We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and tranquil place to spend a day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island of Lokrum

Island of Lokrum
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.81*
and up
Kayaking Dubrovnik to Lokrum Island
Ranked #3 of 156 things to do in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil place to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lokrum is a beautiful little island which is only a ten minute boat ride from Dubrovnik's old town harbour, making it the perfect getaway for a day. The boat fare is 60 kn which includes entry onto the island.
Once on the island you are free to roam and there are maps situated all over the island so finding your way around is relatively easy.
We began with the botanical garden which has many stunning and unusual plants and trees. We then made our way up to the ruined fortress for a bit of exploring, not to mention the stunning views of Dubrovnik and surrounding areas. It is quite a climb up a very steep hill so it is necessary to have some level of fitness. On the way back down we had a look around the ruins of the monastery and marvelled at the huge number of peacocks roaming around. We brought a packed lunch and there are plenty of places to stop and eat whilst enjoying the surroundings. After lunch we spent time at the salt water lake, swimming and sunbathing. This was a rewarding experience after the strenuous walk to and from the old fort. The coastline is mainly rocky but does offer plenty of space for people wanting to sunbathe.
There is a cafe/bar serving light snacks and meals as well as cocktails. It is well secluded and doesn't spoil the tranquillity of the island.
The boats transporting tourists to and from Lokrum seem to depart approximately every half an hour until about 7pm (kicking out time) so there is never much of a wait.
Overall it is a lovely and relaxing day out away from the crowds of Dubrovnik and a place we would certainly look forward to visiting again on future trips to the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank The_HSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,586
    1,228
    345
    53
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Definitely worth a visit. Such a beautiful island. The map we bought in the tourist centre definitely helped us find our way around. Lovely walks, not too strenuous either. The only reason this review doesn't have 5 stars was because there was construction on one side of the island during our visit which we weren't told properly about and ended up doing a detour to find our way back to the harbour! But a lovely detour nonetheless.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Els264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcvill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a beautiful getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is an easy, inexpensive boat ride from the old town, but a good escape from the crowds. This is a great place to spend an afternoon and a good way to spend time swimming or on the beach without the crowds of the Dubrovnik beaches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marcvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A place to chill just 15 mins boat trip from Dubrovnik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

It'd be so easy to miss going to Lokrum, but it's just a short boat trip from Dubrovnik. There are plenty of bathing spots off the rocks (take water shoes). There's a lovely bar with a very welcoming host who speaks many languages well. Venture into the small botanic garden or take the climb up to the fort for some very good views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful, relaxing, picnic with the peacocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were advised by a local to take our lunch with us and picnic on the island. What a great tip! We enjoyed it so much. The boat is 60 kuna (return trip) and includes entrance to the island/reservation. We took the boat from the port in front of the Old Town and it took some 15 minutes to get to the island.
Once on the island, although you come with a full boat of people, soon enough you are left by yourself, as the crowds spread into the forest. So don't worry getting into a full boat, you'll have enough space to yourself on Lokrum.
The island is an open peacock reservation, they are freely walking everywhere and not caring too much for the tourists. Except -- if you have some food :) We had to share our picnic with two daring peahens which made sure to get their share :)
On the island there are plenty of spots to relax. Our favorite was close to the "dead sea" lake, which has free lounge chairs just good to grab and enjoy the sea view.
There are also 2 bars on the island and a cafe with more than reasonable prices. We had only a drink, but from neighboring tables the food looked pretty good.
Pack for a relaxing day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island of Lokrum also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Island of Lokrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing