We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 star views”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked a junior suite for 2 nights in late June. It was pricey but the room turned out to be fantastic. Great views and very comfortable for the 3 of us. There were 2 bathrooms too which was a pleasant surprise. Only 2 gripes: we weren't allowed a late check out, and the doors in the room wouldn't close properly: you had to use elbow grease to slide them into place before they would close!

Breakfast was standard fare, nothing spectacular. Most staff were courteous although we had hoped they would be more helpful. Shout out to the server at the Lean and Light cafe, Ivica, he was great!

Overall, 5 star facilities with 4 star service. Might try one of their sister hotels instead if we ever go back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    588
    175
    47
    23
See reviews for
303
1,122
67
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is on the opposite side of the old town to the other two and is more remote. It is not within walking distance but there is a number 4 bus which apparently goes every 15 minutes.It is situated on the tip of a peninsula with fantastic sea views. There is a lovely pool area by the sea. The indoor pool and gym facilities are also very good. The Taverna restauarant is right at the waters edge and serves excellent food, if a little pricey, and we actually ate there both nights of our stay.On the negative side the main restaurant is like a cafeteria and I have not seen on so busy at breakfast time since I was on a large cruise ship. This hotel caters for the masses and you might feel in the minority if you don't have a tattoo! The building, location and staff would make it 5 star but the clientele make it 4 star, just. On the plus side it was the only hotel of the 3 that served beer on tap!
The large balcony made the room the best out of the 3 hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussijerseytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The hotel is in a good location right next to the bus that takes you directly to Old Town. It is also within walking distance of Lapad and a scenic, but hilly running path. The hotel has two pools - indoor and outdoor, 3 restaurants, and on a beach. The staff are friendly. The buffet breakfast was decent; just a confusing layout and the buffet dinner was pretty good. The only complaints are that a king size bed is actually two twins put together so there was a crack in the middle of the bed and the cleaning staff didn't replace our toiletries until we asked for it to be. Also, while we were there, there was a big rainstorm and the top floor of the hotel was leaking. If you're looking for a hotel in Old Town, this is not it but this was a great alternative about 15 minutes away by bus that has some great amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

On reading some of the latest reviews, I wonder if we were at the same hotel. We thought the Dubovnik Palace was a lovely hotel. Having stayed in many 5* hotels, yes perhaps it was not as luxurious as some, but we loved the fact that its location was perfect (situated at the end of a road surrounded by beautiful views of the Adriatic and ensuring peace and quiet). The bus service was excellent - a 12 minute ride to Dubrovnik every 15 minutes and after a busy day's sightseeing it was great to escape the crowds to return to such a lovely hotel. If you buy a Dubrovnik Card (1, 3 or 7 day) you get bus trips and entry to the City wall and some museums which represents good value for money). The staff we encountered were very friendly and particularly the chef who cooked our fish in the buffet restaurant every night who was always cheerful and chatty. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were of excellent quality, all freshly prepared and regularly changed.The previous reviewer complained about the lack of baked beans - for goodness sake you come on holiday abroad to try different foods and leave chips, beans and the like behind. Our room on the third floor had a perfect sea view and was spotlessly clean and contemporary. Yes the drinks prices are not cheap but you are staying in a 5* hotel and if you want cheap drinks then find yourself a cheaper bar in the City or stay at a 3* hotel instead. The pool area is always going to be busy but there were plenty of sun beds to go around and we did not have any trouble finding a free sun bed at all times during the day. Dubrovnik is a wonderful City with beautiful views, sights and would recommend taking a boat (about £8 return) from the harbour to Cavtat, a lovely little fishing village with superb waterside restaurants. Also a day trip to Ston and Korcula was excellent and one we booked through the hotel's excellent Katya who was informative but not pushy when recommending day trips. If you want excellent food, friendly staff, peace and quiet and wonderful sea views, then this hotel is hard to beat.

Room Tip: E mail the hotel in advance to secure a room higher up if a good sea view is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 105AmershamAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Entering the hotel you have a panoramic view of the Adriatic Sea and anticipating the same from the room, as emailed hotel in December requesting a room high up with wonderful views. What a mistake that was - room was on lowest floor with minuscule view of sea and lots of screening plants. Phone didn't work in the room so had to go go to reception to request room change. Reception staff not that interested in changing rooms advising they were fully booked. When requiring milk for tea in room went to restaurant as phone still not working and they attempted to charge 8kn. Next day after going to reception yet again, advised would move to 6 floor later in the day. Returned to reception yet again advised moving to 5 - this time room view with large pine trees in front of window blocking half the view. 1 pillow on each bed and 1 spare - really??? Drinks in bar pricey, breakfast OK, toiletries adequate. Paying for a fantastic view from reception or pool area is not value for money. Coming from 5 star hotel in Prague this is more like a 3-4 star hotel. Positives are Renato and Mario at reception ( after room changed) were both very pleasant and eager to please. Room service staff efficient and cheerful. Bell staff were friendly and courteous.
Checkout 12 md is good, with Renato extending to 1pm very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Attempts to request room with view were not met - obviously a waste of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafferty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. Looking at your reservation we can notice that we received it in February through the on-ine channel without any special remark on the floor preference. First information on this for us was after you checked-in. Room 113 that you were first in is the room with balcony sea view just like all the others. We were not able to move you immediately as hotel was fully booked and we agreed to move you next morning. However, you left for an excursion which again postponed your move until afternoon.

We are glad that you found our staff to be pleasant, efficient, cheerful and eager to please. This is the most important.

Thank you once again for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and we apologize if we were not up to your expectation when it comes to room allocation.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Got here and was checked into a room which had a sea view obstucted by trees, we went back down to reception to say we wanted to change rooms because of this - we were given another room, but this again had a view but obstructed by trees - could not belive it..!! We went down again, to be told there were no other rooms available, we told them we did not pay for a 5* hotel which says all rooms have a sea view, to be given a room which is blocked by the hotels trees... After getting very upset, we asked for the main manager who did sort us out with a perfect room.. Don't deal with reception staff if you have a issue, ask for the manager..!! All this took 90 mins coming and going, not ideal when checking in should be exciting, we have never experienced this in previous 5* hotels... Hotel is ok, thought the shuttle bus to old town 10mins is complimentary, but it is not, you have to pay - only small charge, but again for a 5* you would think this would be a complimentary service.. Breakfast is average, bacon is poor - just reems of fat, no beans or grilled tomatoes, it's a good selection has fruit yougurts fish salads omlettes, my concerns are just personal prefences :-) hotel pool is nice, lovely view, swim up pool bar drinks only though, no pool side food available, unless you use hotel restaurant... Loungers round the pool go fast, there are other areas you can get a lounger, it's just limited around the pool..!! The hotel has a nice indoor pool and spa, and small gym... It's a nice hotel and would not want to put anyone off staying here as nothing is majorly wrong with it, it's just not 5* luxury... There are places to eat and have a mini shop around near by ( walking distance) so you don't always have to go into the old town - we walked to the more restaurant & cave bar which was very nice only 15 min walk around the bay.. Hope this 5review is helpfull - Croatia itself is gorgeous 10/10 :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckcw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. You have tackled many things in your review and just for the other readers we have to mention that all of our rooms are sea facing and with sea view. There are indeed in front of some rooms pine trees that are extension of the protected park forest above the hotel and they are a natural part of the Mediterranean landscape just like in other countries in this geographical location. There is no room in the hotel where the sea view is completely blocked by the trees.

Regarding your comment on "shuttle bus" we have to inform you that it is a public bus and not hotel service and we do not have it anywhere advertised as such.

Thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great stay. The hotel outside old town (15mins by bus), but its a great location. Our room had fantastic views over the sea, had more than enough room and a balcony. The pool area always had plenty of sunbeds (either poolside or down by the sea) so you could arrive at any time and still get one.

We ate hear one night in the restaurant down closer to the pool area, and the food was very good, as was the service.

Breakfast was good, buffet style. On first impressions looked like huge choice, but it was just the same stations repeated. However it catered for all tastes.

In terms of price, it was more reasonably priced than some of the other hotels in the same category.

Overall if going to Dubrovnik well worth looking into

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duddsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your review of Dubrovnik Palace on Tripadvisor. It is nice to see that you had a great stay.

We hope we will get the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,823 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing