We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
New Y ork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel !”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace July 14 -18 2014 and so glad we picked did ! Excelent location, away from busy Old Town and with their own pool and beach and access to the beautiful water of Adriatic Sea. There is a bus that stopps right accross from the hotel that leaves every 15 min (you can get tickets at the reception). The bus takes you to the Old Town Pile Gate in 7 min.
The ticket is 12 kunos round trip if bought at the reception and 15 is bought in the bus. Tottaly worse staying away from the Old Town. Breakfast is excelent on the terrace with great views !

Hightly Recomended !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your amazing experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor and for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,153
    576
    173
    47
    23
See reviews for
294
1,096
64
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Dubrovnik Palace is a typical large, corporate style hotel that exudes space and minimalist features throughout, from the vast entrance/reception to the external grounds. Very similar to an Iberostar style hotel.
The location is somewhat 'out of the way' of anything else although the bus link located right outside the reception is very good and within minutes you can be Dubrovnik old town, for only £1.20 !
The bedrooms are small but adequate, clean and have lovely views out onto the coastline. No tea and coffee facilities which is a bit odd for a 5* hotel.
There is only one real outdoor pool for the use of guests which is far too small for the amount of guests (300+). There is a v small children's pool and then a further outdoor pool which is used exclusively by VIP guests therefore out of bounds which isn't made clear on website.
I also dont quite understand why they claim to have a beach area
...which is basically a bathing platform and the sea! Don't get me wrong, I loved this area and how you could just step into the lovely clear water off the jetty. It is however very misleading to call it a beach!
All staff v friendly and attentive.
Dubrovnik old town is quite simply unbelievable....and has to be a 'must see' location in everyone's wish list.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and for posting your review. We are glad to see that you found our staff to be very friendly and attentive.

As far as the pool concerned it is indeed only large outdoor pool but not all 300 guests are using it, as many prefer to swim in the sea.

Due to the configuration of coastline in Dubrovnik most of the beaches are concrete platforms and there are no typical long sandy beaches that one would expect when it comes to a term Beach.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel and hope we will get the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

At breakfast as I watched a cruise ship sail in front of the hotel, it struck me how very much like a luxury cruise ship this place is. Expansive and expensive, opulent and decadent. Like a good ship, this is a very well run joint, the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient, not in a methodical way, but in a genuine way, at all levels, everyone was eager to please, couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. They are indeed a credit to the place.

We stayed here for 3 days so the guys in our group can go diving with the Blue Planet dive centre located in the hotel (awesome access to the sea and great dives right in front, by the way). I agree with all the praises heaped by previous guests, indeed this place is as good as it claims to be. The view is indeed gobsmackingly gorgeous whatever the weather. There are very few places in the world where you can work out a sweat on a treadmill while admiring the 360 degrees vista of the sea and islands beyond at the same time (oh i forgot, except on a cruise ship of course). Not my kind of clientele though, too many bodies lazing around the pool, grumpy looking tourists who seem to be expecting more from whatever money they have paid to stay in this place. Having said that, like a cruise ship, you can do as much or as little as you want here. There's several swimming pools: 2 by the sea, another one at the top, oodles of deck chairs, tennis courts, a gym, hiking tracks (do go up the hill behind the hotel - there is well worn track with grand views of the headlands from the top, beautiful wildflowers providing splashes of colour everywhere) etc. and of course, you can always hop on Bus# 4 to visit the old city. By the way, it sooo easy to get to the old city as the #4 bus terminus is right in front of the hotel and there's one leaving every 15minutes. I bought a 3-day Dubrovnik card for 200 kunas which included 10 free bus tickets + free entry to key sights in the city including the city wall (this alone costs 100 kunas so its absolutely good value for money). Also get cheap bus tickets at 12kunas from reception instead of on the bus which is 15kunas. Really, it is so so much better to stay in this hotel than in the city, what a relief to get away from the maddening crowd at the end of the day's sightseeing.

The hotel rooms are a bit small but believe me there's ample space available if you're clever enough. Because all rooms face the sea, they are all private, even from the balcony you see no one but the sea and the view beyond, perfect! We stayed on the 4th floor by the way, not fussed about the trees in front as every other post seems to worry about, nice to have them to frame the gorgeous view anyway. Needless to say, i am most impressed by the service of the cleaning staff (my room was serviced twice a day, the evening service turned down my bed, emptied the bins, closed the curtains and left a yummy piece of chocolate on my pillow. Awww!). Whenever I meet them in the corridor, they are ever so nice and always cheerfully say hello to me. The bathrooms are furnished with fluffy absorbent towels, slippers, bathrobes and some basic shampoo, lotions and conditioner (do bring your own, they're never as good as what you are used to). But oh I must make mention of the great ceiling shower head, what luxury, it was like standing under a waterfall of lovely warm water after a long hot day in the city. The airconditioning can get supercold but if you open the balcony door it stops working and lets the beautiful seabreeze in.

The breakfast buffet is by far the most impressive of all the hotels we've been in, more so because of the awesome views from wherever you sit. The wait staff were delightful, ever so quick in topping up our cups with hot freshly filtered coffee. After just one day, we got to know them by their first names, and by the end of our stay, we were like old friends! And what a spread! It would take me a week to go through every section of the buffet - the muesli/cereal/nut section alone was amazing, heaps of yoghurt, pastries, bread, fresh fruit, eggs cooked to your liking, even pancakes to order! The bain-marie was generic though, the bacon was disappointing, the sausages were great, lots of mushrooms, potato wedges, grilled veges etc - really easy to skip lunch after a long leisurely brekky-cum-brunch. The best part was sitting on the terrace admiring the view of the sea below, pondering which part of the ocean we will swim in today.

If there's anything negative I have to say about this place, it's the dark, small lifts which are often filled with huge people and luggages making it a rather awful claustrophobic experience to be in. In fact, instead of waiting for an empty lift, we took to the stairs a couple of times (big wide staircases by the way so no problems for anyone at all). Oh well I suppose that's a little inconvenience to have for a popular hotel like this. All in all we got what we paid for in this place, some 5 star luxury for a few days before we moved on to more rustic, cheap and simple accommodation up north. Such a treat, so glad we chose this hotel for a short break!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view one way or another, nice to have different perspectives so don't fuss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and you certainly covered all the areas. We are especially grateful for your recognition of our staff and the service they provide.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My friend and I decided we'd like to re-visit Croatia having gone in 2008 to the island of Korcula. On the coach trip back, we saw Dubrovnik and promised to return one day. This year, we planned our return and decided that we would do a bit of a luxury city break, staying for 3 nights.

Much research was conducted as we had a list of things that were important. Sea views, a slightly more luxurious than normal hotel, ease of travel to the Old Town and value for money. We kind of blew our original budget but came to the conclusion that we should treat ourselves.

Having looked at many hotels, Dubrovnik Palace stood out as having all the necessary requirements. A hotel spa (just in case the weather was shocking), outdoor pools, situated right on the sea front and sea views to die for. It also has free wifi.

We booked through Travel Republic who I use a lot and booked the flights, transfers and hotel altogether.

The hotel is approximately 30 minutes from the airport and on arrival you may be mistaken that it 'doesn't look like much to write home about'. The frontage is uninspiring, but when you step inside you'll see why they've spent the money elsewhere!

We checked in and were surprised to be told that we had received a free upgrade to a junior suite. This was a lovely surprise and the room was really quite lovely. It smelt like it'd just had new carpets and the decor was modern with two bathrooms (one wet room and one bathroom). The balcony had views overlooking the sea and the terraces below to the outdoor pools. Our views were interrupted by trees, but it didn't spoil it for us and to be honest, every restaurant, bar within the hotel makes the most of the sea views and so you're never far away from an amazing sun view or sun set..

There are a selection of restaurants and I can highly recommend the Lean and Light restaurant on the top floor. Lovely meals and great views whilst you eat them! The Maslina Restaurant (a la carte) on the 1st floor was slightly disappointing but it may just have been our choice of meal on the night.

The staff were always very polite and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. You can buy bus tickets into the old town from reception which saves you a bit of time. The No.4 bus arrives every 15 minutes outside the hotel and takes you right into Dubrovnik Old Town where you can explore the city walls, take a boat trip from the Old Port or get the cable car up into the mountains and see a fabulous view of Dubrovnik.

Three things I'd recommend:

* Cable Car - costs 100kn (about £12) to see magnificent views.
* Take a boat trip around the Elaphiti islands - we took a boat (although in hindsight we should have got on a larger boat as ours was quite crowded). You can haggle with the operator as we saved 50kn and had a whole day out which included lunch and drinks (nothing special but better than nothing). Go from the Old Port as opposed to the new one as the trips are cheaper)!.
* Sit and have your dinner in one of the hotel restaurants and soak up the sun set.

Personally, I was glad that we weren't staying in the old town part of Dubrovnik. It's very busy and full of tourists. It was great to visit for the day and then return to the tranquility of the Dubrovnik Palace.

I'd recommend you take crocs or jelly shoes as access to swimming in the sea is via rocks (as is most of Croatia) and although there weren't too many sea urchins, they are about and you don't want to stand on one of them)!

The buffet breakfasts are quite immense - massive selection and I've probably put on a stone from all that I ate in the space of 3 days!

Great hotel, great location, great place to visit. Short city break, well worth a visit!

Room Tip: You could ask for a room that hasn't got trees in front of it, but to be honest, you'll stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Leigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We are happy to see that we managed to meet your expectations as you obviously did lots of research before choosing our hotel for your stay.

Thank you once again for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and we hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Recently back from 4 night stay at the Palace and we were very impressed. We had a sea view and balcony (both highly recommended)...the balconies feel completely isolated so you just look out to the sea. The pool was great and although 'beach' might be an over-statement, there are tons of beds right down on the big rocks by the water and steps there to make dipping in and out very easy.

I might have been put off by the bus to town comments but don't you be! Seriously, the bus stop is right outside the hotel front door, runs like clockwork every 15 minutes, you always get a seat because you're the first stop there and only takes 15 minutes and your'e right there. Fair do's, getting home again is a little more of a scrum but who cares, you're on holiday right? The scale and peace of the hotel more than makes up for it.

You'll probably want to head into town for dinner after a few nights of eating in the hotel - not that the food there isn't good, you just don't want to get cabin fever.

And don't forget to check out the very peaceful and lovely indoor pool and hot tubs on the top floor - if you don't want to be with the sunbed masses, there's always tranquillity up there!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloerfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you were very impressed with our hotel.

Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future and thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Dubrovniks best 5 star hotel. Location is second to none. All rooms have spectacular ocean views. Pool is almost on top of the ocean! Rooms are beautiful , clean and modern! The beach not a beach. Walk ten minutes to Lapad beach. The hotel to go!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind review. It is great to see that you as a TA top contributor found our hotel to be as one of the best in Dubrovnik.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I have just come back from a week in this hotel. It was obvious that the hotel had been refurbished and the room, although quite small and lacking some storage it had a spectacular view, we were on the sixth floor . We had to ask for the toiletries to be replaced as they were not done automatically and I would have expected tea and coffee making facilities in a 5* hotel. We upgraded to half board but the restaurant was very quiet in the evening and the choice of food was poor and drinks expensive. We could not have lunch instead of dinner as the main buffet restaurant was not open lunch times. There was a restaurant by the pool but people had to queue. If you are thinking of booking this hotel go bed and breakfast as there are so many eating places near by in Lapad or get the bus every 15 mins to Dubrovnik Old Town right outside the hotel.25(approx. £2.50) Kuna return number 4 bus up until 2.30 in the morning fantastic! Overall the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors get best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace. It is nice to see that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Regarding your comment on possibility of having lunch instead of HB dinner it is true that the main restaurant is closed for the lunch as half board includes breakfast and dinner. However, we provide in such cases possibility of credit for lunch in any a la carte restaurant at the hotel and if you mentioned this wish to any of our staff members you would for sure get the info on this.

Thank you once again for staying with us and hope we will get the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing