We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel and city break destination”
Review of The Pucic Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pucic Palace
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel and city break destination”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

What an amazing hotel, excellent position and incredible level of service but without the feeling of being crowded. Great to be able to go to the beach with towels and sunbeds supplied. Rooms clean, good size, well decorated and well presented even down to the chocolate on the pillow at night. Staff always had a smile and nothing too much trouble. Look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time and share your positive experience from Pucic Palace on Trip advisor. It is our pleasure to see that we managed to make your stay in our hotel unforgetable and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    83
    21
    15
    6
See reviews for
54
235
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

From being met at the opening to the city walls to the high ceilings in the bedrooms, everything about this hotel has something a little special about it. With all holidays, the service is paramount & the staff certainly did the hotel proud. In one example, a female member of went and found the restaurant we had been advised to try and made the booking, ensuring we got one of the best tables.

It was to celebrate our wedding anniversary and though it is expensive in comparison to some other hotels, for a short luxury break it’s absolutely perfect.

The walk to and initial view of the hotel in one of the big squares is impressive, the interior quite stunning with the art and grandeur & we loved our room up in the eves (room 16). Prior to the visit i had requested the room as a previous review had said it was good for romantics & my wife loved it, so a thumbs up for room 16. Note: There is no balcony or windows at head height, the windows are in the skylight.

Breakfast was fine, all delivered to your table, no self-service. We also eat in the restaurant on the first floor & received a complimentary bottle of champagne as they had found out it was our anniversary. The food was delicious, fresh fish and a well-stocked cellar of excellent Croatian wines. The chocolate dessert was fantastic!

As per all the advice, we made sure we got up early and walked the walls & went up to the fort in the morning before the sun & crowds were too imposing. It’s well worth the effort. In the afternoons, we took advantage of the free access to sunbeds at the beach. Just ask at reception. Its a pebbly beach & quite crowded but we always found a place.

At night we found great restaurants and bars within easy walk of the hotel, one bar is a 2 min walk diagonal from the hotel across the square in to another big square, probably 3-400 people sitting outside, it’s a great atmosphere. Likewise, sitting in one of the many bars people watching on the Stradum is equally appealing and recommended.

The Pucic Palace is a great old hotel, lots of character and perfectly placed for a great weekend break in a wonderful city, we will definitely go back to Dubrovnik and the Pucic in the future.

Room Tip: Room 16 - very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad that Dubrovnik and Pucic Palace hotel made your stay and anniversary special moment in life. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel does NOT have a pool, but you are a 10 minute walk from a private beach club on the Adriatic Sea that hotel guests get to use at no extra charge. The hotel provides you with beach towells. The concierge staff is extremely helpful...they will do anything for you. The breakfast is wonderful...eat anything, drink anything...all included. You can eat in the dining area or out on the plaza.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows and are larger than others. Some face the plaza and some face the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhippetsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback. Yes it is true that we don't have pool because our hotel building is old nobel family's house and since whole city is protected by UNESCO it is impossible to adjust some modern amenities with medival buildings. In any case as you stated our hotel provides place at the East West beach club for all our hotel guests. We are looking forward to your next visit to Dubrovnik and Pucic Palace.

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Although very pricey, this boutique hotel is an excellent place to experience the history and charm of Dubrovnik. Our junior suite and it's two balconies faced the local market square and provided us with many pleasant hours of simply watching the Dubrovnik world go by - by day, the market stalls and by night, the outdoor cafes with historic buildings as a back-drop. The immaculate room was huge, the furnishings authentic and the bed extremely comfortable. There may be only one other room at the hotel with a balcony so do inquire when making a reservation.

The service at the hotel is very personal with the front desk always ready to assist with suggestions for enjoying Dubrovnik and arranging sidetrips, ours to Montenegro for the day with a well-informed and very personable driver. Be sure to arrange in advance for the hotel to pick you up at the airport and assist with your baggage as the entire walled city is pedestrian only.

The hotel has a cafe/restaurant for breakfast or lighter meals, including dinner. The Terrace Restaurant atop the hotel enjoys a beautiful setting, overlooking a side street, and serves only dinner. We did not eat here but suspect the food maintains the high standards of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyMalibu_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are happy that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay in Dubrovnik. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards!

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager & Guest Reslations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is located in Old Town, everything about this hotel was wonderful. The location is perfect, the room was very comfortable and the bathroom very well sized. The breakfast was included and located on the first floor with a view of the square. The food was very good and you were able to order anything from the menu. The staff made this a memorable stay, they had great suggestions for dinner and handled the reservations for us. They organized our transfers to and from the the airport. We had several quesitons about the city and different activities and they made great suggestions and helped book a kayak adventure. During this trip we stayed in 5 different cities and this was the best hotel and the best value. The service stood apart from the rest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very glad that you had wonderful stay in our hotel and that you liked it so much. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for chosing Pucic Palace for your stay in Dubrovnik. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest regards
Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
326 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I were charmed by this hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were "six star" in comfort, elegance, and convenience. The location within the walls was ideal. The personnel were most friendly and helpful. Definitely contributed to our enjoyment of Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: Room 16 for a coupče is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CintiKidCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We are very glad that your stay at Pucic Palace contributed to your experience of Dubrovnik. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I went for a long weekend to Dubrovnik with my family and I chose the Pucic Palace as it was the only hotel in the old town...and don't they charge you for it! The hotel is probably one of the most expensive in the city (even with the pre-pay discount), but it is central, well decorated and with antique furniture.

I chose a room over-looking the central square. In retrospect, this wasn't really worth the money. The rooms are clean, however, they can appear a little dark sometimes. The products in the bathroom are not Bvlgari any longer, but organic local produce (much more my style, anyhow). The beds are comfortable and the rooms have all the amenities one would expect for paying the price for it.

The stairwell of the hotel is also pretty with lots of old art.

Breakfast is not that great, to be honest. We ate there as it was included in the room price, however, there are lots of nice bakeries around the city which sell excellent food.

Dubrovnik is gorgeous - but with prices to rival Venice (and it's currently not EU!) A walk around the city walls is a must, stay away from Gills - overpriced and not really that spectacular (except the ambience). Montenegro is well worth a visit as is Mostar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller88888london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucic, Guest Relations Manager at The Pucic Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review.We are glad that your long weekend in Dubrovnik was succesfull and that you enjoyed your stay. Concerning the breakfast, our hotel offers a la carte breakfast with big choice of meals on the menu. All of your comments are most welcomed and appreciated. Thanks to them we can improve our service. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Josipa Pavlovic
Quality Manager and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#16 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pucic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pucic Palace

Property: The Pucic Palace
Address: Od Pucha 1, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#17 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pucic Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pucic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Hotel Dubrovnik
Pucic Palace Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing