We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
maidstone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel and can only recommend the service, the location and the staff. I had requested beforehand a room above floor 6 as I had heard that trees can sometimes block the view on the lower levels. I was very impressed on arrival to find that they had allocated us a room on the top floor, floor 9 and the view was really impressive over the sea and the islands. The sunset every evening was magnificent, whether I was watching it from my balcony (every room has one) or from sitting in the jacuzzi watching the sunset and the cruise ships sail bye. Reception were extremely helpful, their English impeccable and on request for tea making facilities in my room, it was done within the hour. As it was my husbands birthday when we were there we were extremely surprised to find Room Service had put a birthday cake and card in our room for him on our return from the Old City, such attention to detail and such a lovely surprise. Breakfast on the terrace was superb with an excellent choice and can only commend our Waiter Ivan for the excellent service provided and the local knowledge imparted on the area with a happy, positive smile which greeted us every morning. I think this hotel has the best of both worlds with being positioned in perfect location. It has its own private beach and it is at the end of a cul-de-sac which is a bonus. The number 4 bus stops and starts right outside the hotel which takes you straight into Old Town in about 10 minutes. This bus goes back and forth every 20 minutes so you never have to wait too long and costs 24 kuna (£3) return. I found the evening meals expensive in the hotel but if you want to walk down the hill into the small town the whole street is lined with cheap restaurants where you can get virtually anything you want. There isn't anything going on in the hotel, except a pianist playing in the evenings, so its best to go out anyway. On the whole it is a lovely hotel and I would certainly recommend it and hopefully will return again soon.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above Floor 6 and ask for tea making facilities. You can get fresh milk fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaidstoneGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    536
    168
    46
    23
See reviews for
267
1,006
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
314 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Incredible views of the Adriattic and islands - our room was avg size but comfortable, with balcony and nice view. Very quiet - none from outside, and only occ. door shutting from hallway. Bathroom nice with large tub/shower combo and plenty of water pressure. Very clean and seemed well-maintained. 4 very good elevators - never had to wait. Large buffet b-fast was good; same room (with great views) used for dinnerr buffet - we elected to use the top floor 'health bar and rest - nice chicken wok and sea bass rolled - excellent. Also a nice 'Taverna' rest on 1st floor near outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and beach. Prices avg for area ($25-40 per entrée).. Also great indoor pool and 2 large Jacuzzis on top floor with incredible views - pool is 18m long and one of best indoor pools I have seen. Staff friendly and seemed efficient. Only potential downside is distance from central Dubrovnik - 3-4 km - bus from hotel about $2.50-3 pp each way. Hotel busiest in summer and popular with business and tour groups, but is large enough to absorb all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Arriving at Dubrovnik Palace we found it just as we remembered, a well deserved 5* hotel. In the evening we had an excellent buffet dinner which was actually kept well warmed with some foods cooked to order. The buffet breakfast was perfect with eggs cooked to order and the rest of the food kept at correct temperature. This was the only hotel on the whole 10 day tour that could successfully boil an egg. We had the full works in the wellness center and felt absolutely rejuvenated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful wherever we went in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inger088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Please ignore other reviews regarding views from balcony's being bloomed by trees all rooms had brilliant views as far as we could see. The breakfast was lovely and the staff really helpful could not have had a better holiday. Take advantage of the number 4 bus to the old town and the ladies in reception in guest services will arrange anything for you. They where brilliant!!! Loved this hotel. Would love to come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Dubrovnik is wonderful and staying at this hotel just made the experience that much better! Having never visited Croatia we felt that a short late break would give us a good feel for the place and allow us to consider a longer stay for some time in the future.
The climate in late September is prone to be a bit inclement but we were fortunate enough to experience 5 days of balmy temperatures in the mid 70s which was perfect for both sightseeing and rest and relaxation in the sun. We arrived at the hotel at precisely 11am to a warm welcome and assistance with our cases and was advised at check in that our room would be available for 12.30.
The reception lobby is somewhat dated and decorated in muted colours of Blue and Brown but it is expansive and leads into a large and airy lounge and bar area which was very welcoming.
We made our way to the pool area at ground level and was rewarded with the most magnificent view of the Adriatic lapping the shores of the hotels rocky beach. The pool was warm, spotless and inviting and astonishingly relatively empty with plenty of beds available to relax on and umbrellas if required. There was towels aplenty and lots of areas where you could grab a little space just for yourself.
For additional leisure there is also a great Spa on the top floor with a huge indoor pool, gym and sauna with a terrace that offers spectacular views.
True to their word our room was ready for precisely 12.30 and to our pleasure on the floor we had requested, the top floor which provided astonishing sea views and plenty of evening sunshine.
The rooms are on the small side but they are clean and well equipped if looking a little dated, there are Towelling Robes and Slippers and a very small TV but the beds are comfortable and the linens of reasonable quality but you become aware very quickly that this is NOT a 5 Star Hotel compared to most European standards*.
But don't let that put you off because the staff are exemplary in every way, from the porters to the chambermaids to the waitresses they ALL seem genuinely pleased to go out of their way to make your stay perfect and so it was.
The Buffet Restaurant for breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of everything that you may expect for your morning meal and should you be too tired to venture out in the evening then they serve a great Dinner buffet as well.
If you want to explore the local restaurants it's just a15 minute walk to a little coastal village that offers a good choice of bars, restaurants and Ice Cream Parlours. Best of all the Bus to Dubrovnik Old Town stops outside the door and runs from early morning until early morning and you can even buy tickets from the hotel.
All I can say to the staff is thank you for a great stay and especially to Katjia on reception as she was charming, we hope to be back.


*We were advised that the hotel is due a refit from November through to April 2014.

Room Tip: High level rooms offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeffy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I arrived at this hotel for business and pleasure, and it was a good choice. located just a 10-minute drive (or less) from the old city, it is a great hotel. great amenities, beautiful beach, nice ocean-view rooms, friendly staff, good food. I stayed there four nights and if given the choice will definitely go back....

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean... the higher th floor, the better the view, but the floor numbering is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcmlix1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

My first impression about this hotel was nothing special. I do not find specially attractive big hotels that are sitting on the beach like big cruiser ships. Big concrete block, not so modern, old architecture design from the 80s. Hotel is selling itself as 5* hotel but please be hones this is far away from that. It does not meet the standard of even 4*. I personally would give it 3* and with that on they can built the reputation.
Corridors to reach the rooms are very long and not so clean. There are sloppy molds of paint, dirt on the carpet and walls so you can not miss this and it is not a face of a 5* hotel as it wants to be. Room that I was situated was nothing special. It is rather small and shows signs some small signs of wear. Furniture in the room is far away from any luxury and is very normal as for hotels like 3*. All the rooms have a sea view which is good but when you will look around you you will just observe that big ugly concrete building of the hotel. Ambient around the hotel is ok and it is peaceful as this is the last hotel on the road and you will have a peace while sleeping and also be able to listen to the waves what is good and relaxing. Internet in the room is free of charge and that is a + and signal is of good quality and not dropping.
Prices of the mini bar and food are expensive in this hotel so be prepared to have deep valet if you are spending here on your own.
I had a conference organized in this hotel and room and facilities are good for that purpose and all went smooth there.
Breakfast is good and it offers wide variety of food selection that stay more and less the same all days. But there is much so you will not be bored. Lunch and dinner are not of a great quality. I would say it is very mediocre. Salad is totally plain and not cut well so you are left with enormous salad leaves and really big pieces of tomato that you can not put in your mouth. Meet and other dishes are very average, decent to survive but nothing special that you will bring memories later.
About service I say that I was disappointed. I did not receive any reply on E-mail when I wanted to book a transfer from the airport to the hotel. I had some incident with credit card while staying in this hotel so please be careful when giving it to the receptionists and please check your account if you can. I also had a bad experience with breakfast service one day. I already brought to the table some pieces of bread and juice and then went for eggs. Waiting there and while back all was gone. She said "oh you were so long" not even decently apology. But that was not enough she also ignored serving tea and coffee later. I would say that this individual person was rude and not suitable to work in 5* hotel. Supervisor management should surely need to do more job.
To reach a hotel is rather convenient you just take a bus from airport to Pile (35KN) and when there go to the kiosk and buy ticket for local BUS (12KN) and then board BUS #4. Last station on that route is Dubrovnik Palace Hotel. So I was rather happy I did not get any response from the hotel in this respect :).

One bit of advice to all at this hotel, please learn from Thai how they do it in 3* hotels and come back with improvements.

Room Tip: Take higher rooms so you will have better view over the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Imperial Dubrovnik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov put 20, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkelling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing