We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Base for Great Holiday”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Dubrovnik is without question the place to go in 2014/15. The Croatian's are warm welcoming and very proud people. The Hotel is functional and clean, but lacks a little soul. Fortunately the surroundings have plenty of soul and character to spare. Pool area is great as is the bar and food. Rooms are modern but on the small side for a 5 star hotel. Local bus services from out side hotel is excellent and very cheap.

We would go back but would find a hotel with a bit more character.

Room Tip: all rooms face the see and have private balcony's. all views are spectacular which is the defini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdagnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you staying with us and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to see that you found our hotel as a great base for great holiday.

Regarding your comment that hotel lacks a little soul we would say it is a matter of personal point of view and we are aware that sometimes one might get such a feeling as it is a large hotel.

Thank you once again for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and we still hope to see you on some other occasion.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,145
    572
    173
    47
    23
See reviews for
290
1,090
62
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent a week at this hotel in early July. Our room was on the 5th floor with great view of the coast and fantastic sunsets. The staff were brilliant, we were welcomed and looked after throughout our stay. There was a large EU event over several days whilst we were there so the hotel was very busy but we always got good service and would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly. Milan who drove the hotel minibus that was provided during the conference was excellent and always smiling, also Toni on reception was very helpful. We will definitely stay there again. loved the pools and spa, breakfasts were excellent, ate in the light and lean restaurant on the top floor, also excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors have unobstructed views as above tree line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your kind review. It is great to see that you enjoyed in your week stay with us in spite of the event that you are mentioning. We are also grateful for recognition of our staff.

Thank you once again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dubrovnik and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

After doing lots of researches on nice places to stay in dubrovnik , this hotel come top of the list and me and my boyfriend were very excited to stay here as it was a little treat for our short trip , and our excitement just stop as soon as we checked in. We were given the room key and left to our own devices to find the room, without even a little direction, very unwelcome! As soon as we found the room my holiday just wasn't the same, very narrow and nothing exciting about it and looked nothing like the pictures that were in the website, and the balcony that was meant to be big enough for two to sunbed in was only big enough for two little chairs, I was extremely disappointed and almost start crying ! Went to reception to ask them if we can have a nicer room , a superior one as the one we paid for , and I was told that's the only one available as they are fully booked with important people! ( that was a lie as u have tried to book one straight after and there were plenty to chose from on their website)
The hotel was clean and in a superb location, but the service ( maybe because we were wearing tshirts and we weren't important) was none existent! The bartenders by the pool were busy checking girls out then serving us, not once they offered us a drink when we were lounging around!
No one told us were the breakfast was served or where we could eat there, hence why we decided to go and spend our money somewhere else then eating there
All in all a very disappointed stay , we are going back in september( loved dubrovnik ) but this hotel went very down on our list! I will choose a three star hotel that hopefully has a five star room and service!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very sorry to read your review as it seems that you are under the impression that hotel cheated on you and that you were not given a room that you paid for. You were indeed in the superior room and you could not be cheated in any way as that is the lowest room type/category in the hotel.

Some of the photos that you have seen on our website under the section Rooms and suites are the photos of the suite balconies (the ones with the sun beds). There are 4 different photos in that section each showing different room or suite category. As soon as you select section Rooms (only) you get the photos of the two available rooms category Superior and deluxe. Once you proceed to booking options and choose a superior room you see the photo of that room type and there are no sun beds and large terrace over there. Unfortunately, we are not allowed to paste photos due to TA policies here but this can easily be checked on the website.

We cannot agree with your comment that you were less important for us as you were in t-shirts. Hotel was indeed a host of the Foreign ministers conference during your stay, but there were also 200 other guest in t-shirts on holiday just like you or for example reviewer Marie C (review above yours).

We are very sorry that you left the hotel with such impressions and that I didn't get the chance to explain you all this or perhaps that we check together our website on spot.


Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is our fourth visit to this hotel.
I can only say its get better and better.
A warm welcome on arrival, a super room with a great view out to sea.
The food and service was top notch.
We will be going again........

Room Tip: Choose a superior room, number 900 onwards. Chocolates on the bed too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and for your repeated vote of confidence. We are glad to see that with every visit your experience gets better and better.

Thank you for coming back and we are already looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here late June and loved every minute. The rooms have stunning views, the staff are very helpful and the whole place is exceptionally clean and tidy. Lots to do in and around Dubrovnik. Whether you like sightseeing or sunbathing this hotel is a great base for doing either or both! We visited Montenegro, and Mostar, as well as spending a day in the Old town of Dubrovnik, walking around the walls and enjoying the cafe culture. If you want to book trips we can recommend using Alpha Tours just down the road from the hotel, they are very organised, much smaller groups, and much smaller prices, in fact they were half of the cost quoted by our tour operator and you do basically the same. Be prepared for the heat if you visit Mostar it is the second hottest place in Europe so we are told, and indeed it was 90 degrees when we were there and apparently that was 10 degrees cooler than normal. Having visited Porec in 2013 and loving it, we decided to try another part of Croatia , Dubrovnik and the Palace Hotel did not disappoint. Would definitely consider returning. Thanks Dubrovnik Palace for a fantastic holiday. Will definitely be looking at returning to Croatia again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid your view being blocked by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirefriars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience from Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that you spent fantastic holiday at our hotel.

Looking forward to your next visit and thank you once again for staying with us.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Stunning Hotel, junior suites amazing, views stunning, go for beach bar lunches better value, pool spotless.

Old town terrific, check port arrivals for cruise liner docking and avoid up to 10000 people in 2 sq miles.

Would definitely go back, hotel staff amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo10ofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We found this hotel very impersonal and stark. It has no heart to it and the staff although efficient were not very accommodating or friendly. Our Room although on the 7th floor with a lovely view was very narrow and it felt very small. Not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel!! We attempted to upgrade but all the superior rooms were booked and on the second and third floor with no view! We did wonder who designed this hotel !!Dubrovnik is a beautiful city which we would recommend a visit but would definitely not recommend this hotel. We felt cheated!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are very sorry to see that you didn't like our hotel and that you "felt cheated". If we are not wrong you were in the superior room 717 and you tried to upgrade into one of the deluxe rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor. It is very important to mention that you were given the room type that you actually booked through the on line channel you used (we are not allowed by TA policy to mention the name of the channel). On that on-line channel there is a clear description of the room together with the photos and hotel did not cheat on you in any of that.

However we cannot erase the fact that you left disappointed and we are very sorry that we could not discuss and clarify this during your stay.

Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing