We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff made our stay”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The staff made our stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We just left this hotel within the city walls of Dubrovnik. It is billed as a 5 star, which it is for Europe. I tend towards luxury travel only, or off the beaten track, and this had both. The rooms were large with lovely bathrooms, beutifully finished in a style paying allegiance to the time when the building was made. The good:
Staff- incredible. Srinka, Hanan and Alem, along with Drinko in the cafe, all outstanding. It was my mothers birthday and they upgraded her room, prepared flowers in her room, and baklava, all complimentary. She was pampered, and loved it. Alem will make dinner suggestions. You will think you know better. You are wrong. Just go where he tells you. It is an intimate, boutique hotel, and that is where the value is. Breakfast was served from a menu that you chose from, and were served, no buffet, thank the gods. The location is ideal, within the city walls, everything a short stroll away. Really, though, the staff made our stay.

Only suggestions, go with their car from the airport or get instructions for the taxi so you aren't trekking around the city with your suitcases.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank smoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you liked and ejoyed your stay in our hotel and in Dubrovnik. We do hope that you will come back and be our guest again.

Thank you once more, looking forward to see you in future.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    83
    20
    15
    6
See reviews for
54
234
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, WY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For those who like to stay in the historic center, Pucic Palace is ideal. We enjoyed a lovely room with great amenities. The staff is truly superb - helpful and warm. The connection with East West Beach was a definite plus, and we spent two days enjoying the beach. I highly recommend the Pucic Palace!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYJetlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed in Dubrovnik. Hopefully you will have more opportunities to come back and visit our beautiful town and hotel. We are certanly looking forward to see you again.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is one truly charming hotel, with very helpful staff and very pleasant rooms. Said to be the second oldest in the city (and the only one in its class), it is ideally located in the heart of old Dubrovnik, one can't dream of a better location. Unfortunately the price is simply outrageous and the breakfast a disappointment by 5 stars standards. Highly recommended if money is no object and one wants to be immersed in the old town's atmosphere or to explore it at leisure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al29252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked our hotel, however we are very sorry for your gastronomical experience. Our breakfast is a la carte so you could choose whatever you wanted. If there were some problems with food it woudl be great if you have only addresed our waiter of F&B manger himself while you were here and we would do the best to repair eventual mistake.
However we do hope, that inspite of this it will not be your last time in Dubrovnik, and that we will have an opportunity to see you in Pucic Palace.

Kindest regards
Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in the Ivan Gundilic room which overlooked the daily market and was absolutely beautiful (albeit a bit noisy). The staff was incredibly helpful and the room was just magnificent. The bed in particular fell out of heaven! The breakfast was a little disappointing for a 5-star hotel, the food not being as fresh or well prepared as I would have liked. But despite that, would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your coment on Trip Advisor . We are very happy that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in Dubrovnik . Our breakfast is a la carte breakfast as you have seen and there is great variety of food on the menu. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with food. Until your next visit we will definitely work on breakfast improvements.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed in the hotel for three nights, 23rd - 25th Aug 2012. It was my first trip to Dubrovinik and I could not recommend it more. Usually I am a very critical person when it comes to hotels but I couldn't fault Pucci Palace.

It has a fantastic location by the strardum which is only one minute away, its next to the market, a short walk to the walls and very close to the harbour. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, great spacious bathroom with a powerful shower and the room had a really comfy large bed. We stayed in room 12 and the views were great. Some reviews have mentioned noise but we didn't hear any despite looking directly over the market.

The Breakfast room was beautiful and bright, friendly waiters and a wide variety of food on the menu. I recommend the delicious fruit, pancakes and scrambled eggs. The hotel also provide a pass for a beach just outside the walls where you can get free sun beds, however the beach was very crowded,the staff rude and the food and drink facilities were poor. I would suggest walking around the harbour and sitting there as you can get access to the sea for swimming, its more picturesque and relaxed.

The atmosphere in cafe royal, one of the hotels restaurants, was fantastic. We sat in the market square and enjoyed good food listening to a violinist, very romantic.

Make sure you visit Oliva, a restaurant just down one of the side treats near the hotel, the food and service was brilliant, I recommend the lasagne bolognese.

I really recommend this hotel but if your not going to stay here make sure you still stay in the city walls, its worth it!

Room Tip: Room 12 had great views and was very spacious, couldn't have asked for anything else. Perfect ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanroyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Dubrovnik and The Pucic Palace hotel. Concerning the staff at the beach, we are sorry if you have had some unpleasant moments, we will definitely talk with the management of the beach in order to improve their service there.
We hope you will have an opportunity to visit our city and hotel next year as well.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Expected more for the money but still liked the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Loved the location. Yes, it is somewhat noisy but I could spens quality time just looking out the window. Able to walk to just about anything.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the square - noisy but interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotKosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we didn't fulfill your expectations concerning our hotel. If there were some things missing we would be very happy if you have had pointed out them on time. I hope we will have more opportunities in the future to show you that we are 5 star hotel where our guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

at these prices I expected a bigger room,fresh linens every day, fresh fee water, flowers. Towels that are not frayed, free movies, and staff responsive to requests for fresh towels etc Prices vary by hundreds of euros depending on who you are speaking to basically the place is a rip off at 350 euros per night for 2people

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayqueen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on Trip advisor. We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay in our hotel. Our hotel is very old building that is proteced by UNESCO as historical heritage as it is everything else in the old town. So room sizes are restricted by the orignial size. Concerning all other things that you have written; bedsheets are always fresh and clean and if you are staying more days than they are being changed every 3rd day.

I hope you will come back to Dubrovnik and Pucic Palace.

Kindest regards

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Property: The Pucic Palace
Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing