We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Me and my husband just came back from Dubrovnik, staying at the Dubrovnik Palace, and have to say what a fantastic place that was.

Now to the hotel part: starting with beautiful room which had it’s own little balcony and stunning view of the sea and Elaphite Islands. Breakfast at the hotel would satisfy any fussy eater, the buffet style comprised any type of eggs you liked made before your eyes, pancakes, waffles, different type of meats and cheeses, to the huge variety of cereals with nuts, dried and fresh fruit and yogurts. Big variety of breads, croissants… you name it.

The hotel itself is not located in the old town area but there is a free shuttle bus taking you to the old town in about 10 minutes running every hour, or there is also bus no 4 stopping just outside the hotel also going to the old town. You could try walking but we always found that whenever we wanted to venture out there was a bus just waiting.

The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool located at the beach with little Jacuzzi on the site, there also is smaller pool for the young ones. The is a bar at the beach, which is conveniently located so you can order while still in the pool. There is stunning restaurant overlooking the sea or for more affordable option there is also a snack bar located on the opposite site of the pool. There is also another restaurant at the top floor and an indoor swimming pool which we didn’t really had opportunity to inspect as the weather was fantastic.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful making our experience absolutely perfect.

I’d recommend the hotel to anybody, no matter if you are in the group of friends, family or just want a romantic brake for just the 2 of you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katnzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

Dear guest,


Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel. It's always a pleasure to hear that we do our job well and that our guests are satisfied with our hotel and service.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Yours truly,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,666 - 1,672 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

This hotel is quite outstanding. I booked direct with the hotel and dealt with a lovely lady called Katya. She not only answered my many questions but was extremely helpful and most keen to ensure that I was happy.

I arranged for a transfer from the airport - there were four of us altogether and the hotel organised a luxury mini van which was waiting for us.

Check in was quick, friendly and very easy and we were quickly shown to our rooms. Now a hotel is often judged on what happens when everything goes according to plan but should really be judged on what happens when it does not.

I had specifically requested two double bedded rooms, high up so as to have a good sea view and if possible adjoining, We got two out of three - our room was a twin. Our friends had a double and were next door and we were on the top floor. We rang reception and within minutes the maids were in the room and proceeded to change the twin beds into a large double with the aid of a mattress sized sausage which was placed between the two beds which were then made up as a double. I had my doubts but it was wonderfully comfortable and you could not feel the join.

We then went to the pool and had some lunch and when we returned to the room later we were horrified to find a serious amount of ants on the table and on the bed. Within minutes the maids were back and had changed everything, sprayed the room and found the source of the problem - an infestation on the balcony that had made their way into the room when we had opened the door earlier. The maids cleaned everywhere and went to great lengths to reassure us that we would not be troubled any more. When we went out to dinner that evening they were waiting for us to leave so they could get back into the room and re spray and clean the balcony. We never saw another ant on the balcony or in the room but the maids checked and sprayed outside for the next couple of days.

The room itself - we were concerned after reading several comments on this site about the size and it being small. We travel all over the world, staying in 5* hotels and while the rooms are not oversized, it was more than adequate for our purposes. We stayed at the hotel for ten days and at no time found it to be small. It was extremely comfortable, with a table and chairs, a tv that managed to find the World Cup matches and plenty of storage. The bathroom was also not over large but nor was it small - it was serviced to the highest of standards and was left spotless twice a day. There was also plenty of toiletries left, and when my husband told the maid he had a cold, she left him an extra box of tissues!

The pool area was quite blissful with excellent service from the bar staff. There were more than enough chairs and there are several areas to sunbath if you dont want to lie by the pool.

We used the girls on concierge on several occasions - some were more helpful than others in their suggestions but all were only too happy to spend time helping and advising us. The hotel is about a 12 minute walk from the Promenade in Lapad with plenty of bars and restaurants and several tourist shops - it is an uphill walk back fyi! The hotel runs a courtesy service into Dubrovnik and we used it on several occasions to get to town but used a taxi to return as we were later than the bus. The hotel also had a special offer of a luxury car to town which was not expensive as there were four of us. Public buses also stop right outside the hotel so although the hotel is situated in a quiet area it is by no means remote.

We ate in the hotel a couple of times - the first night in the buffet - it was fine but typical of a good upmarket hotel buffet and was ideal for us on our first night. We also ate in the Taverna which was wonderful - lovely fresh fish and we sat overlooking the sea. Service was very good and the cost was no more than some of the good restaurants in town. Breakfast every morning was outstanding - there was the largest choice of everything I have seen in a long time and I over indulged on a daily basis.

Everyone we encountered in the hotel, with the exception of a very grumpy barman, went out of their way to be of assistance. I used two of the three boutiques in the hotel - in both cases received excellent service. The spa was was wonderful and the indoor pool, used one day when it was a little chilly, was as good as any and extremely large.

All in all this hotel is pretty much perfect - it is stunning and beautifully decorated, well maintained, all the public areas are spotless.

If I had one complaint it would be that it would be nice to have had an ice maker on the floor - it is a pain to have to ask for ice to be delivered and then wait for it but that is the only fault I can find. We asked for a kettle for the room and a tea tray was delivered, and refreshed everyday. I forgot my adaptor and within five minutes one was brought to the room.

This is a well run hotel, by people who want their guests to feel valued and it shows. We would return in a heatbeat.

As for Dubrovnik, it is a wonderful location as a base to enjoy some of the most beautiful scenery we have ever experienced. There are some wonderful restaurants in town and surrounding areas and everywhere we went was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggablemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a lenghty observation of our hotel and services rendered. We are sorry you had problems with ants which could not have been anticipated.

It's always nice to hear that our guests feel comfortable and satisfied.

We hope you will visit us soon again.

Kind regards

Rade Malobabić,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This place was AMAZING, we stayed here for 3 nights and everything about it was perfect. Staff were friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. The facilities were superb, lots of restaurants to choose from with a range of prices (not too bad for a 5 star hotel) and food was very good. Pool and sea area is very beautiful with the swim up bar a particular favourite. We stayed here early June and there were always plenty of sun lounges avaliable. Towels and apples were provided on arriving down at the pool. The rooms were incredibly clean and the room attendants were thorough in their jobs, they even turned down our beds in the evening and left chocolates on the pillows every night :) The views are stunning and the common areas of the hotel are very classy and enjoyable to be in. Overall I would highly recommend this place to any couple looking for a romantic getaway or relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starbelliedsneetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

Dear guest,

We are very glad to hear that you passed the amazing time in our hotel.

Next time you come we hope to have some more facilities to make your stay even more memorable.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards
Rade Malobabić,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel has nice views, but that's all. First of all, it definitely needs renovation as everything looks so shabby. Second, it's far from the city center (Old Town) and you need a cab every time you want to go somewhere - not convenient at all. The service was average. We stayed hat this hotel for 4 days, and didn't feel that it was worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your note printed on TripAdvisor web pages.

We have noticed that you were in our hotel in September 2009. Since the beginning of this year we made a great effort to improve the service and offer in our hotel. Among other things now there is a regular free of charge shuttle connecting our hotel with the Old City.

We hope you will visit us again and I'll be glad meeting you!


Kind regards
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

We loved the Dubrovnik Palace! The hotel is in a gorgeous location, the rooms are spacious and the pool/beach area is fantastic for afternoons relaxing and watching the sunset, especially with the swim up bar.
There is also a free shuttle bus service that goes every hour into Old Town, which proved to be very useful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your remarks edited on TripAdvisor pages.

We are happy to hear that you spent nice holidays with us.

We hope that you will choose our hotel again when you visit our beautiful town.

Kind regards

Rade Malobabic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We honeymooned in Dubrovnik and decided to spend our pearl anniversary in as Lord Byron describes it "The Pearl of the Adriatic". Our first impression as we entered the hotel was WOW, the view was stunning. We had a standard room on the 6th floor and we were not disappointed the views were as stunning and constantly changing. When we mentioned to the hotel staff we had been 30 years ago for our honeymoon they were delighted we had chosen this hotel, and while we were out they placed some flowers in the room and a lovely letter congratulating us on our special occasion. We did not use the restaurants in the hotel but this was only because we were revisiting old haunts and memories. The hotel was quiet when we were there and we had no trouble with corporate guests. The pool area was quiet and staffed with curious friendly staff. It was lovely to visit a place that has changed little over the years, we are very pleased we chose the Dubrovnik Palace and would recommend this hotel to anyone. A very romantic holiday and hope it's not another 30years before we visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petunia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Dear guest,

We are glad to hear that we made your pearl anniversary unforgettable. We are also honoured you had chosen our hotel for your honneymoon and repeated the same 30 years later.

We are looking forward to meeting you soon, sooner than 30 years!

Kind regards

Rade Malobabic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We travelled to this hotel with two other couples for a relaxing long weekend on 10th June 10.
First impressions of the hotel as you enter reception are very positive. A huge picture window provides a superb vista of the stunning sea with surrounding hills and islands. We booked standard rooms which were on the 2nd floor and were disappointing. For a 5 star hotel I expected more. The rooms are small and nothing special, something you would get from a standard 3 star business hotel in the UK. The balconies are also small and uninviting. Of the 3 rooms we booked 2 had trees right in front of them which made it difficult to enjoy the view.
The facilities at the hotel are lovely with a number of restaurants, bars, diving centre, and night club.
The location is stunning with the outside pool and sunbathing areas right on the seas edge where you can enjoy the view which we never bored with.
The area directly around the pool is quite small and if you want a sunbed by the pool you will need to be at the poolside reasonably early.
There are a number of places to sun bathe in addition to the pool with some secluded on the sea front.
The staff were efficient and very friendly, we used the 2 outside restaurants on the sea front and the food was very good with views to match. We also used the Sushi restaurant which was also good.
The hotel is a conference hotel and so apparantly have regular corporate events and conferences. This happened whilst we were there and so for a day the hotel became very busy especially around the pool and sunbed areas.
Whether you feel that this is a 5 star hotel or not will be based on what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Personally, I think its more like a 4 star hotel.
Having said that there is no doubt that this is a lovely hotel and will be a great base for a trip to Dubrovnik, which is a stunning walled city. The old town is about 10 minutes away by taxi however the hotel runs a complementary shuttle bus fairly regularly.
We had a great relaxing time and I would recommend the hotel and Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubrovnik-palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of our hotel with other Tripadvisor readers. Each comment is taken very seriously by our management and we constantly work on improvement of our rooms as well as our services and ammenities.

We are glad to hear that despite your remarks on rooms size you passed nice holidays.

I must say that we are aware of the fact that our standard rooms should be larger. Our moto is to do our best to exceed our guests' expectations in hotel services. We are planning to enlarge our standard rooms very soon.

The greenery around our hotel has expanded and grown so much since the hotel was built and many of our guests enjoy walking in the shades of the trees. We are very proud that we among those who would like to preserve the nature.

Once again thank you for all of your observations. It will be our pleasure to host you again in our hotel.


Kind regards,
Rade Malobabic,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
796 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: $120 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing