We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here for a week earlier this month and we had a fantastic time.

The Area

The hotel was around half an hour from the airport and 15 minutes (bu bus - which is right outside the hotel) from the Old City of Dubrovnik. There is a little town called Lapad, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and has some very good restaurants (Levanat/Casa). There is also a lady called Lydia who owns a tourist agency called Alfa Tourist which is a five minute walk from the hotel and she arranged for us to have a private boat trip around the islands (much better than 150 people on a ship). She is well worth a visit to book a tour.

The Hotel

The hotel is very clean, well maintained and modern. It is built on a cliff and has amazing views of the sea and the surrounding islands. There are 2 pools available for everyone, one a small children's one and another much larger one with a swim up bar. There is also a hot tub which turns on around 12. The beds around the pool aren't the most comfortable but they were adequate and although the hotel asks people not to reserve sun beds people do. There are towels laid out every morning and it is possible to take as many as you want.

Food and Drink

There are 3 restaurants - a buffet restaurant, an a la carte restaurant and a beach taverna. The standard of food is good for breakfast and dinner is a standard buffet and the a la carte was very good (although a little expensive). There are 3 bars, one at the pool, one in reception and one on a terrace at the top. The drinks were reasonably priced (for a 5 star hotel). There was one barman at the pool bar who remembered all of our drinks which I thought was fantastic.

Rooms

We were a group of 6 and had 4 rooms, all of which were clean and comfortable. Housekeeping were very quick and efficient. We were on the 4th floor and had good views of the sea (I wouldn't want to be any lower as I think trees block the view). The rooms were nice but I think in a few years they will need updating but that's the only negative.

Staff

The staff are a fantastic asset to the hotel. They were all kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. On our last day we had a late flight out but we couldn't keep our rooms so they arranged for us the have an amenity room (lounge and separate bathroom) before we left. This was ideal as we could spend the day by the pool then come back up when were ready to shower and change.

Activities

The hotel can arrange activities for you such as jet skiing but obviously they charge commission on top instead of booking it direct but we did go jet-skiing and paragliding which was great fun.

Overall

I would definitely stay here again. We had a relaxing holiday and really enjoyed our time in Dubrovnik!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizWard64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    597
    175
    48
    23
See reviews for
307
1,132
68
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel disappointing, rooms were shabby, dated and dirty. Housekeeping was terrible just changed sheets and towels, left dirty cups in room did not wipe down sides etc. Air conditioning was set at 24.5!! The pool was too small for size of hotel, sunbeds were dated and uncomfortable. If you need to freshen up before you go home forget it they will not give you a curtesy room or let you use the spa.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the Dubrovnik Palace hotel and whilst we enjoyed our holiday it was not thanks to the hotel.

The communal areas of the hotel are all very well kept and impressive. The pool is of a good size and the lobby and sunset bar are all very nice. The rooms however leave a lot to be desired. The classic rooms are nothing short of depressing with their brown decor and are tiny. The bathrooms are relics from the 1970s and absolutely not of the standard fight you wold expect from a five star hotel. In fact I think, and I told the front desk manager they were more of a standard of a three star hotel, I've seen better Travelodge rooms.

The service also was not good. eeverything that we asked for in some way went wrong row was not straightforward - whether this was waiting an age for an ironing board, miscountng what had been taken from the mini bar, confusing treatments in the spa, the showeroom the room not working or not booking an airport transfer despite confirming they had. It was all very frustrating.

The breakfast was varied though in a soulless room and the restaurant for lunch by the pool was far too small and we had to wait for a table - as you would expect when there are 10 tables yet hundreds of people staying at the hotel. The other restaurant near the pool was far too expensive to eat lunch at daily with most main courses being far too heavy and costing upwards of £15.

Ultimately we had a great holiday because Dubrovnik is such a wonderful place but I would not return to the Dubrovnik Palace,

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed here last week and these are my findings. Upon arrival we made a request to housekeeping which was not acted upon. Request made face to face with evening maid was then completed. No tea and coffee facilities in the room - very surprised by this. No complimentary water. No complimentary drink upon arrival, none offered whilst waiting for room to be made available either.

Access to the sea (there is no actual beach at the hotel) not suitable for if you have a leg injury - ladders not the easiest to use for sure, really think this needs to be addressed sooner rather than later as this is an accident waiting to happen.

Air con, once you get to grips with it is fine. Food - good breakfasts, excellent omlettes made by the nicest lady. Evening meal got a bit "samey" after 3rd night. However, the "Taverna" food was excellent as was the service there. Drinks prices a little on the high side. Staff on the whole, very friendly and helpful. Would probably go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback. It is nice to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you would come again to our hotel.

Check-in time at the hotel is 14:00 and under the current occupancy on a daily basis of 100% it is not always possible to provide early check-in for those who come already during the morning since the check-out time is 12:00. Regarding the sea access there are three diffrent positions and two of them are the stone steps going into the sea (on the main area and near the diving centre).

Thank you once again for choosing Dubrovnik Palace and we are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel DUbrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

First things first, all in all we had a wonderful 2 weeks in Dubrovnik staying at the Palace Hotel. I wanted to write a review that was accurate for fellow travellers looking to stay at the hotel If you are used to 5 star hotels, this is not one, however being a frequent traveller, I would suggest this is a solid 4 star, so if you get a good deal it is worth staying, just bear in mind you will not be at a 5 star. The rooms are quite small, slightly dated with basic amenities, the TV for instance, is not a flat screen on the wall, rathermore a fuzzy little montor (not that you would watch much TV, but the point is, 5 star rating means better equipment should be expected). The bathroom really lets the rooms down. Tiny, wierd shower (halfway across the bath, attached to taps so impossible not to flood the room, not glorious walk in). There is no double sink (s star standard) and the hairdryer is attached to the wall?!) Basically just lacks what a regular 5 star bathroom would have.

Enough of the rooms, the rest of the hotel, Restaurants? Very good, well priced and good food. Ticks the box. The pool area..good are, swim up pool bar etc, just that they need to adopt the idea of poolside service & assistance (like other 5 stars!). Without it, you have the usual game of "who can get their towel down at 2am to secure a spot" - needs to be more well managed to make it more relaxing - cabanas etc.

The views are 5 star - spectacular - there is also a PADI dive centre on site which is handy.

So in summation, if you get a deal - book it, you will like the hotel - just think of it as a 4 star. If you are a regular Four Seasons visitor etc, then you will probobly be dissapointed. To re-iterate though, we did enjoy our stay, just an honest review on value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your honest review. We are glad to see that you had wonderful 2 weeks at Dubrovnik Palace. There are diffrent hotels and levels in the world and we can hardly compete with the brand like Four seasons, but also our rates are not on the level of Four seasons.

Thank you for your compliments on food and for staying at Dubrovnik Palace. We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.


KInd regards,

Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were staying here for our honeymoon.
The setting is amazing and when you walk into the reception the views really are breathtaking.
For the most part, the staff are friendly and welcoming.
The facilities are great and the airconditioning most welcome!
The rooms were spotless and the towels soft and fresh everyday.
Interet access in the info room was great too.
There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel so great for getting into the Old Town.
However, a number of minor incidences occured that would change my mind in recommending the Palace.

I contacted the hotel in advance of our arrival requesting a double bed and not 2 single beds pushed together (as I had previosuly read here).
I was assured we would get a double bed.
When we arrived we found 2 single beds pushed together.
My husband rang down and they sent someone immediately to change the bed from 2 singles beds to a double by putting an extra mattress protector over the single beds!!

That day we went for a swim (pools and facilities are so relaxing-when of course you can get a lounger because, although there is a sign up, guests are not actively discouraged from leaving their towels on loungers from first thing in the morning and leaving them there all day while they come and go for breakfast, lunch etc).
We ordered a drink at the pool bar however, when my drink came out the mint and limes were rotten. It looked vile.
I complained to the (young-is this an excuse?) waitress and she shrugged her shoulders and said "Yeah, so?" I told her I couldn't drink it because it was gone off and she walked away!
The situation was rectified by other bar staff.

That night we ordered a drink in the Sunset Lounge.
I went to hand the bill back to the waiter after my husband had just signed it and I accidentally knocked over my drink. I was mortified. There was glass everywhere. The waiter was so unfriendly, barely asked if I was ok and failed to replace my drink, which I thought would have been standard procedure.

The following day we went to the indoor pool. It was fabulous. So relaxing. My husband went back to our room to retrieve a charger the hotel told us they would supply. I noticed he was gone for quite a while, got worried and decided to follow him. It turns out he got stuck in a lift. He was obviously put out by this and decided it was time to speak to a manager.

We were paying a lot for this hotel and we really found the service to be below average. My husband told the manager about the rude bar personnel, the lack of double bed etc as a means of apology we were upgraded to a suite-with a double bed so clearly they are available.

For our last night in Dubrovnik we decided to take the cable car and eat at night time at The Panorama restaurant. The lady at Guest Relations assured us she would book us a table for 8. We took the cable car up, went into the War Museum and when it was almost 8 headed into the restaurant looking forward to having our last romantic meal in Dubrovnik looking over the city at night. When we arrived there was no booking under our name. The Palace had not contacted the restaurant at all.This was very disappointing.

Now, while these things appear minor, we were paying a lot of money for this hotel.
The hotel is rated as a 5 star but with this sevice, it really couldn't be classified as 5 star.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h_dubrovnik_palace, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that hotel did not meet your expectations in some of the areas. There are few things mentioned in your review regarding some service issues that have been already discussed and we will make sure that they don't happen again. Howevever, we just need to reffer to the last one regarding the restaurant reservation. Hotel did make a reservation for the restaurant and we will be more than happy to send you the phone call list from the GR desk.

Once again we apologize for not meeting your expectations in full and hope that we will get the chance to welcome you again.


Kind reagrds,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Palace for two weeks from 24th June.
The hotel is 5 star due to it's facilities but as many reviews allude to it is more 3-4 star if you look a little deeper.
We had a twin room which was had the feel of a conference hotel room, it had very little character and wasn't very big. The A/C wasn't particularly cold either and we did have the hotel look at it a number of times.
The room was always kept clean, fresh towels and a lovely chocolate on our pillows every evening.
Breakfast was very pleasant, the lady that did the omelettes every morning was really lovely. Whilst we were there the Croatian Summit was on this meant we couldn't have breakfast outside those days which was a shame but on the plus side food replenishment was better on those days.
We also ate at the pool bar for lunch a few times , service was hit miss but the food was good, portions were big.
One evening we ate at the A la carte restaurant, lovely sunset view. The food was brilliant as was the service, however it was pricey and we had better meals in the old town - Amfora Restaurant being one of them.
The pool area was good, you have to get up early to get a sun bed by the pool. Pool bar was also good, although all drinks are 5 star expensive.
The hotel is a 15 minute bus ride to the Old Town. The bus starts outside the hot and ends in the old town so very easy to get there. Also you could walk down to Lapad if you wanted to eat or drink cheaply close by, a 10-15min walk down hill.
All in all this has all the facilities but is lacking in character. If I stayed in Dubrovnik again, which I will, I would
stay elsewhere, it wasn't terrible but there are other in my opinion better options.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Dubrovnik Palace, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review. We are sorry to see that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. Our hotel has 308 rooms and is also a conference hotel. During your stay we had a Summit in the hotel which was a meeting on the level of prime ministers. As a matter of fact terrace was closed for breakfast only on the morning of 7th. We can also assure you that the breakfast offer is the same every day and we did not extend it specially for the politicians.

Thank you for staying at Dubrovnik Palace and hope that we will still get the chance to welcome you again.


Kind regards,


Damir Lukic
Hotel Director
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.7 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.5 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#6 of 68 in Dubrovnik
694 reviews
0.8 mi away
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
Valamar Club Dubrovnik
#26 of 68 in Dubrovnik
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dubrovnik Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dubrovnik Palace

Property: Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Address: Masarykov Put 20, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dubrovnik Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the beautiful peninsula of Lapad, the hotel's dramatic cliffside location, below the aromatic, pine-covered Petka woods, affords spectacular views in every direction.Fully renovated in 2014, each of the 308 contemporary rooms and suites all have private balconies and beautiful sea views. Great food and excellent service prevail. During your stay, you will be tempted to try out everything that is on offer: four swimming pools, one of which is indoors, a private beach, tennis courts, fabulous snorkeling and a PADI diving centre, as well as a leafy jogging path and walking routes through the woods behind the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dubrovnik Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing