fan of Game of Thrones you can spend time location-spotting (I gather they film there every September).

The city is beautiful. Clean, safe, and just gorgeous.

We were sorry that the museum of war photography was closed, but we did visit the Dubrovnik memorial museum which commemorates all those that lost their lives during the Siege of Dubrovnik in 1991, which I highly recommend. We found plenty of bars open (and were welcomed by the locals, even when our appearance increased the average age in the place by a good 25 years!), and although some restaurants were closed for the winter there were enough open for us to try a new venue for lunch and dinner each day.

We hired a car and instead of driving to Mostar (Plan A) we drove to Montenegro (Plan B) instead, which was really interesting (a hire car cost us 45 Euros for the day - if the four of us had booked on an excursion it would have been significantly more than that, plus we had the freedom to stop and start as we wished). The drive around Kotor Bay and a visit to Kotor Old Town is well worth doing if you have the time.

So - Dubrovnik in winter: highly recommended. The Pucic Palace: I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of The Pucic Palace team I would like to thank you on a such beautiful and extensive comment on the Trip Advisor. Compliments you gave us mean the world to our team and we are glad that you had a great time both in Dubrovnik and in The Pucic Palace even though you did not come in the hart of the season.

Moreover, I would like to thank you for your suggestions and be sure the management of the hotel will take them into account.

We hope that you will visit both our beautiful city and hotel again.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just the perfect place to see in the New Year, the staff were amazing and professional and very friendly. The room was amazing waking up in the morning and knowing you've spent the night in a palace of the medieval town of Dubrovnik is enough to blow your mind. Just perfect

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirjana K, Director of Sales at The Pucic Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

In behalf of the Pucic Palace Team I would like to thank you on your comment on the Trip Advisor.
I am very glad that you have decided to spend NYE in our beautiful city and in our hotel.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,070 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#20 of 68 in Dubrovnik
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#18 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $199 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing